Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Leagues club AGM thread.

fish eel

:roll: yes fish, but in relation to the AGM:roll: tell us what happened

Oh, sorry, be more specific. ;-)

TBH, it was a bit of a non event.

It was moved to the auditorium and there were a few hundred in there.

Ron Hilditch chaired it, Ovo sat in the front row due to 'health' reasons.

On stage with Hilditch were an army of lawyers, fitzy and a couple of nobodies.

Annual Report was adopted and then a few motions got passed early which looked to be standard, basically the gravy train motions about travel, entertainment etc for directors, club jackets, hampers, money to the various clubs under the leagues club and also enabling the directos to make donations. I voted against a couple (the ones about travel and entertainment) but all were passed easily.

The final motion got a bit of debate - it was basically a blank cheque but again was passed. The first 4 motions all had caps on it - this one didn't and was aimed at picking up extra costs. A few speakers spoke for and against it and it started to get a bit heated. I urged a couple of incoming directors to get up and speak against it and knock it over and win plenty of brownie points but they didn't. There was also a life membership which was approved.

Moved into general business.

Robert Sassen got up and spoke to a number of motions that he said he put to Fitzy 21 days out but were not circulated. One of these was to approve life membership for any player who plays in a GF winning side, the other was to over turn the special qualification. There was a third but I forget it now.

Sassen said that basically because the motion wasnt circulated, he wasnt asking for a formal vote, rather that the incoming directors investigate and get back to the memberhip should they believe we need to have a change. He did ask for a show of hands as to who would support those motions and the overwhelming majority raised their hand.

We then had a few people get up and quiz them over vouchergate. Fitzy and Hilditch denied all knowledge to a few jeers from the floor. A couple of other speakers spoke on not much and it was all over red rover in about an hour.

Interesting, not all the old board were there. Hilditch the only one on the stage. The others sitting on the floor. Gary Morris and Chris Jurd skipped it all together I believe - I didnt see them there.

actually..fish, he's pulling your leg he had NFI on what you were talking about..lol

I think the interesting bit may come after the AGM when the new board have their first board meeting...

fish eel

actually..fish, he's pulling your leg he had NFI on what you were talking about..lol

I think the interesting bit may come after the AGM when the new board have their first board meeting...

he might be wRong, but he is our wRong

Cheers Fishy.

Sounds like it's back to the boring old business of Directing the LC for the new combination of Directors from now on.

To be honest I'm not expecting much of interest to be forthcoming out of the Board scene for quite a while now, and we can finally concentrate on the footy... Denis's rumoured pending departure/pay out the exception of course.

I believe a 10 minute board meeting is still in progress with Fitzy in the room while some media contingient are still waiting down stairs for the meeting to end...I was told it could be a long night.

you can take that however way you want to..

woddy

sorry fish I thought you were taking the piss on my post (3P majority ........all this sh*te talk about blaming and the new board isn't even on board yet FFS Parra fans bitch and whinge about everything until the premiership is ours get on board people)

I think Woddy thinks you were talking about his earlier comment Fish, not realising you were talking about the AGM?

woddy

no worries woodie, you're pretty close to being right anyway lol
Was getting to me me today how everyone whinged about DF, Parra in general and now we have a real change some of those same people can't support the 3P group or Parra in going forward.......frustration being an EELS supporter since the 86GF we've had nothing we've needed change , now we have it some supporters are happy with the same old .....the mind boggles but DF was/is the best since sliced bread f**k off reinvent the wheel u tossers

Rogue.9

Annual Report was adopted and then a few motions got passed early which looked to be standard, basically the gravy train motions about travel, entertainment etc for directors, club jackets, hampers, money to the various clubs under the leagues club and also enabling the directos to make donations. I voted against a couple (the ones about travel and entertainment) but all were passed easily.

The final motion got a bit of debate - it was basically a blank cheque but again was passed. The first 4 motions all had caps on it - this one didn't and was aimed at picking up extra costs. A few speakers spoke for and against it and it started to get a bit heated. I urged a couple of incoming directors to get up and speak against it and knock it over and win plenty of brownie points but they didn't. There was also a life membership which was approved.

Robert Sassen got up and spoke to a number of motions that he said he put to Fitzy 21 days out but were not circulated. One of these was to approve life membership for any player who plays in a GF winning side, the other was to over turn the special qualification. There was a third but I forget it now.

Sassen said that basically because the motion wasnt circulated, he wasnt asking for a formal vote, rather that the incoming directors investigate and get back to the memberhip should they believe we need to have a change. He did ask for a show of hands as to who would support those motions and the overwhelming majority raised their hand.

We then had a few people get up and quiz them over vouchergate. Fitzy and Hilditch denied all knowledge to a few jeers from the floor. A couple of other speakers spoke on not much and it was all over red rover in about an hour.

Interesting, not all the old board were there. Hilditch the only one on the stage. The others sitting on the floor. Gary Morris and Chris Jurd skipped it all together I believe - I didnt see them there.
He wants an explanation/investigation into why terry ledbetter was denied membership

SimonTemplar

Pretty accurate summary of the night, basically a non-event, but I'd question your assertion that "the overwhelming majority raised their hand" in relation to Sassen's straw poll. From where I was sitting, I reckon barely 50% raised their hands and I'd reckon most of those were not eligible to vote a real poll.

I really don't think his ideas would have enough support to get over the line at a legit vote. As I understand it, constitutional changes need 75%.
`
`
`

fish eel

Pretty accurate summary of the night, basically a non-event, but I'd question your assertion that "the overwhelming majority raised their hand" in relation to Sassen's straw poll. From where I was sitting, I reckon barely 50% raised their hands and I'd reckon most of those were not eligible to vote a real poll.

I really don't think his ideas would have enough support to get over the line at a legit vote. As I understand it, constitutional changes need 75%.
`
`
`

I was standing at the back of the room so had a pretty good view in terms of how many people raised their hands.