Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lets all laugh at Team Australia!

Frank_Grimes

One more gold medal (BMX, Ginger Ninja, Mens 470 sailing or the Opals perhaps?) and "Team Australia" will leapfrog Kazakhstan and Hungary to take 9th position on the table. 2 more and a silver or 3 thrown in and we could jump to 7th ahead of Germany.

All four of those medal chances come up gold and we're sitting in 6th.

Evenflow

Australia

Australia

Australia F Yeh

Comin round to save the mutha effing day yeah

People smugglers your game is through, coz now you have to answer to Australia, F Yeh

Rugby - F Yeh!
Cricket - F Yeh!
Queensland - F Yeh!
New South Wales - F Yeh!
Gold Coast - F Yeh!
Centrelink - F Yeh!

F YEH!

Green & Gold - F Yeh
Southern Cross - F Yeh!
Big Brother - F Yeh!
Bingle - F Yeh!
Unions - F Yeh!
Gun Control- F Yeh!
Hungry Jacks - F Yeh!
FIFO - F Yeh!
NBN - (F yeh? F yeh)

Medicare - F Yeh
Boat People - F Yeh
Home and away - F Yeh
Neighbours - F Yeh
The Project - F Yeh
AFL - F Yeh
Labor - F YEH
Liberal (f yeh... f yeh...)
Greens (... )
Victoria

I'm not sure what's more cringe worthy, that post of the Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi! chant.

firechild

Yes.

We invented them sports to. ;-)

In cricket we play as England and Wales. Rugby league was GB for a long time and Union play as separate nations due to the class distinctions between English RU and Welsh/Scotland RU (they were seen as very seperate back in the day).

Plus, no one wants to merge the teams in them sports, where as in football technically the English, Welsh and Scotish FAs should merge, but are allowed to remain separate because of our standing as creators of the modern game. Its in the Fifa Statutes that were drawn up when FIFA was created.

So how do you explain why you compete in hockey as England and Scotland?

Why do England, Scotland and Wales compete separately in the Commonwealth games.

Get your hand off it and just admit that on the big stage you just want to fool the world into thinking England is actually relelvent in world sport. Good to see the Scot, Chris Hoy win another gold but a shame that the English get to celebrate it.

firechild

One more gold medal (BMX, Ginger Ninja, Mens 470 sailing or the Opals perhaps?) and "Team Australia" will leapfrog Kazakhstan and Hungary to take 9th position on the table. 2 more and a silver or 3 thrown in and we could jump to 7th ahead of Germany.

All four of those medal chances come up gold and we're sitting in 6th.

Kookaburras are into the semis. They play Germany (rank 1 v 2) tonight for a spot in the gold medal match against the winner of Netherlands v GB (rank 3 v ? [GB don't have a world ranking because they are ranked as England and Scotland]). Kookaburras haven't lost a major tounament since the last olympics - they've won a world cup, 4 champions trophies and an Oceania title in that time. They also haven't lost to Germany or the Netherlands in that time. GB will finish 4th.

t-ba

Congratulations Britain on your wonderful tally at this Olympics.

It's also excellent that the government has engineered a recession at the same time so all of you can enjoy your success instead of working.

Danish

Nah, thats got naff all to do with it.

As the inventors of football we were allowed to keep England, Wales etc. as seperate football teams. Which is the reason why until this olympics GB never played in the football as they are scared FIFA will stop that happening and make us play in World cups as GB.

GB is one country. Which may devolve into two if the Scots gain independance.

Missed this post earlier...

Just for the record, are you claiming that Great Britain is forced to compete as Great Britain (and not as England, Scotland, Wales etc) because that is the official nation?

WireMan

Missed this post earlier...

Just for the record, are you claiming that Great Britain is forced to compete as Great Britain (and not as England, Scotland, Wales etc) because that is the official nation?

eh?

I'm claiming that England, Scotland etc. play as seperate nations in football as an acknowledgement of our role in creating the sport. Its in the FIFA statutes.

Now the olympics we compete as GB. Therefore England, Scotland etc. cannot field seperate teams. The fear from the Celtic nations was always if they compete as GB in the football comp at the olympics then FIFA would change there rule and make the FAs merge.

Blatter came out and said this would not happen but Scotland still refused as they claimed it was Sepp the man, not Sepp the president saying these things and his successor could easily disregard that.

If you notice, we compete as GB in the Olympics. That is the official country. England, Scotland and N.Ireland are all kingdoms in this country (the United Kingdom no less), and Wales is a principality. The nations became one when King James (I of England, VI of scotland) came to the throne after Queen Elizabeth died without an heir.

History is ace. Shame you don't have any.

There are some devastated, angry Aussies in this thread!!!

You cry, we win. The end.

Its awesome stuff.

docbrown

Without being to picky. But the USA should be red.

True but technically only the 13 colonies as you guys got your arses kicked there well before the expansion. Congratulations on losing yet another war. :p

Then of course we thought, f*ck the rest of the world you can have it back.

More like a failure to adequately allocate resources, severe over-extension, antipathy inducing social systems and inflexible bureaucratic structures.

Also you never got an inch of the European continent. Sure you might've dusted up the French once or twice, but hey, who hasn't?

So yeah, you might have conquered some technologically inferior tribesmen who threw sticks and stones at you but hey if you English are so insecure you need to pick on defenseless natives just to make yourselves feel big... :lol:

Danish

eh?

I'm claiming that England, Scotland etc. play as seperate nations in football as an acknowledgement of our role in creating the sport. Its in the FIFA statutes.

Now the olympics we compete as GB. Therefore England, Scotland etc. cannot field seperate teams. The fear from the Celtic nations was always if they compete as GB in the football comp at the olympics then FIFA would change there rule and make the FAs merge.

Blatter came out and said this would not happen but Scotland still refused as they claimed it was Sepp the man, not Sepp the president saying these things and his successor could easily disregard that.

If you notice, we compete as GB in the Olympics. That is the official country. England, Scotland and N.Ireland are all kingdoms in this country (the United Kingdom no less), and Wales is a principality. The nations became one when King James (I of England, VI of scotland) came to the throne after Queen Elizabeth died without an heir.

History is ace. Shame you don't have any.

Its awesome stuff.

I'll say again, are you stating that GB had to compete as GB in the Olympics because that is the official country?

Frank_Grimes

Now in 10th place thanks to the upset from the K4 1000 boys. Britney Broben currently in 1st place in the 10m platform. OP looking more foolish by the day.

Shorty

Some of these divers look like they're going to headbutt the platform!
Hopefully Mitchum does well too.

LOL@America changing from amount of gold to amount of medals so it looks like they're 'winning'.

supercharger

Some of these divers look like they're going to headbutt the platform!
Hopefully Mitchum does well too.

LOL@America changing from amount of gold to amount of medals so it looks like they're 'winning'.

The London Olympic medals are displayed at the Olympic Park, Wednesday, July 25, 2012, in London. Opening ceremonies for the 2012 London Olympics will be held Friday, July 27.

Photograph by: (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)

LONDON ? My favourite take on the Olympics so far comesfrom New Zealand. With the Games now past the halfway point, there has been a lot of crowing from the Kiwis because with three gold medals they are 14th in the official medal table, nine places ahead of Australia, their arch rivals from across the Tasman Sea.

Armchair coaches in Oz are already agonizing over why their country has just one gold medal at the XXX Olympiad. Folks Down Under may have got a distorted sense of their own standing in the Olympic world during the Sydney Games in 2000, when their country won 58 medals, including 16 gold; in Beijing four years ago, they added 46 medals, 14 of them gold.

New Zealand currently sits two spots below where Canadian officials reckoned Canada should finish at these Games: 12th.

The catch is that Canadians and Americans have long used different arithmetic than the other 202 countries to figure out where they rate at the Olympics. While others rank countries by gold medals won, in North
America every medal counts, giving bronze and silver medals the same value as gold.

According to official tabulations, Canada ? with eight times New Zealand?s population ? currently lags nine places behind its Antipodean cousins in 23rd, rather than three spots ahead of the Kiwis in 11th, as Canadian sports officials would have their compatriots believe.

Read more: http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/...global+curse/7044843/story.html#ixzz232k1iExl

Shorty

Which....is sort of stupid isn't it? After all, Gold is different to the other two medals...to have it count the same as the others is virtually pointless?
Have they always done this?

Tommy Smith

I reckon a true reflection is a points system.

3pts for Gold
2pts for Silver
1pt for Bronze

Maybe abit too technical for some, but a fair reflection which merges the other two methods of determining the medal tally.