Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Let's chase Johnathan Thurston for AFL: Paul Kelly

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/nrl/story/0,26746,26612664-5003409,00.html

Let's chase Johnathan Thurston for AFL: Paul Kelly

By Todd Balym in Coffs Harbour | January 20, 2010 11:00pm

FORGET Karmichael Hunt or Jarryd Hayne - off-contract Test superstar Johnathan Thurston is the NRL player that former Sydney Swans great Paul Kelly believes could make it in the AFL.

As Thurston continues to contemplate his sporting future, Kelly has added the Queensland and Kangaroos halfback's name to the mix of candidates that Greater Western Sydney could consider if they want to strike another blow to the NRL.

"Thurston is one that would be able do it I reckon," Kelly told The Daily Telegraph.

"Those sorts of blokes, the smaller Billy Slater types. Greg Inglis could do it. But could he catch and kick the footy?" Kelly should be able to spot a potential league to AFL convert as he is the little-known poster child of switching codes.

He made the transition from rugby league fullback to AFL midfielder as a 16-year-old and went on to become a legend of the game and Brownlow Medallist.

Returning to the AFL as a development manager for GWS in the Wagga region, Kelly said he would also scout league's best young talent to find the next Inglis, Slater, Thurston or Hayne before they're discovered by league.

He wants potential rugby league stars to at least try Aussie Rules while they're still young enough to make the transition.

"I was playing league and I went and played rules for a while, found I was better at it and obviously enjoyed it a bit more," said Kelly.

"There are kids in western Sydney that will be the same as me, different body types and might be better suited and have never tried it.

"If we convince on or two to play - well, you never know."

Getting the players early enough is crucial, which is why Kelly is a bit sceptical about converting established league stars into AFL players. Even Karmichael Hunt, who will be only 24 when he makes his AFL debut for the Gold Coast in 2011, could be too conditioned to league to truly adapt to the faster game.

"They're totally different games and different body types," he said.

"You sort of need to swap over and train for that particular sport before it's too late.

"You need running capability in AFL. I reckon that is going to be his [Hunt's] biggest hurdle is his stamina and obviously the skills.

"He looks to be okay.

"He is definitely tough, we have seen that." Kelly said he agonised over the offer to join GWS because of his long history with cross-town rivals the Swans.

Kelly said his decision was made purely to help kids in his region become AFL players having felt they'd been unfairly overlooked in recent years.

"[The Swans] was a consideration - no doubt about it - but it just keeps going back to the bigger picture," he said.

"I have never been approached by the Swans to do any work down there so this is just an opportunity now that was there for me and I pretty much want to take it.

I don't think there is any hard feelings for me.

"I just want to give kids the opportunity I had, to have a chance."

these clowns are nuts

he's probably never even played the game yet this idiot would pay a fortune for him :crazy:

these clowns are nuts

he's probably never even played the game yet this idiot would pay a fortune for him :crazy:

"You need running capability in AFL. I reckon that is going to be his [Hunt's] biggest hurdle is his stamina and obviously the skills."

ahahahahaha....fmd. His biggest hurdle will be the skills. What a revelation! Not to mention the suggestion that Hunt wouldn't be fit enough to jog around not getting tackled for a while getting interchanged 9 or 10 times a game

I loathe Thurston so i couldn't give a f**k what happens to him, but those comments made by Kelly just reeks of pure desperation.

Thurston is so unsuited to AFL that it's not funny. Yes he can pass, kick (although i've never seen him utilise a bomb) and seek out a line break with the odd dummy, but he is not athletic enough to be snatching catches out of thin air. He is not the athletic type; his main asset is that he possesses an intelligent rugby league brain.

and LOL if Hunt makes a successful transition to AFL having played no more than 10 games in High School..

but he is not athletic enough to be snatching catches out of thin air.

like this?

5yu7oz.jpg

Gregbyday

Why do they persist with the poaching line. I would despise anyone who left league for AFL. Would not get me to follow the game at all. The kids out west don't resonate with Thuston, he plays for the Cowboys FFS not a western Sydney side.

Just another nothing story trying to get AFL mentioned in the press under the NRL banner. Starting to wear a bit thin to be honest.

If you have a good product that gets exposure it will sell itself (like the NRL last year with growth in all areas of the game). ALF gets plenty of exposure but we just don't see it as an entertaining product in NSW/QLD.

So the game itself is not getting us hooked. So they do silly stunts like this in the press of NSW/Qld to get exposure. Go away AFL your not wanted here. NSW/QLD people are a different bread to what you are used to dealing with and don't appreciate the petty games you play. We can see through your B*llsh!t and don't appreciate being treated like fools (Victorians). Anyway good luck with your 2 days of exposure you will get from this story. You just come across as predatory scum to me.

Charlie124

LOL, next they'll be after Roger Federer because he is the best tennis player in the world so therefor he would be the best AFL player in the world.

Hindyscrack

Why do they persist with the poaching line? It gets headlines for a game that would otherwise struggle for column inches in the Sydney media in the off season.

Thurston is flavour of the month due to his managers current crusade to wring every cent out his clients next contract as possible.

Personally I wouldnt care if Thurston left, in my eyes he's probably the weakest 7 (long term) we've had in a Kangaroos Jersey in my life. I also dont like the guys off field character (or on field for the same matter).

But he wont be going anywhere at the moment, because I doubt all the 'offers' that his manager is spruiking are true.

TheRam

These guys have to win the award for the biggest clowns in sporting history. I don't think I've ever seen such an embarrassing and desperate, over the top attempt to grab a headline, from any other sporting code in my life.

At least when Yawnion has a lash, the codes have some similarities, but Aussie Fools, they are kidding...right?

I tell you what, why don't they poach the masturbating bear from the now defunct "Late Show With Conan O'Brien". He's got CHAAAMPION ball playing skills and a special trick shot surprise that's just got to be seen to be believed. One thing for certain though, is that I'm now totally convinced and absolutely certain that he will have no problems at all, adjusting to fit in with these epic IDIOTIC WANKERS!!! ;-) :crazy:

Chachi

This is about as exciting as Willie Mason telling us he's going to America to play NFL...except the bit about the player himself actually saying anything.

Just another nothing story trying to get AFL mentioned in the press under the NRL banner. Starting to wear a bit thin to be honest.

Exactly.

Union did it (still does it) and now the sad, sad and desperate AFL is doing it.

Many in the media hold this Paul Kelly clown as some sort of super hero, but most people wouldn't have a clue who the idiot is.

Returning to the AFL as a development manager for GWS in the Wagga region, Kelly said he would also scout league's best young talent to find the next Inglis, Slater, Thurston or Hayne before they're discovered by league........
And where do League discover these players? Under a bloody rock?

Kelly said his decision was made purely to help kids in his region become AFL players having felt they'd been unfairly overlooked in recent years.
Wagga kids overlooked? Since when?

Crap article from Coffs Harbour ffs.

Bulldog Force

:lol: I knew El D would pounce on this. Thurston will go to Rugby before AFL. That's the first thing. Secondly, how on earth will a skinny little midget make it to a sport that requires him to be 6'5" and 100kg?

Sir Biffo

Keith Shandy is probably over recruiting in Samoa, Fiji, PNG etc at the moment, when are they going to find time to get a local junior (if they exist) to play?