Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Likely team V Raiders?

SirShire

ShireShark said:
I heard off a mate yesterday who played with Hilder that Hilder is an outstanding goalkicker and he even won some goalkicking competition around here (I cant remember specifically what comp - drank too many jugs at Northies)

Otherwise, Simmo

Heard that too from lads that played with him at Cronulla Caringbah. Would be very interesting to see.

lolesi

To me there does not seem to be much hype surrounding him, only the odd 5 forum members seem to mention him.
The last time i saw Merrit kick was against the bulldogs last year, and he got 1 from 2, both from tough positions. Though i can remember seing him before that, what % he got from those games? I do not know.
Merrit played more then half of last year for souths, Televised, well all of them....
Where does Russo fit into the equasion? He doesn't, he is not a sharks player, and i doubt that he played more games then Merrit.

Soccer player=natural kicker=room for improvement=attainable 80%_ kicker=not purchasing_expensive_dedicated_kicker=money_for_other_type_of_player=1_step_closer_to_GF_victory

lolesi said:
Where does Russo fit into the equasion? He doesn't, he is not a sharks player, and i doubt that he played more games then Merrit.

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Sorry to target you Lolesi, but you know, you were going around the forum being a wanker & everything.
I'll leave you alone now.

You were right about 1 thing.
Merrit kicked in 2 games.
1/2 dogs rnd21
0/2 Nqld rnd 24

I am guessing he is talking about Michael Russo, not Jamie. There is no hype about Michael Russo because we haven't seen him do anything yet. He has a reputation because he was a schoolboys skipper, I wouldn't call that hype. Earlier in the year I saw him make some impressive offloads in PL but who knows if he would be effective in 1sts. He is young though so let's hope he comes on.

lolesi

I was not being a wanker!! Im a great bloke :lol:
and yes you where picking on me you slack bastard! i thought i handled myself alright.
btw Merrit and russo played the same amount of games last year, 14 :)

ali

I will be really concerned if we go into this game with Sullivan as our only play maker. Raper has got to be smart about this. At the moment we have Kimmorley as number 1 play maker, Peach relieves some pressure on the other side of the ruck and Sully does some play making around dummy half.

Now with Sully at half we will obviously be weakened as he is no Noddy. But we will also lose his play making at dummy half. Further more, I can't see Simmo putting on Cliff Lyons like balls a la Peach on the other side of the ruck. Sully hasn't played any halfback this year, and thats a lot of pressure to not only do all of Noddy's play making but Peach's and his own as well. So we've got to get another ball player up to first grade. Its no surprise I'd go for Aitken, but if Raper is not happy with Russ's form then gamble on Travis Burns or Dallalana.

Worst case scenario side.
1. Simmo
2. Merritt
3. Franze
4. McGoldy
5. Saleh (need some experience)
6. Dumas / Gallen
7. Aitken
8. Nutley
9. Sullivan (c)
10. Williams
11. Galloway
12. Bailey
13. Hilder
14. Bickers
15. Isemonger
16. R Williams / Dumas
17. Gibson

It is no surprise Ali.
But, I'm afraid to say, Aitken is 3rd or 4th string by the looks of it.
He won't make the team whilst sully or BK are available.

SirShire

Hey
Ali - if we're assuming a worst case scenario, should we assume no Bails in the pack? Dalla would be an interesting inclusion. Isnt he playing off the bench in PL now?

ali

But how do you think we will go if everything runs through Sullivan? That's a hell of a lot of pressure for one bloke to do 3 men's play making? Who will be the 2nd option kicker in general play?

As i said, i'm ok with Burns or Dalla, just give Sully some support!

I am also concerned with the lack of ball players we have in the side. After Sully we have no real options. Aitken is an obvious answer but its a tough ask for him to come in and take control and steer a first grade team around with not much experience. Being at halfback though would allow him to get his hands on the ball more though and give him an opportunity to show his stuff.
I think Sully is best used at hooker. Despite his good game against the dragons last year he looks far more dangerous when he can get out of dummy half quickly compared to when he is first reciever. It just depends if Raper is prepared to run with someone else as half.
I like Ali's side but i dont think it will be the one that gets picked.

SirShire

BK does it with another halfback, it should be the same for Sully with Dalla coming in off the bench and taking pressure off on his kicking and running games.

ali

Salmon said:
Hey
Ali - if we're assuming a worst case scenario, should we assume no Bails in the pack? Dalla would be an interesting inclusion. Isnt he playing off the bench in PL now?

I think we are assuming Bailey will play as he has handled these sorts of injuries before. Whether Raper rates Dalla or Burns higher I don't know. Dalla has only been back for a couple of weeks and has become stuck behind Burns, who moved up from Flegg whilst Dalla was out.

He would be a safer option as Burns is built like a stick. I haven't seen enough of him to tell you if his defence is up to it. At least Dalla has played a couple of games last year, and has a better long kicking game than Sully. Burns has the more potential of the 2 though.

I will hazard a guess that none of those get the call up.
More than likely Gibbo will come from obscurity as his suspension is up.
Or was it Kingston suspended?
Either-either, Rapes seems to like experience.

Sully will be half.
I reckon peach will play. Even with injury.

ali

Kingston was suspended, not Gibbo.

I agree that is the more likely combination, but I don't believe it will work.

Rieck_Fan

Get rieck to kick he needs to ad another string to his bow
ok then he needs a string to his bow because all he hs got is speed and so does vangana merrit and simmonds.
Comon rieck i can just picture it a kick from the sideline merrit and sully sent off sharks are loosing 18-19 and rieck kicks it from the sideline and becomes and instant hero from the sharks and gets a surprise callup to the soo side for next week. then his carear goes great and become a sharks immmortal and scores 230 trys in his carear a new record.

My dream come true.

Whether Raper rates Dalla or Burns higher I don't know.

I hope Dalla is the furthest thing from Rapers mind atm.

Surely

If Baily and Vagana are out i would give Lomu a run in the centres.
With the shortage of quality playermakers, I would be looking to Lomu busting them out wide and putting McGoldrick, Simmons or Rieck into some space.

1. Rieck
2. Simmons
3. Lomu
4. McGoldrick
5. Saleh
6. Gallen / Hilder
7. Sullivan
13. Dumas
12. Isemonger
11. Galloway
10. Nutley
9. Gibson