Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

*Live* Parra v Penrith Game Day thread, March 11, 2018

Maybe. But we're not slating him if Matagi grabs it and goes through the hole. So it's not like it was a pointless pass thrown for no reason, Matagi was in space if it stuck

I wouldn't be curbing players natural talents...and Evans can use a footy quite well.

Don’t want them to curb their skill, just pick the right time. what I’m trying to say is We didn’t really earn the right to throw that pass at that time or spot on the field. Skilful forwards that can pass are assets.

I would have Terepo ahead of Matagi for sure but he doesn't have the work rate of Manvaro.

No he doesn't. I didn't even have him top 17 last week.

But if our bench is going to defend as poorly as they did, we need a Terepo on the bench. Either that or start an Evans/Matagi/Vave type and have Alvaro/Mannah on the bench so there's always one of our best defenders out there. Like we did last year

Noise

I do think the heat maybe threw us. Not that it's really a good excuse, but it happened.

Scott did nothing and came off wrecked.

I know you said it wasn't an excuse but the heat affects both teams. And the forecast for today hasn't changed all week. We knew it was going to be hot. Our bench and rotations were completely f**ked today.

Yep. There was a period in the game where we had Mannah, Alvaro, Brown and Tep on the bench. They are our 4 best middle defenders FFS. It is no surprise the game turned at this point. Terrible rotation from BA
All the tries were scored with them off the field.

I know you said it wasn't an excuse but the heat affects both teams. And the forecast for today hasn't changed all week. We knew it was going to be hot. Our bench and rotations were completely f**ked today.

Yeah I agree.

If I had to guess I'd say maybe BA overestimated our fitness? But that's literally just a guess.

Personally, I've never really rated Matagi. Once Terepo is fit, he takes his spot, imo.

I think we would be better off starting with one of Mannah or Alvaro, and with Evans being the other prop.

I don't think we can afford to have both Mannah and Alvaro off at the same time.

Beau Scott made some nice tackles, but he was rooted after 5 minutes. I think we would be better off with Edwards, tbh.

Disappointing game, but we showed enough, imo, to display that we will do well this year, after some fine-tuning.

We were pretty ordinary for most of the first 8 weeks last season. We were pretty good for the rest of the sesson. One of the big differences in that was Kenny Edwards in the team from Round 8.

I'm staggered his not in the team.
He's aggression and power would of helped for shore.

We were pretty ordinary for most of the first 8 weeks last season. We were pretty good for the rest of the sesson. One of the big differences in that was Kenny Edwards in the team from Round 8.

I'm staggered his not in the team.
We were 2 from 6 without that mad merkin in the side.

Happy MEel

Yep no merkin at all covering him up on the inside which is what we apparently pride ourselves. We looked gassed after 30 mins, did the one trial hurt us???
I actually think it has to do with our poor middle replacements. Matagi and Evans are both lazy merkins and Scott was gassed after 10 minutes. King will also be slow and ineffective at the end of each half so we really need to place an emphasis on defence on or bench.

I’d bring Peni in for Matagi, play Tep exclusively in the middle off the bench and play Kenny on the edge.

Kornstar

f**k it was hot out there today!! Glad us fans turned up cause the team didn't.

We were just shit today for whatever reason we were just garbage.

Panthers are good on paper and today they were also good not the field. Next week at Brookvale should be fun........

Oh and a lot can be said for enthusiasm, we rarely play with it and the Panthers had bucketloads of it in that second half and everything went their way........we should start playing with some if it.........

I actually think it has to do with our poor middle replacements. Matagi and Evans are both lazy merkins and Scott was gassed after 10 minutes. King will also be slow and ineffective at the end of each half so we really need to place an emphasis on defence on or bench.

I’d bring Peni in for Matagi, play Tep exclusively in the middle off the bench and play Kenny on the edge.

Start Taka?

Just cos I reckon Kenny is better off the bench tbh