Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lockyer's joke!

SirShire

What do you all think? It wasn't that bad! Now some people are calling for Lockyer's head as captain! What BS!

Political correctness in a world gone crazy. It was probably out of place - but it was just a bloody joke. I'd have laughed if I hadn't already heard it.

Those people calling for his head need to learn to have a laugh.

pogo

darren lockyer chances now for australian captain

one million to one and drifting

what an IMBECILE for making a dumb commentlike that at the most touchy time in rugby league history

reg reagen would have had more brains

Punk

pogo said:
darren lockyer chances now for australian captain

one million to one and drifting

what an IMBECILE for making a dumb commentlike that at the most touchy time in rugby league history

reg reagen would have had more brains

No YOU.

SirShire

Why? Lockyer isnt the one who has gone out on the piss and done something like those 'dogs' have!

imasharkie

Good to see some funny stuff come out of the mess that was 7 days of league bashing...............thanks el garbo

Quint

Lockyer has been questioned by police and given a DNA swab test to determine if the joke actually came from his mouth.

And news just to hand. it seems he told a joke this time last year that has upset some people also...
More news as it comes to hand........ ;-) :lol: ;-)

Kaz

junior
What Locky did was bad timing.

But I admit, I laughed at it.

One good thing he apolgised straight after.

Locky makes one mistake & people are saying he could lose the captaincy.

But he doesn't get into trouble like another captain who wants his Australian Captaincy back.

Cometshark

I admit it was in poor taste but it was hilarious, I dont think he should lose a captaincy because of it but Johns should get the captaincy back if he's playing rep footy.

Hilarious?

It was awful and pathetic. I dont care about the wider issues in this instance but it was a really poor, lame joke. I had respect for Lockyer before, now that is dropping.

Talk about weak humour. Not because of the woman, just because the "joke" was piss weak. I really expected more from DL.

Cometshark

Have to understand SS it was a lighthearted stab it wasnt malicious, and whoever said footballers were great thinkers?

Aries

The thing I noticed was that he thought it was hilarious when he said it... so did the Press conference...

Next thing he is out there apologising, humbly about it...

I personally laughed at it. I can see the funny side of it and agree with El Garbo that it is political correctness gone made, again...

I can see the funny side of it too, but it was pretty poor judgement to say it at a Press conference and his timing stinks. Coming from the current Test captain, it basically says to the public that the rugby league fraternity think the whole thing is a big joke. And they reckon that Beattie has the occasional brain explosion!

What I saw on the news was more a case of a big laugh from Lockyer quickly turning to a "sh*t, I can't believe I just said that" nervous titter and the same from the assembled press contingent. Like a fart in an elevator. I couldn't think of an easier job at the moment than a rugby league journalist, the stories are being gifted out on a platter.

The only people that should be laughing are the press and the administrators of the other football codes. The start of the season can't come quick enough for me and hopefully the attention can then be focussed on the footy.

It was totally irresponsible from the supposed leader of the players. Bad timing, bad taste. Funny but stupid.

Bring back A. Johns! He's just a piss head. :D

The Popper

Of course it was inappropriate. But what do people expect. Most first grade footballers are only young blokes, some only in their teens. Of course they're going to make verbal slip ups from time to time. I'm sure Lockyer meant nothing malicious with his statement.

The trouble in these days of `political correctness': a section of the population walk around with their self-righteous, `holier than thou' attitude ready to castigate others at the first opportunity. Sure, the young bloke made a verbal feaux pas, but that's just it: he's only a young bloke.
Everybody makes mistakes. Give him a break. He didn't rape anyone. He just made a joke that was in bad taste. As the Good Book says: `Let him who is without sin cast the first stone.' Give him a bloody break!

The Good book is a load of crap, for starters. Lockyer has to have some resposibility. Is it the end of the world?? No, but he must be responsible for his actions. The joke was very poor form. Age has nothing to do with it.

This is a very dire period for the NRL. Sponsors are going to walk away from RL. The national captain can't be seen to be making light of the situation. No matter what the malice of the comment, the point is that no comment should have been made at all.

Thumbs down Lockyer. :?