Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lockyer's joke!

The Popper

Bullshyt, Mac.
Of course the `joke' was in poor taste. Unfortunately, the political correct brigade make no provision for a young bloke, or anybody for that matter, to make a mistake. They pyss me off.
As far as the Good Book being a load of crap: everybody has a right to their opinion, even bullshyt macho young males. That's what democracies supposed to be all about. But as they said in WW1, `There are no atheists in foxholes'. Ever faced hot lead or cold steel, Mac?

Generalzod

Salmon said:
What do you all think? It wasn't that bad! Now some people are calling for Lockyer's head as captain! What BS!

Lockyer should have know a little bit better!!!!

I laughed but it wasn't from the joke , it was at how dumb he came across and how much shit he had just landed himself in.
If he was in the pub with a few mates and said it fair enough but not on stage at a fund raiser with tv camera's around.
He might be getting a nomination in my sig.

dimitri

i agree he deserves a nomination in your sig

it was bad bad bad timing

why say such bad things about the game that helps feed you, your wife and kids

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Thats the point of it to carcharias. Not what he said,but hte fact that he said anything. It had to be premeditated too if it waspart of his speech. Very stupid.

I think a few of you are missing the point. Ok, the joke was half funny but not a joke that you announce at a press conference and get headlines for. More of a joke that circulates by word of mouth after events like this with no traces of whom it originated from.

Firstly the NRL are absolutely furious with the Bulldogs scandal. Especially because their media campaign this year is focused about women getting behind football. The last thing they would want is a player of Lockyers stature and position to make light of the situation and further infuriate any already disgruntled members of the community.

Secondly if you want to be a leader of anything you should toe the organisations line that you are head of. So he should of made some more wittier statement as to why the Bulldogs behaviour is not part of the Rugby League culture that the majority go by.

Thirdly , why give the media more fuel and momentum on the issue. They absolutely dined out on his comment. Just what the NRL did not want.

Finally I wonder how the Bulldogs are going to react to him when they play against him after being referred to as "rapists". Could be something legal here...........

Quint

Dragon Slayer said:
I think a few of you are missing the point. Ok, the joke was half funny but not a joke that you announce at a press conference and get headlines for. More of a joke that circulates by word of mouth after events like this with no traces of whom it originated from.

Bingo!! Mate
Just like the Space shuttle and Dingo jokes it should be the kind of joke you hear or tell in schoolyards or pubs.
But at the same time are all the people offended by this Raper joke equally offended by the the Dingo or Space shuttle jokes???

Objective One

Leaders by definition forego the option to remain one of the boys. Leaders realise the tone is set from the top. Leaders read the tone that the stakeholders want to have set. If Lockeyer wanted to be the leader of a game that's fun and not too serious in which the players are the stakeholders like up the park every Sunday arvo with a few jokes ranging from tasteful to tasteless, then he was pretty spot on. If he wanted to be the leader of a game that is a big business where the top players make 100s of 1000s of $ a year paid by serious businesses paying serious $ to advertise off its back, he should have stopped and thought for a nanosecond how do I make my $300-500K a year, who are the real stakeholders that pay the $ to let me make that, and what might they might want right now in terms of tone from the top? Those stakeholders will make a dispassionate decision about the best sports or other alternatives through which to advertise and follow their perceptions of trends. Whether Lockeyer should keep the leadership position comes down to whether the stakeholders in top level RL believe he is a net positive or net negative in that role to maximise the value of the game based on its future earnings potential. It's not political correctness, it's just business and it's just commonsense.

Quint

Objective One said:
Leaders by definition forego the option to remain one of the boys. Leaders realise the tone is set from the top. Leaders read the tone that the stakeholders want to have set. If Lockeyer wanted to be the leader of a game that's fun and not too serious in which the players are the stakeholders like up the park every Sunday arvo with a few jokes ranging from tasteful to tasteless, then he was pretty spot on. If he wanted to be the leader of a game that is a big business where the top players make 100s of 1000s of $ a year paid by serious businesses paying serious $ to advertise off its back, he should have stopped and thought for a nanosecond how do I make my $300-500K a year, who are the real stakeholders that pay the $ to let me make that, and what might they might want right now in terms of tone from the top? Those stakeholders will make a dispassionate decision about the best sports or other alternatives through which to advertise and follow their perceptions of trends. Whether Lockeyer should keep the leadership position comes down to whether the stakeholders in top level RL believe he is a net positive or net negative in that role to maximise the value of the game based on its future earnings potential. It's not political correctness, it's just business and it's just commonsense.
I agree,but we are talking about footballers not CEO's of large companies.
There is a lot of difference if you get my drift?

footy players are by and large a bunch of mugs

i used to think lockyer was one of the smarter and more responsible players like brett kimmorley and hazem el masri

now he's off my list!

As you can see he's just made it onto my list.

Congratulations to you Darren , but don't worry I think there's plenty of misdemeanors left in the boys for this year. I cant see you getting the title with blokes like Hoppa still at large.
But i'd still like to make special mention to the fact that you got nominated without the help of copious amounts of alcohol.
Well done son & by the way, nice puppy .Whats his name?

Bob Carr wades into the debate

05Mar04

AUSTRALIAN rugby league captain Darren Lockyer was clearly incapable of figuring out what was appropriate and should be coached in speaking by the NRL, NSW Premier Bob Carr said today.

Mr Carr's comments followed a joke made by Lockyer about gang rape allegations surrounding the Bulldogs.
"Without proper training or support you put a footballer up in front of microphones and he's not respectful in his language," Mr Carr said.

"No one has cautioned him that a joke about rape is not a joke. A joke about rape is not a joke. He should've been cautioned about this before the game thrust him into the media spotlight."

Asked whether Lockyer should have been able to figure such things out for himself, Mr Carr replied: "Apparently he couldn't, so you rely on people who might have advised him, older people, wiser people."

Mr Carr said the incident was proof the NRL needed to work to stamp out sleazy behaviour among its players.

This report appears on NEWS.com.au.

http://www.news.com.au/common/printpage/0,6093,8875121,00.html

Stupidity is not a good enough excuse SON. Not all footy players are stupid. I would hope that our national captain would have had more sense.

Quint

I know mate,not all of them are stupid.
But there job and whole life surrounds football,not public speaking.
Most politcians do a good job of fooling the public with speeches but put a football in their hands and I don't think they would last long.
I guess what I'm trying to say is that you are a product of your environment.

Asked whether Lockyer should have been able to figure such things out for himself, Mr Carr replied: "Apparently he couldn't, so you rely on people who might have advised him, older people, wiser people."

Well, personally I think even some dopey footy players should be able to work out what's appropriate and what's not. We dont live in a nanny state.

Another sermon from beloved leader. You'd think that ol' Bob would be busy fixing the trains with that lunatic manic depressive Costa rather than playing Mr Morality for the media.

Here's a good larf about Bob Carr done by Mike Carlton

ftp://2uedownloads.nextgen.net/Carr's%20Sunburnt%20Country%20.mp3

check it out

sharknows

A female caller to 2KY's big sports breakfast this morning said that she was so affronted by Lockyer's joke that she had no more time for him and would wipe her hands of rugby league altogether. There is so much hysteria about this whole issue that it is becoming tedious. What happened - sorry allegedly happened - was wrong and those found guilty should be punished. Let it run its' course.
Lockyer told a joke to try and lighten up the situation - christ it is bloody Aussie nature to make jokes out of anything no matter how sacred it may be. Give Darren a break - he is only a dumb ass footballer, not a politician.