Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looks like we're last tonight.....

If SK is worth his salt as a motivator/tactician, he will use the Titans' win as motivation for our bunch...

He'll run out at 11:30pm and buy the paper, cut out the ladder, photocopy it, circle our position in red texta, write "together we can do something about this" next to it, and get someone to glue it to the front of each player's personal locker before they arrive at the game. Surely realising we will in fact be last after this round is enough to get our guys to lift that little bit more that has been required to finish the 80mins and snag a win?

If SK's not worth his salt as a motivator/tactician, then over the next three games the team will play just like they have for most of the year and not get the necessary points to escape the bottom rung.

Maybe, maybe not.
I honestly think SK is only worried about next year now. Sure, he will want to win the next three games, as I'm sure he would have wanted to win the last 23 games, but it wasn't to be.
Bart, next time you go to the footy, why don't you ask SK the same question?
I'm sure he'd be more than happy to answer you. Then, you could give us a reply, straight from the horses mouth, rather than just second guessing and putting words into people's mouths.

We definitely don't deserve to be coming last. Very sad state of affairs but the players have only themselves to blame.

I think Daniel Anderson would be some what relieved he got the arse about now.

I hope not just for our club but also for Stephen Kearney's sake we perform next year. If we finish at the bottom of the table again chances are his first grade coaching career will be over before it's begun. You never get second chances as a professional coach these days.

jk13

i'm gonna email gallop and plead for 1 more bye just for us. i'm thinking week 27

We definitely don't deserve to be coming last. Very sad state of affairs but the players have only themselves to blame.

I think everyone at the club needs to be held accountable. That includes the players definately, but also the coaching staff as well as the administration staff. The buck has to stop at the top after all!

Maroubra Eel

Even though we are last I still reckon we've had a pretty good year.

We've been extremely competitive in the majority of our matches. It's not like we're some sort of easybeats.

I think everyone at the club needs to be held accountable. That includes the players definately, but also the coaching staff as well as the administration staff. The buck has to stop at the top after all!

Mate some of the stuff the players come up with this year to lose games were uncoachable. The players let us down.

I agree. But you have to factor in everything as a whole. And that includes team selections and use of the bench which have also contribute to losses. As well as upper level decisions in regards to our weak roster for this year. The players have let us down, you are 100% correct in that, but they shouldn't be singled out for the blame entirely.

Haynzy

I don't think Kearney or anyone else at the club is particularly concerned with this year's result.
Sure it would suck if we finish with the spoon but when the only signings possible were a million years old and fat do you really think winning the year was a priority?

That doesn't mean they haven't tried or won't be trying in each game but just that their eyes have been set on the future for a lot longer than many here realise.

I don't think Kearney or anyone else at the club is particularly concerned with this year's result.
Sure it would suck if we finish with the spoon but when the only signings possible were a million years old and fat do you really think winning the year was a priority?

That doesn't mean they haven't tried or won't be trying in each game but just that their eyes have been set on the future for a lot longer than many here realise.

If they're not they should be. It affects future membership drives and sponsorship if you have poor on field results. That income is important to clubs.

Maybe, maybe not.
I honestly think SK is only worried about next year now. Sure, he will want to win the next three games, as I'm sure he would have wanted to win the last 23 games, but it wasn't to be.
Surely he'd want to avaoid a wooden spoon in his first season? Surely the players would want to avoid a wooden spoon not matter how many seasons they've played?
Bart, next time you go to the footy, why don't you ask SK the same question?
I'm sure he'd be more than happy to answer you.
:?: I think he sits on the other side of the ground to me Suity, and should have more pressing things to do on game day than answer questions from fans. Maybe I'll wait for that promise fans forum?
Then, you could give us a reply, straight from the horses mouth, rather than just second guessing and putting words into people's mouths.
If you want to know what SK thinks, then you can ask him and report back. I'll prefer to give my opinion on a discussion forum, nothing I wrote is putting words in anyone's else's mouth but my own - it's my opinion. I don't see what your reply to me actually asks, or achieves...?

If you personally don't like my opinion or that I've expressed it, then maybe just ignore my posts rather than waste both of our time? Or even better maybe state your own opinion on the matter in reply (without the personal commentary), to add to the discussion rather than attempting to invalidate opinions you don't happen to like?

Haynzy

If they're not they should be. It affects future membership drives and sponsorship if you have poor on field results. That income is important to clubs.

I don't think the majority of people are that short sighted or fickle.
Especially sponsors. Plus building long term success will bring in more fans.
This seems to have been one of the more sucessful years for the club financially and as things on the field improve so too will memberships and sponsorships.

hybrideel

not saying it will stop me from renewing my membership, just that i'd really rather us not come last

If SK is worth his salt as a motivator/tactician, he will use the Titans' win as motivation for our bunch...

He'll run out at 11:30pm and buy the paper, cut out the ladder, photocopy it, circle our position in red texta, write "together we can do something about this" next to it, and get someone to glue it to the front of each player's personal locker before they arrive at the game.

Puerile.

If both teams play their best the Tigers will win. Simple.

Good post.

I think one of the reasons we have so many fans is the roller coaster nature of our performances year after year. We're certainly an exciting club to follow and when we finally win another premiership the emotional payoff will be massive.

Anyway I think the spoon this year will have a minimal effect on marketing for next year. The new signings will bring the punters back, and when we do go well next year there will be that whole rags-to-riches vibe that sells so well.

The media will be all over us next year, for good or ill. And as they say, there's no such thing as bad publicity.