Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Losing body fat quickly

I'm hoping to get back into playing Cricket this year after having almost 3 years of nasty knee troubles (Footy injury, I never got it properly fixed until last June)

It's now 100% according to the Doc and Physio, problem is, I've probably put on almost 20kgs on weight over the 3 years.

Everyone in my family are large people, with the exception of my mother who weighs under 80kgs due to a very strict diet and exercise routine.

All my uncles weigh at least 115-120 kgs, as does my father, they are all 6 foot or taller.

I'm 108kgs as of today and stand at 6 foot tall.

I want to get back down to at least 90-92 kgs.

My biggest problem is that I still have the same high carb diet I had when I regularly played sport, but with limited exercise, it's been getting stored as body fat.

Anyone have some ideas to help out. I want to improve fitness and drop the body fat quickly (I've never had to lose weight before, so I'm a bit of a novice at how it's done).

I currently walk about 10kms a day just going to and from work and have bought some weights and will start jogging and possibly a boxing exercise routine soon, but i'm concerned that my diet and my seemingly sh*thouse metabolism and genetics may be a huge hurdle.

Cheers.

roopy

The worst thing you can do is to go on a 'crash diet'.
This causes the so called YoYo dieting syndrome, and you risk permamently slowing down your metabolism.
You need to make sure you lose as much as possible through exercise, which will speed up your metabolism, and you need to keep up regular calorie intake while slightly reducing your overall intake.
You shouldn't starve yourself, because your system will slowdown to compensate.

'Crash diets' where you starve yourself and lose a lot of weight quickly actually make it harder for you to keep the weight off in the long run.

Thomas

I'm also cutting down on my calorie intake and ramping up protein. I also had a high carb diet so I've cut some out.

Hard gym work and high intensity cardio is the way to go.

bazza

I'm also cutting down on my calorie intake and ramping up protein. I also had a high carb diet so I've cut some out.

Hard gym work and high intensity cardio is the way to go.

Yep - lift some weights and do HIIT to lose fat

Guvner

I'm hoping to get back into playing Cricket this year after having almost 3 years of nasty knee troubles (Footy injury, I never got it properly fixed until last June)

It's now 100% according to the Doc and Physio, problem is, I've probably put on almost 20kgs on weight over the 3 years.

Everyone in my family are large people, with the exception of my mother who weighs under 80kgs due to a very strict diet and exercise routine.

All my uncles weigh at least 115-120 kgs, as does my father, they are all 6 foot or taller.

I'm 108kgs as of today and stand at 6 foot tall.

I want to get back down to at least 90-92 kgs.

My biggest problem is that I still have the same high carb diet I had when I regularly played sport, but with limited exercise, it's been getting stored as body fat.

Anyone have some ideas to help out. I want to improve fitness and drop the body fat quickly (I've never had to lose weight before, so I'm a bit of a novice at how it's done).

I currently walk about 10kms a day just going to and from work and have bought some weights and will start jogging and possibly a boxing exercise routine soon, but i'm concerned that my diet and my seemingly sh*thouse metabolism and genetics may be a huge hurdle.

Cheers.

Jesus, I could have penned this myself almost word for word. Except Ive only been off the pitch for two years.

Snoochies

Just a query in regards to Calorie Counting, I think I have don eit all wrong.

I'm currently 104 - 105kg and started my program 2 months ago and lost only 2kg. I'm quite muscular but have the thick look about me as well. Anyway, I had tried to cut down my calorie intake and after calculating it I take in between 1500 to 1700 calories a day. I box 3 times a week, run 3 times a week and also do an all round workout which consists of a 30 minute bodyweight routine that includes sits up, push ups, squats, lunges etc etc. (Bas Rutten All Round Workout) check itout on youtube.

Anyway, after all this time and barely losing weight I am getting extremely frustrated but have just read that maybe for my size I should actually be taking in more calories. Apparently it maybe called starvation mode where the body tries to retain the calories.

Basically I work in an office all day and exercise once I get home, being pretty inactive during the day I would have thoughts that calorie amount would be sufficient. Anyone got some ideas?

roopy

I'm currently 104 - 105kg and started my program 2 months ago and lost only 2kg. I'm quite muscular but have the thick look about me as well. Anyway, I had tried to cut down my calorie intake and after calculating it I take in between 1500 to 1700 calories a day. I box 3 times a week, run 3 times a week and also do an all round workout which consists of a 30 minute bodyweight routine that includes sits up, push ups, squats, lunges etc etc. (Bas Rutten All Round Workout) check itout on youtube.

Anyway, after all this time and barely losing weight I am getting extremely frustrated but have just read that maybe for my size I should actually be taking in more calories. Apparently it maybe called starvation mode where the body tries to retain the calories.

Basically I work in an office all day and exercise once I get home, being pretty inactive during the day I would have thoughts that calorie amount would be sufficient. Anyone got some ideas?

It might be a timing issue.
If you are eating most of your calories in a few big meals more towards the end of the day - that would be the worst way to do it.

You should spread your calorie intake over the day in about 6 small meals, and the biggest intake should be breakfast to fuel you through the day.

You should also make it low GI if you can, so the energy is released slowly and evenly, rather than a burst of energy and then a lull.

Snoochies

It might be a timing issue.
If you are eating most of your calories in a few big meals more towards the end of the day - that would be the worst way to do it.

You should spread your calorie intake over the day in about 6 small meals, and the biggest intake should be breakfast to fuel you through the day.

You should also make it low GI if you can, so the energy is released slowly and evenly, rather than a burst of energy and then a lull.

Have the timing down and have 6 meals with 2-3 hours between meals. My wife is a type 1 diabetic so our household is filled with low GI foods.

Was just speaking with her about it and we pretty much eat identical food as each other and the same amounts. The difference is, she is 55kg and I'm 105kg.

Thomas

I had a similar thing although I was in a plateau because of my stagnant training regime. My trainer told me the exact thing. I'm starving my body. I also need more protein. Loads of it. I was only eating about 30% of my daily protein requirement which is poor for muscle growth and fat loss.

Also start doing some more weights. And work those big muscles. Legs and back especially.

roopy

This is a weird one, and i've never tried it, and it sounds like rubbish - but a lot of people claim that a spoon full of Apple cider vinigar before meals works in some way to speed up the metabolism and moderate appetite.
It could be worth a shot.

Apple Cider Vinegar and Weight Loss… How Does it Work? No one is really sure how apple cider vinegar works to promote weight loss, but there is no shortage of theories.
It is generally believed that the nutrients, enzymes, and organic acids in apple cider vinegar cause weight reduction by acting as an appetite suppressant, by increasing your body's metabolic rate, by reducing water retention, and by helping you maintain a feeling of well being.
For more information on each one of these possible mechanisms, click on Apple Cider Vinegar Weight Loss Theories.

http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/apple-cider-vinegar-and-weight-loss.html

Snoochies

I've done a bit of research and looks like I have to amp up my calories from 1500 to to 2625 per day. I don't mind that one bit, I love eating:)

Might look into that apple cider and test it out.

Carnifex

At about age 20 i weighed just under 125kgs, wasnt exactly sure how to lose weight but read online and it came to the conclusion less calorie + excercise=lose weight...and it worked...sorta. i got down to 85kgs in just over a year. I injured my knee and then got lazy and put on another 10-15kgs...until 5 weeks ago when i started with a personal trainer who has me on a pretty low carb/fat diet eating 5-6 meals a day aswell as doing weights and cardio...and now im back at 85kgs.

Carnifex

*oops* forgot to add when i first lost the weight....i ate 3 meals a day and just rode the excercise bike like a mofo....I ended up burning muscle and fat which isnt the preferred way to lose weight.

macavity

I'm down from 125 to 110. I'm 6'2 and a big build.

I don't eat shyt but I dont count calories either. I eat 6 times a day religiously - 3 "meals" and 3 snacky type things (a muesli bar, yoghurt, handful of rice crackers, protein shake, etc). I find if I go any longer than 2.5-3 hours without a meal I start feeling crook.

What is working for me is a heavy weights program of a morning (5 sessions a week) and jogging every afternoon, plus generally a 2hr walk with the mrs on the weekend. It does mean getting up at 5am, and not finishing my jog until 6-6:30.....

Although I'm not losing a heap on the scales (coming off VERY slowly) I am improving strength, flexibility and body shape, am dropping clothes sizes, and generally feel really good (though start to nod off around 9pzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Firey_Dragon

This is a weird one, and i've never tried it, and it sounds like rubbish - but a lot of people claim that a spoon full of Apple cider vinigar before meals works in some way to speed up the metabolism and moderate appetite.
It could be worth a shot.

http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/apple-cider-vinegar-and-weight-loss.html

ACV is actually pretty common, I used it for a while and it seemed to work. If you want to use it though, make sure you dilute the hell out of it, it's a pretty strong acid. It'll destroy your teeth and give you some pretty serious reflux if you're not smart with how you consume it.

ACV is actually a pretty crazy substance, it has alot of health benefits that alot of people really don't know about. It's good for weight loss, improving your immune system and you can even use it externally for wart removal.

Dirty Hoe

apple cider lowers the gi of the food, not your body. doesnt mean you can go and eat whatever and add the vinegar and you will be sweet.

best to stay on the safe side and eat natural foods

losing weight is an easy thing...its getting the mind right thats the hard thing

jackal

Utilise a personal trainer who can sit down with you, discuss your goals and obvioulsy observe and discuss what you require to cut down - it only need be for one or two sessions.

Advice off the forum is good intent but it is what has worked for the indiciduals giving it - everyone is different.

Diet is 75% of health, fitness and looking good. Afterall if you measured the amount of time you train over a week comparative to how and what you eat over the week then it puts it into perspective.

Its easy to sit back and say hit resistance training, or make sure you invovle H.I.I.T, but at the end of the day it simpossible to rectify your needs from a blind perspective.

Snoochies

A follow up, have started eating more calories and especially at brekkie. I was told that I would put on weight to begin with as my body will just try and grab every calorie I fed it and I did go upto 108kg from 105kg, but not long after I have now lost 5kg in 2 weeks. The food I was eating also wasn't sufficient for the exercise I was doing as I was doing very intense workouts, so it seems everything is speeding up now and weight is finally starting to come off.

Who would have thought, eat more and lose weight.

Frailty

It is important to make sure you are eating right, and it definitely isn't just about the amount of calories, but the times you eat, and what you are eating - i.e. make sure you get enough calcium, and omega-3, etc.

However, the key I have found is keep your exercise routine dynamic. I have lost 25 kilo since the start of January (and that includes building muscle), and I have found keeping a routine until you see the results slowing and then changing is a good option to take. Recently, I was stuck at 97.5-98kg for about two weeks, so I swapped my routine around and I have dropped to 95 in a week.