Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Losing more of our young guns.

Dragons4me

Never heard of the Cooper White and all the other juniors that the press has been talking about as though we are letting the next 5 immortals slip through our fingers. Facts are most don't make it in first grade, even ones that were stars as juniors.

The journos should perhaps concentrate on why Munster is willing to take a $400k loss per year to stay at the Storm and not go to the Dolphins if their own figures are correct and how it distorts the competition and ability of lower teams to attract talent. Obviously going home to QLD, playing for a coach who has won the most comps and who you acknowledged when he coached you in SOO, being part of an exciting new team from the outset and playing with half your former Storm forward pack requires more than 400k in compensation difference.

I love reading about these deals. Generally I reckon it's just a case of mild amnesia. Some of these players will wake up one morning to a bunch of tradesmen at their front door ready to add that backyard pool cabana with all the extras that they forgot they wanted!! What's amazing to them is how frequently that just seems to happen to their immediate family too!

Trifili13

I love reading about these deals. Generally I reckon it's just a case of mild amnesia. Some of these players will wake up one morning to a bunch of tradesmen at their front door ready to add that backyard pool cabana with all the extras that they forgot they wanted!! What's amazing to them is how frequently that just seems to happen to their immediate family too!
Yes, probably part of the HIA protocols some clubs have in place.

smi962

All of the so called “losses” are already behind a crop of young players in Ramsey, Sloan, Amone, Sullivan, Feagai, Feagai, Suli, Lomax and several others oft mentioned so nothing whatsoever to do with Hunt.
Raiders with an ageing roster and several “depth players” would give them more of a chance.
Sone of whom are also on the way out of the club

DfL

Sullivan withdraws request to exit Dragons​

Jayden Sullivan has withdrawn his request for a release from St George Illawarra, with the young playmaker committing to see out his contract with the NRL club.

Still contracted until the end of 2025, Sullivan had asked to be released earlier this month following an approach to play No.7 at Canterbury.

The Dragons had long indicated they were hesitant to let the 21-year-old go, even after re-signing halfback Ben Hunt on a new two-year deal until the end of 2025.

However AAP has been told that Sullivan has now retracted his request, with a change of heart after talks with the club in recent weeks.

Sullivan made his debut for St George Illawarra in 2020, but spent most of last season coming off the bench and playing dummy-half with Hunt starring at halfback.

Hunt's new deal had prompted concerns that Sullivan's path to the No.7 jersey would be blocked, and that he should look elsewhere for that shot.

However the Dragons have told Sullivan they still see him as the long-term option, and there is no reason why can't claim the jersey sooner.

One alternative could include Hunt eventually moving to hooker, given he stars there for Queensland in State of Origin.

The news comes as a welcome relief to the Dragons, who have had their culture questioned in recent weeks.

But there is a hope within the club that they have now shown they are able to connect with their younger players.

Sullivan, Tyrell Sloan and Talatau Amone have long been seen as the future of the NRL club.

Sloan earlier this week also revealed he had withdrawn his request for a release, after he committed until the end of 2025 earlier this year but played just four games as fullback this season.

Amone meanwhile has developed into a rising star, impressing more and more at five-eighth late in 2022 and is already signed until the end of 2024.

The Dragons' culture had been called into question in recent weeks, with several body blows landed on coach Anthony Griffin from exiting players since Monday.

Griffin is off-contract at the end of 2023, with significant chunks of his football department changing over the current off-season.

However in more positive news for the club, they have also welcomed premiership-winner Ben Creagh to the board this week with director Peter Black stepping aside.

Dragons4me

Jayden Sullivan has withdrawn his request for a release from St George Illawarra, with the young playmaker committing to see out his contract with the NRL club.

Still contracted until the end of 2025, Sullivan had asked to be released earlier this month following an approach to play No.7 at Canterbury.

The Dragons had long indicated they were hesitant to let the 21-year-old go, even after re-signing halfback Ben Hunt on a new two-year deal until the end of 2025.

However AAP has been told that Sullivan has now retracted his request, with a change of heart after talks with the club in recent weeks.

Sullivan made his debut for St George Illawarra in 2020, but spent most of last season coming off the bench and playing dummy-half with Hunt starring at halfback.

Hunt's new deal had prompted concerns that Sullivan's path to the No.7 jersey would be blocked, and that he should look elsewhere for that shot.

However the Dragons have told Sullivan they still see him as the long-term option, and there is no reason why can't claim the jersey sooner.

One alternative could include Hunt eventually moving to hooker, given he stars there for Queensland in State of Origin.

The news comes as a welcome relief to the Dragons, who have had their culture questioned in recent weeks.

But there is a hope within the club that they have now shown they are able to connect with their younger players.

Sullivan, Tyrell Sloan and Talatau Amone have long been seen as the future of the NRL club.

Sloan earlier this week also revealed he had withdrawn his request for a release, after he committed until the end of 2025 earlier this year but played just four games as fullback this season.

Amone meanwhile has developed into a rising star, impressing more and more at five-eighth late in 2022 and is already signed until the end of 2024.

The Dragons' culture had been called into question in recent weeks, with several body blows landed on coach Anthony Griffin from exiting players since Monday.

Griffin is off-contract at the end of 2023, with significant chunks of his football department changing over the current off-season.

However in more positive news for the club, they have also welcomed premiership-winner Ben Creagh to the board this week with director Peter Black stepping aside.

Thank feck for that! Well done Bud. This is news all fans have been waiting for. Fan-fecking-tastic!!! I'm one very happy Dragons man!!!

justadragon

You have to wonder now how much agitation was done by the Bulldogs and the media just to crucify this club. Surely talks were held prior to all this drama. But anyway well done Jayden stick with the Dragons you ARE loved and wanted here and no one questions your ability. You now have a chance to make it impossible for Hook not to pick you at 7, go for it. Well done mate.

BLM01

What’s changed to alter Sloan & Buds position ? In Buds case has Hunt come to the party and agreed to a transitional process? Very interesting
We re signed Moga. It is like what Munster is to Melbourne in Dragons world 🤔
Meanwhile Tigers swap Peachey for Staines. One thing you can say Tigers imports for next year will strengthen their squad. Ours not so sure!
We could of swapped anyone fringe for Staines and left Moga out there.

Dragon David

What’s changed to alter Sloan & Buds position ? In Buds case has Hunt come to the party and agreed to a transitional process? Very interesting
Hunt has been playing top footy in the world cup either as the starting 9 or coming into the game at 9 after Grant starts, viz. against Fiji and Scotland respectively. I know that so far the Aussies haven't played any "decent" teams yet but because we have won the games by big scores, it shows that we are on our game.

On Hunt, this is what was said in one of the write ups after the Scotland game -

"Hunt replaced Grant after 34 minutes and set up three tries, while also scoring one of his own."

“The introduction of Ben Hunt, he just adds a different dynamic around the ruck, what an exciting talent he is,” Ian Henderson said on Fox League.

“He is, he offers something different, if you want to break the game up, throw him on,” Jonathan Davies responded.

I think that the Dragons should swap around our 7 and 9 positions between Hunt, Sullivan and Liddle in several of our games, not only to give Sullivan more game time as the 7 but to "break the game up" as above.

OneEyedDragon

Hunt has been playing top footy in the world cup either as the starting 9 or coming into the game at 9 after Grant starts, viz. against Fiji and Scotland respectively. I know that so far the Aussies haven't played any "decent" teams yet but because we have won the games by big scores, it shows that we are on our game.

On Hunt, this is what was said in one of the write ups after the Scotland game -

"Hunt replaced Grant after 34 minutes and set up three tries, while also scoring one of his own."

“The introduction of Ben Hunt, he just adds a different dynamic around the ruck, what an exciting talent he is,” Ian Henderson said on Fox League.

“He is, he offers something different, if you want to break the game up, throw him on,” Jonathan Davies responded.

I think that the Dragons should swap around our 7 and 9 positions between Hunt, Sullivan and Liddle in several of our games, not only to give Sullivan more game time as the 7 but to "break the game up" as above.
Sounds like a good idea to me! At least it would provide a bit of variety in the Dragons boring, predictable attack.

Illusion

Said this last year and the year before , Hunts resigning now has put a lot of pressure on himself to play as he has this year ....... Swapping between 7 and 9 will benefit him and the team .....

Mojo

Said this last year and the year before , Hunts resigning now has put a lot of pressure on himself to play as he has this year ....... Swapping between 7 and 9 will benefit him and the team .....
Of course. The players we have available to us to play a really varied and creative attack … proverbial dogs balls! Any coach who doesn’t develop this a total nitwit.

Dragon David

Players withdrawing their requests to leave, tells me Hook is gone. Not now but certainly mid season.

Hunt wont play hooker unless there are injuries. He has made his position clear.
If Hook is gone sometime next year (say from games 9-12), which I think might be on the cards, it will mean that the team would be struggling and would have lost at least 7 of the say first 9 games, which could be that we are running stone motherless last on the ladder. Not good to see and will be so disappointing of course.

I'd like to hope that Hook and his new assistants can get the team to win say 5 of the first 9 games (depending of course on who we are lucky enough to play), which keeps us buoyant and "still in the comp" to a certain degree and us not feeling too despondent. This might be due to the benefit of better choices by the coaches in selection of the teams without relying on the "older" brigade to be on the safe side and to take some risks by moving the players around for experience and getting away from our usual pattern of play by breaking up the game and using Hunt at hooker. Hunt might be willing to play hooker for the benefit of the club and also to help Hook.

To me the coaches need to employ the right choices to BENEFIT the club and if that means shuffling our spine around, then that to me needs to be done.

Regardless of how the results will be, Hook won't be at the club for sure in 2024 is what I am thinking.

This Year?

I wonder when the Bulldogs and/or player managers will get punished for breaching anti tampering laws or is that not a thing anymore?