Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Loving it: the fumbleball writers are expressing concern

Or even people to understand that RL is not Australia wide nor much of a multi national sport and as great as RL is it will probably never be.

True value is realist terms relates to reducing player salaries, reducing the corporatisation of the game and bringing it back to the people.
You want bums on seats, don't waste money or go to SA or WA, just lower the price of family tickets and concentrate on the market that is the rugby league market.

dont limit yourself so

AND REMEMBER : a gun ceo will not solve a thing. I am not pro or against gallop but you seem to think he sux because of rl's history of relying on hand outs instead of growing the business of football. Not even the pope praying all day and night as NRL CEO could change that culture....it takes time

DId you read the article or just take one thought out of it and construed it in your mind??

The Take:: you should have taken two things out of the article in relation to what we are talking about

ONE ::Basically if Gallop and Co were not spending all the money they had, we would be even further behind in areas like juniors. It would appear spending all the money has so far worked well against a foe who has a heap more than us. how else do you compete? by giving up or going toe to toe....better to die trying not that i think we will die trying by any means....

TWO:: The NRL by force lhas had to limit the amount of money it uses in areas where extra funds could make huge differences such as salary cap and assets ( contributos being media arrangements, historical mis management of funds ie league club money instead of growing the attendance, facilities, and members, streamlining operations)
The game has been more focused with placing shallow spending limits on itself instead of seeking ways of increasing income.

The whole conflict of interests, clubs being short sighted with leagues grants (when they should have been growing income too from fans), is all wrapped up in that.

Its a culture.

Meanwhile the AFL will own a stadium, approach 1b in revenue and pay their players more on average despite having more players than an nrl team.

NONE OF THAT MEANS rl will never be australia wide or big-time. You are mixing facts from a moment in time with the future perceptions and self limitations you have grown up with

This is rl. we are a team. there are great minds in the game right now, and the commission will recruit more, and anything is possible. RL has in fact a greater economical capacity than AFL, in that I believe AFL will max out soon around 1B, but RL has NSW and QLD australias two biggest states - plus the rest of australia to get to - AND nz, pacific region, so our economical capacity IS FAR LARGER.

Hold your head a little higher, theres a difference between "can't" and "I think I can't"

Its time to ask questions about how to do things and get results, instead of accepting our brains pre existing answers of defeat formed in your mind, not of actual reality itself.

BTW they can get a loan at a higher per centage, but only desparate people and idiots take on more interest than they have to

how much is on your credit card and how much do you save from your pay each week? or do you spend it all too? hypocrits

Give us people who can read reports properly!! come on guys

kbw

I am a little confused if you are replying to me.
Maybe my point was missed. I am not being pro Gallop or against Gallop or even commenting on Gallop.
More against the notion that expansion and corporatisation of RL are necessary and the misconception by journalists and fans that RL can expand out into non RL areas.

Also I don't really agree with the the idea that we should hit foxtel for millions more $s when all thats going to mean is that my foxtel subscription is going to increase and I don't want that in favour of RL players getting more money for a product that can't sustain the expenses

Maybe my point was missed. I am not being pro Gallop or against Gallop or even commenting on Gallop.
More against the notion that expansion and corporatisation of RL are necessary and the misconception by journalists and fans that RL can expand out into non RL areas.

Also I don't really agree with the the idea that we should hit foxtel for millions more $s when all thats going to mean is that my foxtel subscription is going to increase and I don't want that in favour of RL players getting more money for a product that can't sustain the expenses

paying players more money wont be the only benefit of more money

who said it would increase.

what makes you think that we cant grow the game - dont you think other cities deserve to enjoy rugby league. doesnt stop afl.

TheRam

These comments are a joke mate and since you made them so are you. What a Neanderthal.

In a Perth shopping Mall in the Northern suburbs yesterday I spotted; 2 Tigers tops, a Warriors top, 2 NSW SOO tshirts, a Brisbane top and a whole family in NQ gear, 2 St Helens tops, a Hull KR top and me in my Reds polo! I've never seen so much RL gear in a Perth centre before. Get the game on NAtional FTA, get NSW cup teams in from WA, SA and Darwin/PNG and lets have a realistic and well thought out expansion plan for the next 25 years.

re Gallop, he's a terrible CEO. He looks weak in front of the cameras, regularly talks the game down for no good reason and hasn;t had the balls or the personal fortitude to challenge the NRL board over bad decisions it is making for the game. Get rid.

Nuke

I quite often see League jerseys being worn around Perth, as well as teams logos / numberplate holders on cars as I drive around.

I do think any Perth-based NRL team would be a success as far as support goes over here. That being said, this has nothing to do with the topic, so I won't go any further!

I did enjoy this article. I would love to have seen this in The West Australian or in a Victorian newspaper, however I really don't think this will happen.

rickyg.01427

I live in the U.K and the NRL rules but we don't get a single game live or repeat. I have to watch all NRL games online in pretty sub-standard quality. NRL should be as big if not bigger than English Premier League and the NFL. I watch the games and it just baffles me that this sport is not massive the world over.

Sir Biffo

I live in the U.K and the NRL rules but we don't get a single game live or repeat. I have to watch all NRL games online in pretty sub-standard quality. NRL should be as big if not bigger than English Premier League and the NFL. I watch the games and it just baffles me that this sport is not massive the world over.

Dragonwest

In a Perth shopping Mall in the Northern suburbs yesterday I spotted; 2 Tigers tops, a Warriors top, 2 NSW SOO tshirts, a Brisbane top and a whole family in NQ gear, 2 St Helens tops, a Hull KR top and me in my Reds polo! I've never seen so much RL gear in a Perth centre before. Get the game on NAtional FTA, get NSW cup teams in from WA, SA and Darwin/PNG and lets have a realistic and well thought out expansion plan for the next 25 years.

re Gallop, he's a terrible CEO. He looks weak in front of the cameras, regularly talks the game down for no good reason and hasn;t had the balls or the personal fortitude to challenge the NRL board over bad decisions it is making for the game. Get rid.

Innaloo Fitness First (which would be one of the biggest gyms in the North Suburbs) is loaded with guys where league merch. Seriously more than AFL.

Cumberland Throw

just letting you know PR I always enjoy reading your comments, It is good to get a perspective from the other side of the continent... We do get a bit insular here in NSW, when I travel to SA WA or VIC it scares me how irrelevant NRL is in the locals minds...

A transparent National TV broadcast plan, and a thorough plan for the future expansion is needed badly

yeh its frustrating but the MASSIVE advantage we have is that we have places crying out for a team., and that's with no FTA TV and very little profile for the game here. What that tells me is that we have a hardcore 15,000 or so RL fans in Perth willing to pay to go to games. Build on that with a higher profile for the game by getting it on TV and getting more games here, getting the Reds in the NSW cup etc and the future looks very bright.

LRC

I work with some dyed in the wool victorians who love their AFL..its part of their life....but they are sports lovers also and don't have the us v them attitude.
They were raving about league today and the games yesterday.. (Roosters/Eels etc).
They are just starting to get into it and one of them has even said he prefers it to afl on tv.... they know the players and can't believe the like sof Hayne/Marshall/Carney and are starting note the workers and commenting on Myles etc.. (they talk roosters to me)...
It s good to see...Ive been planting seeds for a few years.

Its also noted that they seem to like the day time games (drier pitches, more ball movement and width etc)

We need more day time footy!!!

ALthough it was the Manly tigers game from alst eyar that really hooked them and thye backed it up again last monday.

They all seem to have adopted the tigers as their team..cant help that though.:)

Gippsy

Likewise, in country Victoria the dyed in the wool AFL supporters are starting to talk about league. The old timers are pissed that AFL is turning into running netball, and admire the toughness of league as well as the pace and the skill.

As a few have said, imagine what could happen if they showed the game on TV!!

TheRam

If Gallop wants to get any respect from the fans and show us that there is some merit in him having a position within the IC, then he needs to demand that channel 9 fulfills its contractual obligation and show the games at live or near live time slots in the other states.

Prove your mettle Gallop and fix this up NOW, as in within 2 weeks, or you can forget about having the fans on board with your proposed appointment as CEO under the board of the IC.

Stand up man and deliver to the people what is rightfully theirs. Show some balls and fight, you have the law on your side ffs and if anyone knows the law it should be you, you hoax.

FU*KEN DO IT!!! If you lose your job then tough, do your fiduciary duty and get on with it. I've had enough of this lame and bordering on traitorous behavior from inept and amateur administrators that are so called running our game.

FIX IT AND FIX IT NOW!!!

reptar

This is rl. we are a team. there are great minds in the game right now, and the commission will recruit more, and anything is possible. RL has in fact a greater economical capacity than AFL, in that I believe AFL will max out soon around 1B, but RL has NSW and QLD australias two biggest states - plus the rest of australia to get to - AND nz, pacific region, so our economical capacity IS FAR LARGER.

Not quite true. Victoria has a higher population than Queensland. NSW and Queensland together is ~ 50% of Australia's population, though.

If Gallop wants to get any respect from the fans and show us that there is some merit in him having a position within the IC, then he needs to demand that channel 9 fulfills its contractual obligation and show the games at live or near live time slots in the other states.

Prove your mettle Gallop and fix this up NOW, as in within 2 weeks, or you can forget about having the fans on board with your proposed appointment as CEO under the board of the IC.

Stand up man and deliver to the people what is rightfully theirs. Show some balls and fight, you have the law on your side ffs and if anyone knows the law it should be you, you hoax.

FU*KEN DO IT!!! If you lose your job then tough, do your fiduciary duty and get on with it. I've had enough of this lame and bordering on traitorous behavior from inept and amateur administrators that are so called running our game.

FIX IT AND FIX IT NOW!!!

Great call.

Nevermind 2012-13, fix this TV issue in Victoria now Gallop!!!

RL1908

It's interesting that the AFL brought Sheedy to Sydney to "talk up" AFL and the AFL's western suburbs franchise (as well as coach it), but his comments often don't seem to hit the target...for example...

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...n-sheedy-and-gws/story-e6frexnr-1225844982844

But it's a tough time for the Swans with attendances, sponsorship and membership down. Is there a danger they'll take some of the Swans' fans?

This is a decision that has been made that we wouldn't have made, but it's been made by an independent group of people. I understand what they're trying to do. What we're nervous with is the execution of it. We've been disappointed by Kevin Sheedy's comments. We just think they're completely disrespectful and I just don't understand the purpose of them.

What Sheedy comments upset you?

A lot about how the Swans have had it easy and Paul Roos is a sook and the sooner we put a third team in the better. It's crazy stuff. My advice to Kevin is one, go and buy a "Sydway", or two, understand the history of many of the locations that Melburnians would call western Sydney, like Campbelltown and Parramatta, that didn't pop up yesterday. There's a rich history there and I think the focus should be on the history of the region, not sledging a club that I think has done more than any other to grow the game. What Sheedy has said is not going to help the cause in Sydney one little bit.

Do you know Sheedy well? Have you spoken to him about this?

I know Kevin as everyone knows Kevin. Kevin is a larger-than-life figure. I haven't spoken to him and don't see it as my position. All I know is if Paul Roos was making those sorts of comments, and it's not Paul's style, I would privately speak to the chairman of the other club

...and the response from the AFL community is something along lines "don't believe everything he says"....for example...

GWS move to defuse Kevin Sheedy's junk talk

"Sheedy is a wag. A lot of what he says is with tongue in cheek," said Shepherd. "I'm not sure whether people in Sydney appreciate what a wag he is, but that's Sheedy and he is fantastic and he is a one-man machine. I've never met anybody with so much passion for Australian football as Kevin Sheedy has got. It's just part of the package with Sheeds and part of the attraction."

So, if I'm understanding this correctly - As well as being team coach, Sheedy is in Sydney to talk up AFL and the new AFL team, but, apparently, we're silly if we believe much of what he says.

m0nty

It's interesting that the AFL brought Sheedy to Sydney to "talk up" AFL and the AFL's western suburbs franchise (as well as coach it), but his comments often don't seem to hit the target...for example...

...and the response from the AFL community is something along lines "don't believe everything he says"....for example...

So, if I'm understanding this correctly - As well as being team coach, Sheedy is in Sydney to talk up AFL and the new AFL team, but, apparently, we're silly if we believe much of what he says.
Sheedy talks a humongous amount of crap. He has only gotten away with it in Victoria because he coaches for Essendon, who are a big rich club with good recruiting, and he's won flags. Non-Essendon supporters thought he was essentially harmless.

The problem in GWS is that he doesn't start with the respect of being a multiple flag winner, thus when he disrespects people like Hindmarsh, he doesn't get a free pass and people saying "Oh that Sheeds, he's just crazy." He could potentially put people offside who should be his supporters.

Having said that, the more he stokes the fires of Swans vs GWS rivalry, the better he's doing his job.