Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Magic Rd Tigers

Blood Shot Eyes

Tigers didn’t deserve to beat us, Parra didn’t deserve to beat us, Souths certainly didn’t deserve to beat us. But we deserved to lose each of those games.
Absolutely spot on ......unfortunately would've, should've could've just pure and simply doesn't cut it anymore .....
In short our points tally on the table at this point is 14 level with Dogs and Warriors......notice I didn't say would've could've should've

To me the biggest problem is all the school boy mistakes that were making. You cant coach out stupidity!! After Sua dropped the ball( um use 2 hands to ground the ball not one), we all stood still and watched someone who knew the rules pick it up and run the length of the field to score. Holmes for a few times now has lost the ball first tackle. Its this really basic stuff thats killing us. Every time we get near the opposition try line we make mistakes.
Secondly, the number of times we get penalised is dumbfounding. We trap them at their end then give away a penalty.
Like i said, this isnt coaching its knowing the basics and its been happening for years. So forget the smart ass moves Flanno and make them practise the basics for weeks on end then maybe they might learn.
Dont even get me started on incorrect play the balls- that should be a sin bin offence so the crowd can remind you of what a goose you are.
Its getting harder every year to support these guys because nothing seems to change. I might just stick to watching A grade- cheaper and a lot more fun

Mojo

Welcome to the forum, glad I could inspire a new person to join.

In answer to your question, I will stop once there is genuine improvement in this team.

I will stop once we have a board who runs this sporting club like a professional organisation.

I will stop once we have a proper back of house structure that cultivates success on the field.

I will stop once the nepotism from board down to head coach, disappears.

I will stop once our fellow supporters start demanding success and stop accepting mediocrity.
Is it any or all of the above? If it’s the latter, you could have just said that you will never stop.

since77

How does Sua drop the ball over the line cold as a spud?? Then how is that runaway try scored while we are standing around like stunned mullets? Dumbfounded!
I feel for S’ua as obviously he didn’t intend to lose the ball but FMD that was just such a “Dragons Footy” moment. That will go down along side the Brown passing the ball into someone’s head moment from the Storm game back in 2000.
Only the Dragons can produce moments like that.

KingFlanno7

Our season is cooked so we might as well try something like this but we all know Kyle won't get dropped but the knives are out on social media so if Flanno has any integrity his son will spend a few weeks in reserve grade with Illias.
1. Holmes
2. CT
3. Suli
4. Allan
5. Lawson
6. Gutho
7. LKT
8. Couchman
9. Liddle
10. Klemmer
11. Egan
12. Sua
13. Debelin
14. Cook
15. Stewart
16. Leilua
17. Loko

InFlannoWeTrust

Our season is cooked so we might as well try something like this but we all know Kyle won't get dropped but the knives are out on social media so if Flanno has any integrity his son will spend a few weeks in reserve grade with Illias.
1. Holmes
2. CT
3. Suli
4. Allan
5. Lawson
6. Gutho
7. LKT
8. Couchman
9. Liddle
10. Klemmer
11. Egan
12. Sua
13. Debelin
14. Cook
15. Stewart
16. Leilua
17. Loko
Not sure we were watching the same game mate. Though Kyle was one of our best. 2 line breaks , played both sides of the field! Best game he’s played this year I think.
And I definitely more players should get dropped before him

blacksafake

Will you ever stop? It's a footy team we all support, but for some reason you just want to shit down the neck of not only the coach, but also the others in this forum who try to find positives. I've read this forum for quite a while without posting just to keep up with how our fan base thinks, but your posts are the most miserable shit I've ever read. You also don't post after wins. Turn the frown upside down please.

Well said & welcome to the nut house.

SaintPeter

100% IFWT What you said :
Not sure we were watching the same game mate. Though Kyle was one of our best. 2 line breaks , played both sides of the field! Best game he’s played this year I think.
And I definitely more players should get dropped before him

Me too, I thought he was terrific. They, (him and LKT) were up against Laui (five GFs in a row) and the new wonder kid and they went well. Kicking game was much better than Illias and although not perfect, was sound.
The twelve point turn around was what killed us ,,, and the defence or lack of it from Sloan and Suli.
Leave Corey Allen in FG please.

Mojo

I’m done with this pathetic club. Hopefully warriors but 50 on us. If the players and coach don’t care why should we ??? Nothing has improved in 11 years. We’re the same incompetent mediocre club for over a decade. We need to remove the cancer Illawarra name from the once proud club. We’re doomed.
I‘ve always resisted the merger debate but I think I now have to agree. Endless expansion of the competition, endless rule changes, money, money, money….

I assume I can’t promote another website on this forum but if you Google ‘St George rugby league 1967’ and follow the top link you’ll see the details and history of what was a totally different club.

Born in ‘57, living in Kogarah, I grew up watching those Dragons sides and have remained faithful for at least 60 years.

I’m not conceding to doom, but we’re definitely not what we once were. Things have to evolve and grow for sure but a major part of rugby league is the club’s ‘identity’ and what it represents. I think it’s probably impossible to maintain for a body with two heads and I think this does find it’s way onto the field.

matPORTS

I was frustratingly on text last night with other fellow supporters. In fact, the frustration of supporting this club has broken me...

We should have thrown the chequebook at Terrell May when he came onto the market. I even said to Tiger supporting mates back at the time that he will be the buy of the season. Last night went a long way to proving this to be true. Did we put him on his back even once in a tackle?? He will be a big reason why the Tigers end up playing finals footy this year. He is a big reason at the moment why Galvin & Lui can basically go about doing whatever they want, and they have some dangerous outside backs to finish things off at the try line.

After the blunder on the stroke of half time (and we can easily write the script for this sort of sh** on any given day - it's the 'Dragons Way' isn't it)... I'm just about done !

I really starting to believe the notion - but prove me wrong... there is no one or nothing that can fix this club and make it great again. We will always be average. Never better than middle to lower road. On our absolute, best, peak performing season, we might scrape into 7th or 8th position. Other times, we'll be about a 9th to 16th place team (we don't even deserve a wooden spoon trophy that's how average we've become).

I don't even want to think about where we'd be right now had we not bought Gutho and Val Holmes. Sure, they made some errors last night, but they are forgiven because at least they have heart, are natural born winners, and give 110% whilst making those errors.

I understand we need to be patient with regards to our forwards - the Couchmans, Stewart, Egan, and hopefully the likes of LPT, Jett Liu, etc etc ... the club is in good hands here (but more on this issue in a moment). In terms of the experienced forwards:

Klemmer - I'll give him a tick because he had a decent crack last night, but is on borrowed time
Su'a - barring the blunder, yeah he should be kept (but can't shoulder all the load)
Leilua - he needs to step up, I don't see him in the game enough and needs to improve his fitness
JDB - time is coming to an end
Guler - rubbish signing... again, should have thrown the chequebook at May
Lawrie - enough has been said
Liddle - should start over Cook
Cook - needs to come on as the impact 9... not sure if we can have him & Liddle on field same time.

Some notes on the backs:

Sloan - back to reserve grade, Tui, Sione, Lawson, Feagai, Ramsey (if all fit) are better options
Suli - same deal as Leilua.. needs to step up and be seen more in the games and continue improving his fitness
Allan - probably needs more time to settle back into first grade but I have some hope for the former origin star
LKT - can't wait to see how this guy develops, loved his first try assist
Flanno Jnr - I don't know what other options we have until Atkinson comes along, it's him or Ilias

Our issue is going to be holding onto our crop of young players. Finau Latu has already been head hunted. I'm worried about...

1. Our ability to hold onto our young and up & comers
2. Our ability to recruit the experience we need from outside the club

...due to the expansion teams coming in over the next 3-4 seasons. Looking at our inability to recruit over the last handful of seasons, I feel we are already irrelevant.

Our new CEO has no time to settle in and his feet need to get immediately wet under the desk on immediately hiring an experienced General Manager of Football or at least someone solely focused on Recruitment/Retention & Salary Cap/List Management. Flanno can't keep doing all of this himself. He's already just about squeezed all the juice out of the lemon that is our entire footballing department.

I don't know what else can be said? Last night will basically paint the picture of our entire season & even future as a club, if things don't start improving from top to bottom inside the footballing department.

Trifili13

That try we let in for Staines was pathetic. Suli turned his back facing our goal line and had no idea where the ball or their players were. And Sloan's effort to tackle Staines was woeful. Any competent footballer would have put him in the 3rd row of the grandstand with only minimum use of the shoulder instead of piss weak jumper grabbing. While Sloan might have speed, he is simply not first grade standard, or one that any team with aspirations to be regularly in the semis would pick.

Su'A's no try was simply Dragon's footy. Looked like he knocked the ball out of his own hands with his knee or thigh as he started to crouch down to score.

KogarahWarrior

Honestly, it was about time that Sua dropped the ball over the line and learnt his lesson. So many of his tries that he’s scored he’s barely been gripping the ball for whatever reason and almost had a few taken off him. This’ll finally teach him I hope.

redVbull

I feel for S’ua as obviously he didn’t intend to lose the ball but FMD that was just such a “Dragons Footy” moment. That will go down along side the Brown passing the ball into someone’s head moment from the Storm game back in 2000.
Only the Dragons can produce moments like that.
Flanno's pass over Sloan and into touch worth a mention... a Jamie Soward-Brett Morris combo this aint!

R&WTILLIDIE

Honestly, it was about time that Sua dropped the ball over the line and learnt his lesson. So many of his tries that he’s scored he’s barely been gripping the ball for whatever reason and almost had a few taken off him. This’ll finally teach him I hope.
Mate. I reckon anyone in the world can hold a ball and fall onto the ground with it. And 999,999 times out of 1,000,000 your knee will not dislodge the ball out of your hands. Not to mention the fact that the other team picked the ball up and scored at the other end of the field is almost impossible to happen. This is deadset the worst blunder I’ve ever seen on a footy field. And it can only happen to the dragons.