Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Makes me sick!

brokendigit

If NSW had decent selectors I believe they would of at least won ONE series out of the last 6. Still can't believe they picked Pearce in game 3 in 08.

I don't think it would've made the slightest difference who NSW picked.
Due to Melbourne's Salary Cap rorting, and the brilliant combinations that came as a result - no NSW team was/is ever going to match them.
State of Origin won't be a level playing field until QLD aren't reaping the rewards of the combos that Waldren/Bellamy have built.

Hutty1986

I don't think it would've made the slightest difference who NSW picked.
Due to Melbourne's Salary Cap rorting, and the brilliant combinations that came as a result - no NSW team was/is ever going to match them.
State of Origin won't be a level playing field until QLD aren't reaping the rewards of the combos that Waldren/Bellamy have built.

Cheating the cap aside, NSW have a red-hot chance this year & probably should have won the series last year. Anyone who thinks the Blues can't win it this year is kidding themselves.

Drew-Sta

I personally don't give a flying, and pray Soward doesn't get picked.

This.

I have NFI why Saints supporters want our players in Origin. After it devestated our efforts last year to go back to back, I would be ever so happy for Saints to NEVER field another Origin player again.

FFS, it's disruptive to the squad, injury-inducing, mentally and physically taxing, requires players to play additional games, requires time away from training, results in players salaries jumping etc etc etc.

Origin is a cancer to the NRL season. It should be played AFTER the f**king regular season and as a preliminary to the Test series. The fact it isn't is because the sport is being run for money.

TheRev

Watching Ricky Stuart on NRL show last night, sounded like he had a lot of his players already selected, and watch out because he specifically made mention of:

- The 3 StGeorge Props all going well at the moment (like we need 3 props chosen.. srsly)
- Origin Players who are proven Origin Players, regardless of talent, and he mentioned explicittely Scott & Creagh (If Scott gets picked that'll do me!).
- Soward was not mentioned, obviously there are a tonne of half options this year.

AceAv

I'd tip Soward 6 for certain. He isn't any Lockyer, but plays well and has experience. 7 will be Carney or Wallace depending. For my teams sake hope its drongo!

Those who say they don't care about origin, but care about NRL are liars who are trying to convince themselves they "don't care" because their team has lost 6 series straight! (I'd do the same). Origin one of is the most awesome sporting spectacles to come out of Australia every year, even non NRL fans will make exceptions and watch these games. It's the best vs the best for its brutal hits, scintillating tries and extreme athleticism. You don't see this quality of game in many other codes.

I agree there's some controversy over the time-slot for it. As a Bronco fan we suffered the worst of it. But a good team is a team that has depth and can win games despite having 4+ stars injured/resting. SOO is just another test for not only the stars, but the players who have to step up in their absence. So I don't think we'll see it played in the off season anytime soon.

Godz Illa

Those who say they don't care about origin, but care about NRL are liars who are trying to convince themselves they "don't care" because their team has lost 6 series straight! (I'd do the same).
Nope. Didn't care even when the blue team were winning all the time. My team trumps all that shit. I hope they don't get picked, and if they do I hope they don't get injured.

Father Ted

Those who say they don't care about origin, but care about NRL are liars who are trying to convince themselves they "don't care" because their team has lost 6 series straight! (I'd do the same)

I know your average Queenslander can't comprehend it . But SOO bores me sh#tless. BTW Calling people liars is always a stupid thing to do as there are as many opinions as there are people. Am i right in guessing your young and a Queenslander?

RedVDave

Meh I am always happy for the players when they get selected as it is warranted/reward for good club form.

But at the end of the day I would prefer they stay away from SOO it's a curse, I mean I am sure any Cowboys supporter would have rathered lost the Origin than Thurston for an extended period of time, as they could have cracked the a top 4 spot in all probability.

Lovemedragons

This.

I have NFI why Saints supporters want our players in Origin. After it devestated our efforts last year to go back to back, I would be ever so happy for Saints to NEVER field another Origin player again.

FFS, it's disruptive to the squad, injury-inducing, mentally and physically taxing, requires players to play additional games, requires time away from training, results in players salaries jumping etc etc etc.

Origin is a cancer to the NRL season. It should be played AFTER the f**king regular season and as a preliminary to the Test series. The fact it isn't is because the sport is being run for money.

Melbourne and Brisbane seem to cope with it. What do we do wrong?

Saint69

Melbourne and Brisbane seem to cope with it. What do we do wrong?
We haven't done too much wrong except have lots of players in SOO recently which is mentally and physically taxing and our players did not seem to come back the same after last years series,Bennett said it and the players said it,no excuses just the way it is/was.As for Brisbane well they have had more success than any other team since their inception so you could argue they have managed SOO pretty well,though you would find that in certain seasons they never recovered due to supplying up to or more than half the Queensland squad even though being the only team in Sth EAst Queensland hasn't hurt them too much,having the pick of the talent and better depth to cover positions.Melbourne seem to have a great setup down there under Bellyache,though you can't count them as being successful as far as premierships go recently due to a slight salary cap problem and if they cop a few injuries to key players IE Smith and Cronk they will struggle as well.

This Year?

I'd tip Soward 6 for certain. He isn't any Lockyer, but plays well and has experience. 7 will be Carney or Wallace depending. For my teams sake hope its drongo!

Those who say they don't care about origin, but care about NRL are liars who are trying to convince themselves they "don't care" because their team has lost 6 series straight! (I'd do the same). Origin one of is the most awesome sporting spectacles to come out of Australia every year, even non NRL fans will make exceptions and watch these games. It's the best vs the best for its brutal hits, scintillating tries and extreme athleticism. You don't see this quality of game in many other codes.

I agree there's some controversy over the time-slot for it. As a Bronco fan we suffered the worst of it. But a good team is a team that has depth and can win games despite having 4+ stars injured/resting. SOO is just another test for not only the stars, but the players who have to step up in their absence. So I don't think we'll see it played in the off season anytime soon.

I personally would much rather see Saints win a premiership (even a MP) over a Blues series win.

Origin changed for me as soon as they started moving it to Melbourne. One of Australia's greatest sporting rivalries became a marketing tool for the NRL. Each of our states lose a home game every second series just to keep the News Ltd expansionists happy. The ARL should be ashamed of themselves.

nrlnrl

Watching Ricky Stuart on NRL show last night, sounded like he had a lot of his players already selected, and watch out because he specifically made mention of:

- The 3 StGeorge Props all going well at the moment (like we need 3 props chosen.. srsly)
- Origin Players who are proven Origin Players, regardless of talent, and he mentioned explicittely Scott & Creagh (If Scott gets picked that'll do me!).
- Soward was not mentioned, obviously there are a tonne of half options this year.

This is what people should be paying attention to, not the stream of "pick Soward" from Ben Hornby or "pick Ennis" from Des Hasler quotes. Nothing against these guys, but the media will ask players or coaches from clubs where contenders are & of course they will vouch for their players & give the media an easy headline.

For the first Origin game this year :
- the Dragons will have 2 props in the squad, Merrin & Weyman ( James Tamou from the Cowboys is the bolter if his eligibility is cleared )

- barring injuries or suspensions to about 5 or 6 players, Soward will not be picked

- Morris' chances depend on the fitness of Dugan, Hayne & Uate who are the first choices for the back 3.

- Scott is down the order for back rowers, but his chances depend on the fitness of Greg Bird, Glenn Stewart & Tony Williams, plus what position the selectors want Gallen to play. I realise Williams is not injured, but his match fitness is the concern. Watmough & Lewis are also ahead of Scott in the pack, but he's in the mix for the bench because of his utility value. Kurt Gidley's injury status will have an impact there. ( Ben Creagh is a longshot if injuries & suspensions force players like Learoyd-Lahrs out of contention )

I don't agree with all the players listed, but Ricky Stuart ( like all coaches ) has his favourites & 3 examples of these are Bird, Gidley & Hayne who he wants in his squad.

Being selfish from a Dragons club perspective, as few as possible would obviously improve our chances against the Raiders & Rabbitohs when Origin players are ineligible in the short term & then in the "post Origin" period when players suffer mental & physical fatigue.

gypsy

my money is on Hayne not making the side. I reckon Stuart was just covering himself on Nrl on Fox. He gets a lot of hate from eels fans, and was thought to have a grudge against the Hayne Pain. Last year he said he woudnt pick Hayne on the wing as he wasn't a winger.
Morris and Uate to get the nod.

dougieswim

Wallace at 7 is a shoe in. With the media beat up about Carney, it will be him in 6 unless Soward absolutley runs riot over him tonight, as the NSW selectors i think listen to people like the idiot Danny Weidler for the origin positions more then watching actual games. Hence why Hayne will be in there as well.

If the NSW selectors picked on form, Morris at full back and Hayne on the wing would be the better option.

A sneaky / bolter for the forwards could be Gerringong boy Tariq Sims.

Nah morris should be in the centres

Morris, Jennings, Cooper, Other Morris

No wait cooper retired from rep footy...

uate probably gets in...both Morris's in the centres then.

Soward 5/8, Wallace half..Carney left out so that he can play for us when Gallen isn't there doing everything.

I agree with the dude who said he dosnt want his players picked.
origin. whatever

TheRev

Im kinda of spewing to see 2 or 3 of our props picked though, I mean theyre going decent 4-5 games into the season, and suddenly they are shoe-ins for Origin.. id rather them show some consistent form for the dragons first, none of Weyman/Merrin/Hunt have put a consistent season or half-season together in years.

Merrin gets in. so does weyman

thing with the props is gallen will be one of em and play 80.

so, Snowden, Merrin, Weyman...Gallen as props.

Watmong, Bird and Creagh as backrowers.