Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 1 vs Warriors @ Mt Smart Stadium

Who will win? Round 1: Warriors v Knights

K-Man

The Warriors are slow starters - might just be a sneaky chance this weekend.

We're $5.50 in the head to head. That's generous even accounting for last season. The team looks better on paper and backed that up in the trial. Of course I still think the Warriors will probably get the win, but I reckon $5.50 is overs and I've already jumped on it. Come on boys.

shiznit

Originally when this game was announced I thought this was a real danger game for the Warriors as you guys have pointed out that they are notorious slow starters...

But there's something about the way they have been this summer under Kearney... from what I've heard from around the squad I think Kearney circled round 1 vs the Knights as the biggest game of the season and they are focusing heavily on it.

I could be wrong... and I often am... but I think you blokes could be in for a pounding this weekend.

Having said that... I'm real interested in seeing how you guys go... I wish you well... I think you guys are going to surprise everyone this season...

SQUAD vs Warriors:

1. Dylan Phythian
2. Ken Sio
3. Dane Gagai
4. Peter Mata'utia
5. Nathan Ross
6. Brock Lamb
7. Trent Hodkinson
8. Daniel Saifiti
9. Danny Levi
10. Josh Starling
11. Sione Mata'utia
12. Jamie Buhrer
13. Mitch Barnett

Interchange:

14. Luke Yates
15. Jack Stockwell
16. Sam Stone
17. Jacob Saifiti

18. Brendan Elliot
19. Tyler Randell
20. Josh King
21. Anthony Tupou

Hardcore_Fan

Under the new rules a 21 man team has to be named on Tuesday then a 19 man team 24 hours before kick off and the 17 man team 1 hour before KO

Pedge1971

I just want respect. Cannot see us winning but hey I tipped India 4-0 in the cricket too!

The performance rather than the result means a lot in this one.

Mr_Knightside

I just want respect. Cannot see us winning but hey I tipped India 4-0 in the cricket too!

The performance rather than the result means a lot in this one.

Me too mate, and to me the Australian cricket team was a much longer shot at winning a test match in India than the Knights at winning an 80 minute footy game.

To be honest I think this is probably the best round 1 opponent we could have hoped for. A team that perennially under achieves and starts slowly every year with a couple of their big name players out and a couple more under injury clouds. With all the pressure on them to perform this year and they're at home so everyone will expect them to win too.

Our attitude at the back end of the game will tell us a lot. It'll be easy for the boys to fire up for the first 20-30 mins but if we're down at half time and the score blows out on us in the second half then I'll be concerned. I know that the first few rounds can always be tough to read into but it's so important for our club to exhibit a better on field attitude to what we've seen over the last few years. We've gotta stop taking the soft option and work harder even when the chips are down.

Knight76

Our attitude at the back end of the game will tell us a lot. It'll be easy for the boys to fire up for the first 20-30 mins but if we're down at half time and the score blows out on us in the second half then I'll be concerned.

Especially considering our team is meant to be in the best fitness starting a comp in a long time. There should not be a fatigue factor as an excuse.

We must start well in this one. 1st game back after a disastrous last year we don't need to go behind by a try or two early and have the heads drop.

Burwood

Head dropping happened a lot last year. One try against us in the opening minutes quickly turned into 2 or 3. It's hard to fight back from 22-0 after only 20 minutes.

It would have been very interesting to see what would have happened in the trial against Canberra if Phythian didn't force the error from their winger as he dived for the corner in the opening 90 seconds.

Dont think it would have much difference at all.they look mentally alot stronger,you could barely fault our defence that all that mattered out of that game and they are one of the best foward packs .we can bet a few of the lower rung teams like st george.

we will give them a spanking and after 4 rounds we will; be undefeated and on top of the ladder........