Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 17 vs Wests Tigers @ McDonald Jones Stadium

Who will win? Round 17: Knights v Wests Tigers

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Old dog

Went to the game today, was right up the front right next to the action.

Nothing I can add that hasn't already been said.

Unbelievable the lack of urgency and intensity we had coming into a game that was meant to be 'our grand final'. This is the most dissapointed I've ever been after a Knights loss. There isn't much else to say.
?????? Did you say something?

Hardcore_Fan

We currently have quite a few potential players in our u/20, so the talents on hand, they need to be nurtured and developed and then we are not so dependant on outside/expensive buys we just need to give them time and develop them. We have 4 prop Fwds in u/20 that all show prospect and have size as well as youth which equals time to develop, we need a couple of v/good props to show them how

for as long as I have supported this club it always seems we have heaps of promising players in the lower grades. Nothing ever eventuates. Screw our juniors, they are all shit. We need to buy up heaps of stock from outside the club. There might be some good ones in the under 16s though. Time will tell.

Old dog

for as long as I have supported this club it always seems we have heaps of promising players in the lower grades. Nothing ever eventuates. Screw our juniors, they are all shit. We need to buy up heaps of stock from outside the club. There might be some good ones in the under 16s though. Time will tell.
Not thinking they will be the be all end all, but if we buy 3-6. Top players every so often then some of the juniors will develop and fill the void

Pedge1971

No but it can turn a plodder into a goer

No. Their spine is brilliant and they have 2 or 3 other guns. The rest ate either kids who admittedly they bring through faultlessly or plodders who Bellamy knows well and can fill a specific role in a very disciplined mannner. Latter is Rochow...

Frederick

Correct Buhrer is one of our better players. I don't see his role being restricted to 15 minute appearances as a bench hooker.

I see the 2018 plan as:

8. Graham
9. Levi
10. Dan Saifiti
11. Sione
12. Guerra
13. Buhrer

14. Ese'ese
15. Jacob Saifiti
16. Barnett
17. Wardle

With Barnett playing lock, and Buhrer spending 15 mins at hooker at some point.
Following all his injuries this year I'm not sure if I would take a chance on graham...seems really risky at this point

Knightmare

Geez that was a depressing read mate...but totally called for. Things couldn't be more screwed but you'll still be a rock solid Knights fan and so will the rest of us but that's probably the saddest and hardest part of all. This definitely has to be to a new low though I'd reckon... it's gonna make it that much sweeter for us strugglers when we come good though brother

When do we "come good" though?

If the NRL cared as much about the continued success of the Knights as they do about the continued success of the Broncos, Souths and the Roosters then I'd believe the good times were just around the corner. All bias aside, you bet the NRL should care that much about this team, considering the players this region has contributed to the game. Newcastle's loss is their loss.

This club has no ambition to be in the top 4. Even the Tigers and Titans aim for that. The aim of this club is just to not finish last, and they can't even manage that.

Hardcore_Fan

Newcastle isn't a loss at all. We contribute jack shit in the grand scheme
of things. If we were to fold tomorrow, we wouldn't be missed.

Caped Crusader

Not true mate, our juniors are always full of rep quality players

Problem is, they all sign with other clubs before getting anywhere near our nrl team

TooheysNew

When do we "come good" though?

If the NRL cared as much about the continued success of the Knights as they do about the continued success of the Broncos, Souths and the Roosters then I'd believe the good times were just around the corner. All bias aside, you bet the NRL should care that much about this team, considering the players this region has contributed to the game. Newcastle's loss is their loss.

This club has no ambition to be in the top 4. Even the Tigers and Titans aim for that. The aim of this club is just to not finish last, and they can't even manage that.
You really think the club doesnt want to win? What?

slotmachine

Boyd Cordner - shit situation
Josh Jackson - not from Newcastle, played one year for knights juniors
Latrell Mitchell - never played for knights juniors, didn't make the team
Greg Bird - shit situation, anyone know why he left for Sharks? Money?
Aiden Tolman - never played for knights juniors
Willie Mason - never played for knights juniors, didn't make the team
Michael Ennis - played first grade, only left cause he was behind Bedsy