Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 20 vs Cowboys @ Leichhardt Oval

Who will win? Round 20: Wests Tigers v Cowboys

• North Queensland Cowboys 13+

M-ski is still a step up on the slug Jennings, I thought all the boys played well last night while the WT line speed was evident from the kick off which was a great sign.

WT Unity

The fox commentary are calling that disallowed try a try, but I called it straight away not only was Mbye held up Brooks was in a position to cover the next man and allow Mbye to release. It was a definite obstruction as far as I’m concerned.

I was watching on 9 (unfortunately) and the commentary team of Fatty, JT and Joey all called no try. After the game they asked Fittler who calmly explained the decision, indicated a knowledge of the current obstruction rule and the interpretation of when the obstruction holds up the next man in the D line. He seems to be the only one there who actually takes time and researches the facts.
The others (Fat-Head I think) said things like..."Brooks is a mile away it's a Gee Up" but clearly the knock on effect of Mbye having to hold ground and plant his feet because of what happens inside him negatively effects their opportunity to defend the play. The block runner simply can't run to the outside shoulder and stop in the line.
It was a correct ruling!

That was a great win. I don't think we were as good as we can be but who cares.

Our halves are unreal. Brooks and Benji are leading the team all over the park. Robbie threatened from dummy half and that was great.

Our middle forwards are going great. Aloiai is a weapon. He continually takes the toughest hit-ups and get us going forward.

Our centres were also good. Marsters had a good game and Mbye is starting to look dangerous in defence and attack. Nofo has been playing well for a while but Momo coming in and doing the job was huge for us.

WT Unity

Brooks - 1 line break, 2 try assists, 2 tackle breaks, 2 line break assists, 15/16 tackles, 276 kick metres. NO errors.

The little fellas growing up:joy:

Did anybody else think Benji was MOM last night....Because that's who channel 9 gave it to.
Don't get me wrong I love Benji but he was not MOM last night. Probably wouldn't have been in my top 3.
When he saw Fittler walking toward him in the shed after the game envelope in hand Benji said "That can't be for me...who decided it" - Fittler answered "Joey"!
Seriously - I don't know what they are watching sometimes!

Perth Tiger

I missed that ..Which minute ? Benji prob contradicted his call...Now Benji knows whose boss. I saw Mbye go off at a poor play when he was at. the bulldogs
Can't remember, some time in the first half between the first and second tries I think.

I don't think it was major, basically both trying to push each other out of the way at dummy half after a quick play the ball.

Benji won the push and shove though.

Ron's_Mate

Something stinks at the cowgirls. They have the best pack in the comp, and a not too shabby backline. Maybe they should have kept the great man todd payton instead of letting him leave in 2017!
It was a great win, but the cowgirls put in a reserve grade performance. In the press conference after the game Paul Green was having a sook about the two disallowed tries, claiming that made his boys lose confidence.

leaguelegend21

It was a great win, but the cowgirls put in a reserve grade performance. In the press conference after the game Paul Green was having a sook about the two disallowed tries, claiming that made his boys lose confidence.

Paul Green, who has a colour for a last name, is the biggest sook in the NRL bar none.

He is a terrible coach that road the coattails of a brilliant roster, and his lack of talent is there for all to see.

It won’t be too long before he is picking up empties at Townsville Casino.

Thought Mbye was good but there was a point we’re Mbye and Benji was basically fighting at dummy half which I found interesting.
Just watching the replay, it was in the 14th minute (first half) Robbie had just had a scoot, Benji was there (and possibly had called a play) when Moses came over to take over the dummy half, a small disagreement I don't think it was much. But well spotted.

Tiger Ted

That was a great win. I don't think we were as good as we can be but who cares.

Our halves are unreal. Brooks and Benji are leading the team all over the park. Robbie threatened from dummy half and that was great.

Our middle forwards are going great. Aloiai is a weapon. He continually takes the toughest hit-ups and get us going forward.

Our centres were also good. Marsters had a good game and Mbye is starting to look dangerous in defence and attack. Nofo has been playing well for a while but Momo coming in and doing the job was huge for us.
The epitomy of the teams never say die efforts & admirable competitiveness as the season has progressed. is the resurrection of Nofa.Geez it’s a relief to have an exceptional coach & person in control of the team.

Pezz70

I’m like a kid in a candy store when I’m at the 8th wonder & we win & consequently we r suddenly a genuine chance to play finals footy

I’ll call us genuine if we can knock Manly over. Having a look at the dressing room footage last night you can see something brewing. One thing about us this year is that our completion rate has more often than not been pretty good, we’ve had the odd shit game, but to go along with that our execution is improving. Defence is the same we’ve had a couple of off games but it is showing signs. If we can bring the right tigers team every week we might make the finals. If we make it the game changes.

Tiger Ted

I’ll call us genuine if we can knock Manly over. Having a look at the dressing room footage last night you can see something brewing. One thing about us this year is that our completion rate has more often than not been pretty good, we’ve had the odd shit game, but to go along with that our execution is improving. Defence is the same we’ve had a couple of off games but it is showing signs. If we can bring the right tigers team every week we might make the finals. If we make it the game changes.
We r a deadset chance at Brooky coz unlike the exhilarating atmosphere our fans bring to the 8th wonder manly wont attract a crowd on a thur nite.

Pezz70

We r a deadset chance at Brooky coz unlike the exhilarating atmosphere our fans bring to the 8th wonder manly wont attract a crowd on a thur nite.
Manly are playing great footy with a lot of confidence atm, Turbo is too hot to touch. I think Parker the centre is playing good footy on the back of a confident team but I also think he is their greatest vulnerability in defence. Their back three are big units who post good metres coming out of the 20, they’re gonna be hard to stop

Tiger Ted

Manly are playing great footy with a lot of confidence atm, Turbo is too hot to touch. I think Parker the centre is playing good footy on the back of a confident team but I also think he is their greatest vulnerability in defence. Their back three are big units who post good metres coming out of the 20, they’re gonna be hard to stop
Turbo is due to tear a hamstring!