Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 6 vs Wests Tigers @ Campbelltown Sports Stadium, Leumeah / Dharawal

Who will win? Round 6: Wests Tigers v Newcastle

• Wests Tigers 13+

• Wests Tigers 1-12

• Newcastle Knights 1-12

Votes: 2 40.0%
  • Newcastle Knights 13+

Votes: 3 60.0%

Pezz70

They won the second half at least…
Tigers clocked off with 10 to go, up until the 70th minute tigers had missed only 16 tackles, missed 18 in the last 10, and the try that got knights to 10 was due to an absolute brain fart from a tigers player. I was disappointed in Sandon Smith today he had been playing well, has a good kicking game but didn’t take advantage of the wind in the second half at all. The two Fletcher’s were knights best and McEwen and Crossland were good.

He's actually been very rocks or diamonds so far this season. When he gets it right, he has a lot of talent to make things happen... but his defence is awful and it seems like he has a tendency to go completely missing at times/for whole games.

I'm honestly really split on whether it should be him or Harrison Graham on the bench when we're fully fit. Graham has been an absolute dynamo from the bench.

Yosh

Deflating loss. I reckon Best would have stopped 3 of their tries. He is so good defensively. Hunt is going to develop into a good player but has far too many mistakes in his game. Probably would have conceded 2 tries less if we had Ponga.

Sandon has been so good for us. However, when we have everyone fit, he has to make way for Graham. The Crossland Graham combo is fantastic.

Gagai does well when the team is going well but has some clangers in him when we need to him be the clam head.

McEwen is slowly turning into my favorite Knights player.

On to next week! Is Brown back next week?

SamSepi0l

He's actually been very rocks or diamonds so far this season. When he gets it right, he has a lot of talent to make things happen... but his defence is awful and it seems like he has a tendency to go completely missing at times/for whole games.

I'm honestly really split on whether it should be him or Harrison Graham on the bench when we're fully fit. Graham has been an absolute dynamo from the bench.
Graham 14, Sandon 19

Jono078

Was there too much pressure on Sandon to do the organizing and kicking yesterday? Fletcher Sharpe was really quiet.

Comes with the territory at halfback and he didnt handle it all that well. Sandon needs to go back to being second fiddle I think and for me thats best done at 14 like originally planned. Where that leaves Graham who has been fantastic is the stickler.

I think its easy to forget that Sharpe is still playing injured and its going to take time for him to be back to 100%

Grandpa Joe

Boys have been reading into their hype too much
Either us or the Tigers was going to get a massive reality check sadly us, WDC and Hunt(does good things but under highball and other basic errors.) both need a long stint in cup to work on the basics.

3 sets in what 20 minutes was one of the craziest things I've seen, I doubt that will happen to us again this year, after that we were just gassed.

I am sure others have stated that WDC should have been hooked after 20.......

Hopelly Dbags is back this week.

Woosh

Head Moderator
A couple takeaways from the game..

It felt very similar to Newcastle’s matches towards the back end of last season when they were leaking points.
The right edge was exposed once Dane shifted to fullback.
Prior to that, Newcastle had been one of the better defensive sides.
It really shows how important Bradman and Dane are to the edge defence.

For all the praise Holbrook’s been getting, his tactics yesterday were poor.
Kicking into the wind you’ve got to keep it low.
I’ve got no idea why Sandon and Fletcher were putting up floaters.

Newcastle were starved of possession in the first half but when they finally did get some good ball, they went left both times.
Not sure what the thinking was.. maybe targeting Herbert who hasn’t played NRL for a while but Newcastle have been scoring down the right for fun this year.
It might’ve been a case of Justin overthinking it.

Not getting the hate for Dane this game.
He was one of the few who physically matched it with Wests and along with Jermaine were 2 of Newcastle’s best yesterday.

Not getting the hate for Dane this game.
He was one of the few who physically matched it with Wests and along with Jermaine were 2 of Newcastle’s best yesterday.
I love his physicality for sure but its his dumb errors when the pressure is turned up that vexes me and i think many others. Twice he threw forward passes to Dom when a cooler head would have held back.

Woosh

Head Moderator
I must have missed the second forward pass as I went out for a smoke..need to watch the match again but the first forward pass wasn’t forward.
Fox panned to Holbrook in the coaches box and you can see him mouthing off “that wasn’t forward”

Woosh

Head Moderator
You can see the ball angling toward Newcastle’s try line.
The touchie turning his head in that direction as well

Attachments

• 17cdd6c4-21bf-4ea0-934e-3f5f692d831f.jpeg
    17cdd6c4-21bf-4ea0-934e-3f5f692d831f.jpeg
    326.8 KB · Views: 9

Speedy Gonzales

Commiserations Knights fans, you guys had been playing some good footy prior to yesterdays game, and it always sucks being brought back down to earth (we’ve all had it at some point)

You guys still have Ponga, Best and Brown to come back. Good days ahead for your lot, just yesterday wasn’t your day

best of luck for the rest of the season 🤞

Commiserations Knights fans, you guys had been playing some good footy prior to yesterdays game, and it always sucks being brought back down to earth (we’ve all had it at some point)

You guys still have Ponga, Best and Brown to come back. Good days ahead for your lot, just yesterday wasn’t your day

best of luck for the rest of the season 🤞
Yeah we're still going to have some clangers in us - the roster is a bit unbalanced at the moment. Thanks though mate, and good luck to your mob too - much prefer you blokes have a ripper year than seeing the usual suspects thieving oxygen at the top. Sadly you left us with an injured Lucas and Friz... so not much sun shining on us today. We can't take a trick injury wise, but for sure we're headed in the right direction.