Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

mateo

fish eel

I hear Mark Riddell is pretty unhappy because he didnt realise he'd have to cross O'Connell St to get to a maccas

True EEL

well colonel,

believe it or not i also bite my tongue about many of the things said on here at times ;-) and maybe just maybe i wasn't wrong???? ;-)

fish eel said:
I hear Mark Riddell is pretty unhappy because he didnt realise he'd have to cross O'Connell St to get to a maccas

:lol: :lol: it's nice to know you have a sence of humour after the weekend Fishy. ;-)

True EEL said:
well colonel,

believe it or not i also bite my tongue about many of the things said on here at times ;-) and maybe just maybe i wasn't wrong???? ;-)

You believe what you want.

True EEL

The Colonel said:
True EEL said:
well colonel,

You believe what you want.

i certainly will believe what i want....always have and always will, just like i always make my decisions based on my own thoughts and not others

Pazza

fish eel said:

He can develop his step trying to get pass all those cars!

GAME FIRST

fish eel said:
whens Kimmorleys signing being announced Game First?

*edit - I need a source, especially if you start naming names, and if you are unwilling to give it I can't allow it *

Whenever i have info that is from my source, its 100% correct and i am happy to share it without revealing names! and will continue to do so.

Freak

I always hear people labelling Smith as being too stringent and too structured, but how do you explain our 2001 season???

I believe Smith attempts to hold players back to a certain degree (especially in 2002) where he did not want us to peak too soon :roll:

But once he sees our side playing with confidence (which is the key ingredient to any successful football side) I think he gives all his players an open licence to be creative and to enjoy their football.

In saying this we have not played with confidence or joy since probably round 1 2002!!

Would be great to see the boys enjoy their footy once again in 2005!!!

Utey

That is exactly right. Seriously look at Rd1 2001 and then Rd20 2001 there are big differences in our game. I think as Freak said you cant provide game plans when your team is low on confidence. This is seen through Arthur Katina's takeover as souths head coach. His first game against Melbourne was won 28-26 and the game play was simple which allowed them to win the game. Look for Smith to want to peek around the middle of the season and hence hit the finals on a roll. I would be right in saying to many times this year the players were unable to stick to their given game plan because we had been sought out by our opposition. But Smith has leeway in the players at his disposal.

yy_cheng

believe Smith attempts to hold players back to a certain degree (especially in 2002) where he did not want us to peak too soon

But once he sees our side playing with confidence (which is the key ingredient to any successful football side) I think he gives all his players an open licence to be creative and to enjoy their football.

Freak, I believe he holds them back to reduce the error rate. In 2001, our team was full of confidence. We passed the ball at will from our tryline to the opposition's.

After 2001, we started getting the dropseys. e.g. 2 yrs back Ryan kept on dropping the ball and we were all bagging him and now he is captain of the premiers, this year, Wise and some of our Forwards had the dropseys as well.

So Smith had to fix this and told them (my guess) to reduce the error count by holding the ball and taking the tackle (Widders for one I believe unloaded less than he did in prior years).

Which was probably unnatural for some of our players and sort of stifled them.

Of course there were many other problems for our bad results e.g. discipline, fitness, players out of position, etc.

Well, that's my 2 bob's worth.

Utey

Probably the biggest factor of why our backs never recieved much ball. Most likely because Smith was scared our defense wasnt to secure enough to continaully defend repeated sets of 6. Wagon knows how to pass but was told not to. Its pretty logical.

stuke

smith did turn our club around...lets face it we went through over a decade where there was no improvement and very few juniors coming through.

but maybe this is where his talents lie and by the time he has made the clubs he is at successful and operational again his ideas and structure have become stale and need new input from others. it wasn't that long ago that coaches moved on after 3-4 seasons as they believed that they had imparted all they could to benefit the team in that timeframe.

2001 he changed the style of the game-players attacked from everywhere on the field, kicks were used as an attacking weapon (but not our only way to score tries)and most importantly all of the players seemed to have an inbuilt confidence in themselves and each other. what was the best aspect of that season, and was something that had been developed over the previous years, was the defence.

when was the last time we muscled up in defence and shut teams out of the game because of our defensive abilities???

Freak

It looks like everyone agrees confidence is KEY!!

If you look at recent history you will notice all the premiers played their footy with confidence, and I have heard stories from the 80's where our benchies used to sit on the bench and just laugh at the eaze in which we would dominate teams. The same could be said about 2001!!

I remember Joey Johns in the C9 commentary box for the Grand Final between the Rooster and the Panthers and he could see that Confidence within the Panthers and actually changed his selection for the game based on this theory as it reminded hm of his side from well you know when #-o !!

I saw the tigers this year have that same confidence, unluckily for them they choked when it mattered, but it is quite simply the best ingriedient you can feed to a football side and we have not had any since Round 1 2002!!

I agree with Chengy though! You must crawl before you can walk and if we cannot complete the simple things do not even attempt the more advanced plays which will give you that confidence we so desperately need!!

I think a lot of players get offside with Smithy because they try to take the shortcut!! They do more than what is requested by the coach. EG Dykes, Solo, Morris, Hodgson, Witt. The list could go on and on!! And of course as paying season ticket holders we love seeing guys like the ones listed attempt to play with flair but unfortunately for them I don't believe they are assisting the team consistantly and are a lot of the time doing more harm than good!!

Anyway I guess I am just trying to read Smithy mentality a bit and could be way off the mark!!

Who really knows :? All I do know is I want to see my Footy side play with confidence all year in 2005!!

yy_cheng

I re-watched a few games from 2001 and correct me if I am wrong, we dropped the ball quite alot in 2001 too! The difference was that our defence was heaps better and we weren't that soft near the try line.

GAME FIRST

The Colonel said:
True EEL said:
well ok....??????

but, as i said previously, if you can't manage players and people that makes you a bad coach, as that is one of the absolute most important areas of coaching and you can be the most technical or most scientific coach in the world and have the best plays etc....but if you can't manage people, you can't coach IMHO

and find it difficult to imagine you can say on one hand he can't manage people and yet still believe he is a good coach as the 2 things go hand in hand......Steve Folkes and Wayne Bennett are prime examples......

and why should Parramatta be forced to cover for his inadequacies by employing 2 other ex-first grade coaches to placate him???

Very few if any players have ever said anything negative v Bennett except Lewis when he was asked to retire- as for Folkes, Mason needed a kick up hte behind and Folksey did his part rather well- as it has turned out!
With Brian the list of whinging and negative feedback are from many players over a long period- some star ones among them
-D Pay- wasnt interested in Smiths science of how to play footy and told him as much!
-G Tallis- always wanted to just play 80 minutes and just go out there and rip and tear- until Brian thought he could improve him by changing his whole style of game and even his personality-which Tallis still resents now-the little pep talks at training that clashed with his passion to just play and not worry about being perfect!
-J Bell- couldnt stand Brians structure in attack and his shuffling from centre- to half- to 5/8 - to hooker - to interchange!
-A Raper- basically told Brian off at the front of players and officials after a lecturing of when to run from hooker!
-P J Marsh- admitted his last time with us wasnt free enough and has come back because of Ando and Sharpie being there as well as the $$$
-N Hindmarsh-privately has expressed concern of the change in personality Brain pepped talked to him about about being more responsible etc etc - why noit the young man grow up naturally ?
J Lyon- make no bones about it- Brain doesnt create a happy environment for many players to play consistant and developing footy!

Bennett and Folkes have been legends in the players eyes they have coached- unfortunately Brians record being good still doesnt hide the fact a lot of class players have gone out backwards because an unhappy envronment is created by Brains Science!

No coach gets along with people well. Folkes and Bennett have been rumoured to have had problems with players as well - Mason was set to leave at one stage becuase of Folkes. I don't consider any coach a prime example as they all have their shortcomings in dealing with people.

He has coached first grade for quite sometime. He may not have been as successful as Bennett, Gibson or others however unless you have some idea about coaching you don't last very long - ask Craig Coleman and Paul Langmack. Thats why I consider him to be a good coach - some of the players and his peers feel the same way. The ones that don't think he can coach are the ones that have left the club. ;-)

Are Parramatta employing them to help or are they employing them as they see them as a long term future proposition? Who knows - I don't pretend to know everything that goes on behind the doors at the club. Someone else came up with the reason for Sharps appointment re: players but I don't know if its true. It could be.....