Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

mateo

Utey

If you are winning you always enjoy your footy. I think Anderson needs to be there and I think the signings of all his favourites is a telling sign he isnt to far away from Sydneys West.

Actually I don't feel that Brian has any shortcomings as a coach bar one - his ability to people manage.

True EEL

i agree UTE, aprticularly about the signings

Colonel.....unfortunatley being able to manage people is possibly the biggest and most important aspect of being a coach in any sport....because its "people" you are dealing with....not kids, not animals, not subordinate drones....but people?????

people are a sporting coaches most valuable asset, foget the stats and the game plans, its being able to manage people and bring the most out of them on a consistent basis that brings success in sport....if a team isn't harmonious in all aspects they will never be successful....bar NBA freaks like the 90's bulls and the 2000's Lakers....who even as exceptions to such a rule.....had an extraodinary "coach" keeping them together to be focussed on a singular goal.....

so, i think your last comment, although granted its an opinion, is in fact categorically wrong, in essence............

not to mention other fatal flaws in his coching and preparation methods, evidenced by the his 0-3 Grand Final record with 2 clubs and his numerous floundering chokes in semi-finals, predominantly with Parramatta

greena

His chokes? The players have no responsibility whatsoever. Come on be fairdinkum.

By the way, if Brian Smith has no people skills why have Hindmarsh, Cayless, Burt, Wagon, Grothe etc etc etc all signed new contracts. What players have actually come out and said they do not like Smith. From waht I have reaqd none of the players that heve lefy have ever said that with the possible exception of Lyon who obviously was screwed in the head and was being manipulated.

It seems to me that it is the fans who are making up most of the unsubstantiated stories.

True EEL

of course the players ahve to be held accountable......

but there is no doubt in my mind that the 2001 Grand Final embarrassment was a coaching mistake in terms of preparation and build-up....Newcastle came out and blew Parra off the park with intensity and enthusiasm...characteristics of BS's Parra side all year, except for the game that actually counted

same in other semi's and i think all of that has scarred his coaching ideals

GAME FIRST

The Colonel said:
Actually I don't feel that Brian has any shortcomings as a coach bar one - his ability to people manage.

And this is the main aspect of team happiness and long term development isnt colonel?
I know for a fact - no matter what you guys think of my info- certain players are kept because they do what Brian wants to the exact degree- and talented, outspoken players who play with flair are stiffled and scared about Smiths SmS REMINDERS on what things they should concentrate on for that coming weeks game- or what side of the field to attack for the full 80 minutes instead of taking other better options that open during a match-
As Aaron Raper said to me and my brother once after he got the flick after telling Brian to get F...d- not the smartest thing to say and deservedly got the punt- but what made him say it and not other players is that Brian didnt like his instinctive blind side runs- he was told to kick more earlier in the tackle count- and Aaron was telling us he said to Smith he sees something on on the blind that he likes to go for it- at which point Brian told him to not to worry about that and to just kick short or deep as it guarantees more ground!

Im SURE OTHER PLAYERS HAVE HAD THIS RIGID APPROACH STIFLE THEIR RELAXED, NATURAL PLAY!

True EEL

well people on here certainly run you and your info down Game First.....

but that to me sounds quite believeable and i know he palys favourites....i've been told that many times and Aaron Raper did get brushed pretty obviously

greena

Other semis, you are probably referring to both the Melbourne and Bulldogs games. In both we had what should havbe been winning leads only to be run down in the last 10-20 minutes. Obviously Smiths coaching wasn't the problem for 60-70 minutes of the game. I believe it was the players on the field who choked.

GAME FIRST said:
The Colonel said:

And this is the main aspect of team happiness and long term development isnt colonel?
I know for a fact - no matter what you guys think of my info- certain players are kept because they do what Brian wants to the exact degree- and talented, outspoken players who play with flair are stiffled and scared about Smiths SmS REMINDERS on what things they should concentrate on for that coming weeks game- or what side of the field to attack for the full 80 minutes instead of taking other better options that open during a match- As Aaron Raper said to me and my brother once after he got the flick after telling Brian to get F...d- not the smartest thing to say and deservedly got the punt- but what made him say it and not other players is that Brian didnt like his instinctive blind side runs- he was told to kick more earlier in the tackle count- and Aaron was telling us he said to Smith he sees something on on the blind that he likes to go for it- at which point Brian told him to not to worry about that and to just kick short or deep as it guarantees more ground!

Im SURE OTHER PLAYERS HAVE HAD THIS RIGID APPROACH STIFLE THEIR RELAXED, NATURAL PLAY!

Correct me if I am wrong (which I am not), but isn't it part of a coach's job to come up with tactics regarding the opposition's weaknesses?

If Brian believes that we should attack the left flank of Team X it's because Team X's left flank defence is woeful. At least that's the theory behind it.

What I will pay though is the fact that his tactics are stale and useless now.

True EEL

fair enough greena.....

but, he has proven that he can't keep a team right to go all the way and in 1998 against the Bulldogs, it is well publicised that he told John Simon ("the smartest player i have ever coached") to go for a field goal with 12 to go???

Wrong decision !!! as they were looking like scoring a bloody try which would have sealed it completely.....and in any event Simon missed and got hooked straight after......Wrong decision again!!! as they were a complete rabble after that without their on-field leader and embarrassed themselves, BS and the club.....

and then, the smartest player he ever coached was brushed from the club after that completely????

but no he doesn't play favourites or get's sets on people at all

and as Eelementary said....he was good, but his tactics are now stale and useless

GAME FIRST

Eelementary said:
GAME FIRST said:
The Colonel said:

I know for a fact - no matter what you guys think of my info- certain players are kept because they do what Brian wants to the exact degree- and talented, outspoken players who play with flair are stiffled and scared about Smiths SmS REMINDERS on what things they should concentrate on for that coming weeks game- or what side of the field to attack for the full 80 minutes instead of taking other better options that open during a match- As Aaron Raper said to me and my brother once after he got the flick after telling Brian to get F...d- not the smartest thing to say and deservedly got the punt- but what made him say it and not other
players is that Brian didnt like his instinctive blind side runs- he was told to kick more earlier in the tackle count- and Aaron was telling us he said to Smith he sees something on on the blind that he likes to go for it- at which point Brian told him to not to worry about that and to just kick short or deep as it guarantees more ground!

Correct me if I am wrong (which I am not), but isn't it part of a coach's job to come up with tactics regarding the opposition's weaknesses?

If Brian believes that we should attack the left flank of Team X it's because Team X's left flank defence is woeful. At least that's the theory behind it.

What I will pay though is the fact that his tactics are stale and useless now.

Mate, you just cannot stick to a game plan 100% if things open up in another area of the defence which should be exploited!
Flexibility and ADAPTING IS THE KEY, ESPECIALLY IN BIG GAMES!!

Parra do not adapt to different teams and game situations good enough and stick too much to same old -same old!!

True EEL

The Colonel said:

colonel....you have responded to the responses you received from making this outlandish statement.....why not???? ;-)

True EEL

The Colonel said:

colonel....you have not responded to the responses you received from making this outlandish statement.....why not???? ;-)

Well Game First answered it and amongst all the name dropping I couldn't be bothered really.

He is a good coach which has been proven, despite not winning a premiership, he has brought clubs up into good outfits. At the moment we are struggling and I put that down to being stale - nothing more, nothing less.

In my opinion, Brian does not manage individual personalities - hence the statment regarding people management - which appears to be the reason that Peter Sharp and quite possibly Daniel Anderson are returning. They have a good rapport developed with the players, many of whom played under them at different times.

True EEL

well ok....??????

but, as i said previously, if you can't manage players and people that makes you a bad coach, as that is one of the absolute most important areas of coaching and you can be the most technical or most scientific coach in the world and have the best plays etc....but if you can't manage people, you can't coach IMHO

and find it difficult to imagine you can say on one hand he can't manage people and yet still believe he is a good coach as the 2 things go hand in hand......Steve Folkes and Wayne Bennett are prime examples......

and why should Parramatta be forced to cover for his inadequacies by employing 2 other ex-first grade coaches to placate him???

True EEL

and i didn't need to name drop either......

and you couldn't be bothered or perhaps maybe, just maybe, you thought that what you said was a little ambiguous or contradictory???

True EEL said:
well ok....??????

but, as i said previously, if you can't manage players and people that makes you a bad coach, as that is one of the absolute most important areas of coaching and you can be the most technical or most scientific coach in the world and have the best plays etc....but if you can't manage people, you can't coach IMHO

and find it difficult to imagine you can say on one hand he can't manage people and yet still believe he is a good coach as the 2 things go hand in hand......Steve Folkes and Wayne Bennett are prime examples......

and why should Parramatta be forced to cover for his inadequacies by employing 2 other ex-first grade coaches to placate him???

No coach gets along with people well. Folkes and Bennett have been rumoured to have had problems with players as well - Mason was set to leave at one stage becuase of Folkes. I don't consider any coach a prime example as they all have their shortcomings in dealing with people.

He has coached first grade for quite sometime. He may not have been as successful as Bennett, Gibson or others however unless you have some idea about coaching you don't last very long - ask Craig Coleman and Paul Langmack. Thats why I consider him to be a good coach - some of the players and his peers feel the same way. The ones that don't think he can coach are the ones that have left the club. ;-)

Are Parramatta employing them to help or are they employing them as they see them as a long term future proposition? Who knows - I don't pretend to know everything that goes on behind the doors at the club. Someone else came up with the reason for Sharps appointment re: players but I don't know if its true. It could be.....

True EEL said:
and i didn't need to name drop either......

and you couldn't be bothered or perhaps maybe, just maybe, you thought that what you said was a little ambiguous or contradictory???

You don't need to...... I know already.

Maybe, just maybe your wrong about that. Its the same old same old all day everyday. I could make life easier and merge the majority of threads all into one as its is pretty much the same anyways. Sometimes I bite my tongue, other days I don't.... I also don't feel I have to reply to every thread.

As it is its my opinion, to which we are all entitled, its my opinion - nobody has to agree. If you don't like it you don't have to change my mind about it. Life would be boring if we all thought the exact same way.... but don't worry many agree with you.