Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matthew Elliott Disappreciation Society

When will he go?

• He'll be shafted by the halfway mark to the season.

Votes: 15 26.3%
  • He'll see out the season but not re-signed.

Votes: 12 21.1%
  • He'll be re-signed for 3 years by Mick Leary in July.

Votes: 23 40.4%
  • I don't care, I'm just stoked he's no longer at Canberra!

Votes: 7 12.3%

Pantha-Boy

I dont think this thread will reach the great heights it was expected too.
I must say though it has had a very good run, but is no match for the Pantha-Boy thread.

murraymob

pantha boy this thread will live and die based on how the team goes .Expect many comments if things are not going well

Dave Q

Exactly right cranky.

All this cuddling and counselling after training has to stop.

Instead the greedy bludging players ought to be branded with red hot irons and wear their new tats as badges of honour.

Then they can fugging run from the mall to Doony and back again...all in bare feet too.

Last player back gets six lashes around the head and has to the run again wearing a pair of Elliots old fly fishing boots filled up with sand from the mighty castlereagh.

Pain is the answer to the Panther woes....and besides, would be a lot of fun dishing it out to bludging arrogant pop-tarts who think their .... dont stink.

Whack em, make em pay!

Not the wolves or NYC, but the NRL boys, they deserve a good thrashing.

Its for their own good!

Fibroman

I reckon we should lock the players up in a bamboo cage in the Nepean ala Deer Hunter after a bad performance. Bring them out one at a time to go 3 minutes with John Hopoate in the ring. The ones that hold their own with the boxing, should be bent over and cop the finger for their trouble. Either way it's going to be painful.

murraymob

Elliott has some interesting side selections to make for the first game.There are a few in the running in the centers and backrow could be interesting

Fibroman

Im really only interested in how many times i can get kicked out of the ground and refused entry into panthers this year.

maple_69

Im really only interested in how many times i can get kicked out of the ground and refused entry into panthers this year.

Sounds like me at the driving range. When I can't get them going straight, efforts turn to hooking them over the fence.

Pantha-Boy

I cant beleive this thread is still alive.
Will it ever end?
Nobody knows.
Hopefully my classic Pantha-Boy thread will one day be bigger and better than this thread.

choc_soldier

Sounds like me at the driving range. When I can't get them going straight, efforts turn to hooking them over the fence.

I can't even connect the iron with the ball half the time.

Watching me play aqua golf would provide boundless entertainment for anyone unfortunate enough to watch...

Fibroman

I couldn't hit a cow's back side with a tennis rqquet when it comes to iron on the titeleist.

Pantha-Boy

Jeez have a look at this failure as a thread. MEDS is really going down hill.
we could basically count this thread out.

murraymob

rticle from:
Elliott ignores the hovering axe

0,,6476105,00.jpg
Under pressure ... Matt Elliott leading training at Long Reef beach. Photograph: Sam Ruttyn / The Sunday Telegraph

PENRITH coach Matthew Elliott dodged a bullet when he avoided being sacked last September, but he remains an NRL coach in the firing line. Still 33 days from the start of the new season, The Sunday Telegraph has learned Penrith directors will review Elliott's position after the opening 10 rounds of football.
After overcoming a split in the playing ranks by moving several senior players on at the end of last year, Elliott has a talented and united roster at his disposal.
The man who conducted an internal review of Penrith football operations at the end of last season, chief executive Mick Leary, stressed Elliott's position was safe - for the time being.
"We'll be giving Matt Elliott and the team our full support and hopefully we have provided them with every opportunity to try to do well,'' Leary said.
"We're optimistic with the squad we've got that we can be very competitive and then we'll be looking to make some decisions in relation to going forward after about 10 rounds.
"We know we're going to be under the microscope but we'd like to think we can fend it off.''
Elliott, who is off contract at the end of the season, understands the cut-throat nature of coaching and the circus that is bound to unfold should the Panthers struggle over the opening six rounds.
Since being head-hunted from Canberra at the end of 2006, he has won 18 games from 48 for a success rate of 37.5 per cent. The Panthers have finished with the wooden spoon and 12th in those two seasons.
Interestingly, the Panthers' Toyota Cup coach from last season, Steve Georgallis, has been appointed first-grade assistant coach and is favoured to take over as caretaker should Elliott be shown the door mid-year.
Bookmakers have installed the Panthers as $3.50 favourites for the wooden spoon, but with a roster boasting Petero Civoniceva, Trent Waterhouse, Frank Pritchard, Luke Lewis, Michael Jennings and Nathan Smith, the club is more than capable of making the finals.
Complementing the experienced representative players are some of the most exciting rookies in the game in Lachlan Coote, Wade Graham and Masada Iosefa.
"I know all the stuff that's going to happen. I know dates have been thrown up and all that sort of stuff. I honestly don't care about it,'' Elliott said.
"It's my 14th year of doing this and I guess at some point these periods come. I'm pretty laid-back about it. I know there's going to be continual questions in relation to my future but I don't care.
"I only care about these players, to be honest with you. At the moment, my whole focus is just on getting the best out of the young guys and the players we've got here and seeing the team play the sort of footy they're capable of.
"I have absolutely no doubt that there's a core of kids here that if they hold together for the next 10 years they'll compete for grand finals on more than one occasion.''
In a difficult opening six rounds, the Panthers meet Cronulla, the Bulldogs, premiers Manly, Wests Tigers, Melbourne and Brisbane.
One of the key on-field issues Elliott must swiftly solve is Penrith's halves puzzle. Last season, they experimented with seven different combinations. This year, Jarrod Sammut and Wade Graham look like getting first shot.
When The Sunday Telegraph visited Penrith training at Longreef on the northern beaches last Thursday - a rare day away from their Penrith Stadium base - Elliott and Georgallis were working in unison.
When the Penrith squad appeared to be easing the intensity of the session, Elliott increased the pressure.
"C'mon boys, rip in. We're a bit slow today,'' Elliott said.
Civoniceva was a standout trainer, the captain consistently leading by example.
Damaging back-rower Frank Pritchard was in the rehabilitation group after undergoing off-season shoulder surgery.
"No rest for the wicked'' was a theme drummed into the Panthers by head trainer Carl Jennings on the northern beaches and again at Penrith Stadium last Friday.
The Panthers will need to fulfil the creed to succeed in the opening rounds and over the course of the season.

murraymob

good to see elliott wearing club colours while at training.You would think it would be compulsary for all people

Munky

I think they'll want a resignation rather than to sack him.

As far as I know this won't result in a pay out.

Munky

Munky, you might wanna change your pic under your sig.
Rodney is gone to Manly.

And Wallace is at Brisbane.

The sig is staying the same.

If Rodney ever plays at a level resembling fit we'll regret leting him leave. Especially with the bludgers who have made up our back row the past few seasons.