Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matthew Elliott Disappreciation Society

When will he go?

• He'll be shafted by the halfway mark to the season.

Votes: 15 26.3%
  • He'll see out the season but not re-signed.

Votes: 12 21.1%
  • He'll be re-signed for 3 years by Mick Leary in July.

Votes: 23 40.4%
  • I don't care, I'm just stoked he's no longer at Canberra!

Votes: 7 12.3%

murraymob

this thread will never die.But most things have been said many times.And seemto be repeated as the same selection mistakes keep on being made

Tommax25

Dont let it die guys, even though (disregarding the bronocs game) there had been some improved performances in recent games they cannot erase the two solid years of trash. Never forget.

t1tan

Dont make it too negative,someone might get all precious and delete your post :lol:
Ironic you can bag out Elliott but not management :sarcasm:

murraymob

titan the reason ellliott gets bagged out
1.he selects sides
2.he decides who comes to the club and who is released
3.he has not signed one of the most promising forwards we have shane blackett but signed guys like steve meridith

manegment does not get bagged out
1.crowds home games are up
2. we have our own merchandise store bringing in good money to the club
3. the club have given elliott sole control over the football team

Caged Panther

Dont make it too negative,someone might get all precious and delete your post :lol:
Ironic you can bag out Elliott but not management :sarcasm:

If you're referring to the post you made yesterday it's not deleted but moved to the dump yard because you're trolling. This post would be in exactly the same place if I didn't want you to see this response.

Fibroman

I am at a total loss as to why Blackett hasn't been offered a contract.

He has been one of the better players in NSW Cup this year, and at 21 is a good young front rower in the making.

Brain dead stuff by management.

Kilkenny

I am at a total loss as to why Blackett hasn't been offered a contract.

He has been one of the better players in NSW Cup this year, and at 21 is a good young front rower in the making.

Brain dead stuff by management.

I understand your frustrations but I do think management of all clubs are being compromised by the ridiculous age limited imposed by the NRL in terms of the Under 20's toyota cup.

A classic case in point, leaving aside our own playing roster, surely is Keith Galloway from the West Tigers. Discarded by Cronulla at a young age, moves to the West Tigers, struggles for a season but now a few years on is really starting to develop. It is no coincidence he is now 23 years old and from I have seen is developing into a top line front rower. The same thing will apply with Tim Grant, wait a few years and he will be without a doubt one of the best front rowers in the game, mark my words.

The whole things with the Under 20's is on the nose as far as I am concerned. Fine for the likes of Michael Jennings as back's develop far quicker but for forwards it is a crying shame for but a few.

The same rule of thumb applies to the like of Shane Blackett, he may never get the opportunity because of an absurd NRL policy which as I say is very, very restrictive and discriminatory towards the front rowers in particular.

Fibroman

I understand your frustrations but I do think management of all clubs are being compromised by the ridiculous age limited imposed by the NRL in terms of the Under 20's toyota cup.

A classic case in point, leaving aside our own playing roster, surely is Keith Galloway from the West Tigers. Discarded by Cronulla at a young age, moves to the West Tigers, struggles for a season but now a few years on is really starting to develop. It is no coincidence he is now 23 years old and from I have seen is developing into a top line front rower. The same thing will apply with Tim Grant, wait a few years and he will be without a doubt one of the best front rowers in the game, mark my words.

The whole things with the Under 20's is on the nose as far as I am concerned. Fine for the likes of Michael Jennings as back's develop far quicker but for forwards it is a crying shame for but a few.

The same rule of thumb applies to the like of Shane Blackett, he may never get the opportunity because of an absurd NRL policy which as I say is very, very restrictive and discriminatory towards the front rowers in particular.

This whole u/20 competition is a cost cutting measure by clubs and nothing more.

They put in some rubbish policies about study and traineeships etc, but that, I'm afraid is a big smoke screen to cover up for the fact that the clubs can't manage their poker machine revenue.

maple_69

I don't mind having the National 20s comp if only we could have a decent Reserves comp. If they played on match day and were actually called the Panthers etc players who were above 20 would not feel like they've been sent to some dead end park to rot.
It was a natural progression and I understand why they changed it but I don't think its working. The biggest impact we'll see won't be for a few years yet though I fancy.

murraymob

the reality is no club can afford to run 3 grades.And windsor could not be expected to put in 500k for a side that plays at penrith.Get used to it.The only way to balance things out is as kilkenny has suggested raise the age from u20 to u22. Sadly the standard of the nsw cup is bad .

Dave Q

I wish Blackett was a bunny.

maple_69

Fact is most clubs have had an easy ride through the past few decades. They've been run by amateurs in a professional era because the pokies have always been there to prop them up.
Firstly, you would expect a successful business to prepare for the changes in the market such as the pokie tax and especially the smoking bans. To put these forward as excuses for clubs is just a cop out. They are now starting to implement alternative projects to create revenue streams (I recognise some of these are years in the making) and given this I would expect all clubs to be able to fend for themselves. As a business, the NRL can't be compromising its product for the benefit of those outfits who are too lethargic in recognizing issues in their environment and dealing with them.
I'm in no way a death rider nor do I want to see any Sydney clubs dying but if its at the expense of some clubs I would like to see them implement the proper development system. If we're in the business of compromising the quality of our product Penrith and Parra etc might as well cut funding to its junior development avenues. We'd save a heaps of money and in 10 years rugby league would be dead. It's foolish.
Mind you I do think we've been royally screwed time and again by horrific leadership by the NRL, a TV deal that is probably 50% undervalue and an ownership model which is clearly not meant to benefit the clubs, players, sport or fans.

Dazraider

Id blame what scouts the panthers have instead of the coach.
they have the biggest junior base but still cant get a quality halfback and 5/8th.

sure there is players in the junior ranks that could come through or is it that its like the old balmain strategy , pick officials sons instead of the better players. thats why the balmain tigers struggled in the 90s and maybe this is why the panthers are struggling

maple_69

I think our junior talent identification is fine. We have quality halves throughout the ranks.
Graham, Sammut, Ali Beale, the Seijkas and even Iselin and Romelo would probably get a look in at other clubs.
Our problem is they are all a year or two away. Because we let go of Wallace and Gower in particular these guys like Sammut and Graham have been thrust into a pressure position rather than developing naturally and moving into the side in a year or two. I think we have all the quality in the juniors to make us a powerhouse for many years to come, we just have to be patient and ensure we have the right guy at the helm. Whether that's Elliott or not I haven't yet decided.

Hanscholo

Your correct, there is a dire need for another tier above under 20's. I can name countless players that didnt mature until their mid to late 20's, let alone their early 20's. I cant name many at all that were ready for first grade at the age of 20. In particular european heritage players, forwards in particular bulk up much later in their 20's than polynesian players do.

Caged Panther

Gossip column in the sports section of the Sunday Tele was reporting the Roosters were sniffing around Elliott as a possible replacement for fittler next year. This would be one time when I would be happy for the roosters to take one of ours.

Unfortunately being 'bec and buzz' you can guarantee there is nothing to it.

Nevertheless it is quickly drawing towards the time we need to make a decision about this for next year. Anyone heard anything about when we might hear something on this front?

murraymob

this was brought up on the footy show.Apparantly Steve Noyce rooster CEO has denied any interest and stated Fittler will be there long term

TeamSatan

Id blame what scouts the panthers have instead of the coach.
they have the biggest junior base but still cant get a quality halfback and 5/8th.

sure there is players in the junior ranks that could come through or is it that its like the old balmain strategy , pick officials sons instead of the better players. thats why the balmain tigers struggled in the 90s and maybe this is why the panthers are struggling

I agree with this......the old boys network is alive and strong...what we need is independant scouts with no club ties or bias, Bennett had this at the bronco's and it worked well for them.

maple_69

Didn't the club say they'd be reviewing Elliott after Week 10. That gives him 3 more games to impress. I really would not like to be making a decision if we're still playing as well as we are without getting the results.