Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mental Health

I’m getting the flu shot tomorrow. My GP reckons it will cut down recovery from 7-10 days down to 1-3 days. Lock it in Eddie.

I got the vax about 6 weeks ago and had the flu for about the last month

I’m getting the flu shot tomorrow. My GP reckons it will cut down recovery from 7-10 days down to 1-3 days. Lock it in Eddie.

Keep some apple cider vinegar in the cupboard and fresh garlic. As soon as start to feel sick start using. Id love others to try this and let me know if it helps them. Its hard to know if it helps me or I wasn't getting sick and just felt a bit off. I personaly think it works

So the Vax didn't work?
The flu shot is developed based on what hit Europe in their last winter. Twiz might have caught a random virus from from a tourist from South America. Who knows. By and large the flu shot is effective, that’s why people get it.

eels_fan

The flu shot is developed based on what hit Europe in their last winter. Twiz might have caught a random virus from from a tourist from South America. Who knows. By and large the flu shot is effective, that’s why people get it.
I used to believe that….
Now I’ll never take any vax the govt recommends or pushes on us again.
The list of vaxs now “banned” due to dangers by the same govt/health authorities that 12-18 months ago were forcing on us to be able to earn an income for our families is ridiculous

eels_fan

Which vaccines have been banned in the past 12-18 months, that were previously being encouraged by governments?
4 covid vaccines are now banned as considered too dangerous/causing major side effects that make the risk from the vax higher than covid itself - including AstraZenica

eels_fan

Ok... hadn't seen or heard that one. Is banned different to just superseded by different vaccines, that had longer to develop?
Couldn’t answer that one mate. There are obviously still covid vaxs available and approved, but the fact many that were once approved and promoted are now officially banned due to unacceptable risks is enough for me to now question what we are told or pushed into. I’ve always been a strong advocate of informed choice, and in many cases, we the general public have not been given that in recent years.

anyway, don’t want to derail this thread at all, as I think it’s super important as it stands and it should be the one thread on here that doesn’t go off the rails!

Another Monday... but how good was that win against the Rabbitohs!

When our team plays like that it can just add that little extra kick to help power you through the weekend and the start of the work week...

well, to be fair, what I have is a cold/cough. I don't think its technically the influenza virus as I don't have any fever

when you're crook it's just easier to say flu

Cold should only last 3-4 days. I'd go to a doctor mate. Not normal

So, I was talking to my mum tonight as I do every Tuesday, as her footy tips at the nursing home need to be in every Wednesday.
So, I call her weekly with the tips on Tuesday afternoons. It's a great reason to chat anyway. I also ring at other times of course but this is a regular call we have had going since she moved there.
We got on to the subject of dad's tombstone which is still being organised and has only yesterday been approved to be constructed and can I say, installed at his resting place.
For those that don't know, this is quite the lengthy process.
Anyway, as much as mum has been very strong dealing with the loss of her husband of 66 years, I can still see that she is hurting and very lonely in the room that she spent the last 3 years of dad's life with. No surprise there.
She is an amazing woman and is staying strong and is almost always so bright and cheery when I visit her or speak to her.
Yet, she said tonight that she just still struggles with the fact that dad isn't sitting on the couch beside her each and every night, despite how difficult he was in his last years with his dementia and being completely blind from several previous strokes and how he was a total drain on her in their shared room.
Seriously, getting old just f**king sucks.
As much as dad's demise was inevitable at some stage, I still just quite can't get my head around that I'll never see him again.

True that.
As much as dad's demise was inevitable at some stage, I still just quite can't get my head around that I'll never see him again.
That bit can be a real head f**k - on top of the ongoing emotions attached to the loss of a loved one, as you deal with the necessary arrangements (and support you mum's coping through it all). Wishing you strength at all times when you need it Suity.

Cloeel

I am lucky enough to still have both my parents. Although as I get older I force myself to think more about the day that will come where I don't have both my parents. Reason I do this is so I never take them for granted. Even when we have disagreements or don't see eye to eye I ensure I have enough self awareness to appreciate them and all they have done for me.

Thank you for sharing this. It is a timely reminder for myself to continue appreciating what I have.

I am lucky enough to still have both my parents. Although as I get older I force myself to think more about the day that will come where I don't have both my parents. Reason I do this is so I never take them for granted. Even when we have disagreements or don't see eye to eye I ensure I have enough self awareness to appreciate them and all they have done for me.

Thank you for sharing this. It is a timely reminder for myself to continue appreciating what I have.

Until 4 months ago, I also considered myself lucky and privileged to still have both my parents in my life. I'm late 50's.
You are doing the absolute right thing. Love them while they are here, even if there are differences in opinion occasionally. Enjoy their company and make the most of the time left that you have with them.
If not for them, we wouldn't be here.
We should never forget that. They gave us a life.

IFR33K

take it from someone that lost his mother(64 yo) unexpectedly, never take them for granted.
What I’d do to have one last meal with mum…

So, I was talking to my mum tonight as I do every Tuesday, as her footy tips at the nursing home need to be in every Wednesday.
So, I call her weekly with the tips on Tuesday afternoons. It's a great reason to chat anyway. I also ring at other times of course but this is a regular call we have had going since she moved there.
We got on to the subject of dad's tombstone which is still being organised and has only yesterday been approved to be constructed and can I say, installed at his resting place.
For those that don't know, this is quite the lengthy process.
Anyway, as much as mum has been very strong dealing with the loss of her husband of 66 years, I can still see that she is hurting and very lonely in the room that she spent the last 3 years of dad's life with. No surprise there.
She is an amazing woman and is staying strong and is almost always so bright and cheery when I visit her or speak to her.
Yet, she said tonight that she just still struggles with the fact that dad isn't sitting on the couch beside her each and every night, despite how difficult he was in his last years with his dementia and being completely blind from several previous strokes and how he was a total drain on her in their shared room.

Totally relatable mate as I feel exactly the same way about my dad, as most of us would losing a parent. 8 weeks this Monday since he passed and while the intensity of the grieving has lowered, there are those head space moments almost daily that its just a dream, a denial that he is gone for good.

I had to organize the funeral, which was just awful and a sad experience as dad actually passed as I was about to walk into the funeral parlor for an appointment we made a few days prior, dad deteriorated so quick that last week. But H Parsons were wonderful. In a way was good to be busy organizing things when he passed. The thing that warms the heart a lot is the family members and old school mates who reached out and were there for me or came out to the funeral/lunch after the burial. Some of whom had to travel a long way, for a Tuesday morning funeral

I'm really struggling at the moment.

My daughter doesn't want a bar of me - when I hold her, she claws, kicks, screams, and wriggles, until she's passed to my wife.

I know it's a phase, but I'm finding it tough to help out with the baby right now.

I'll keep persevering, but it's really tough.