Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mentally Weak Culture

legs 11

Yeah the Foran one is a mystery to me, watch Matty Johns show etc and they have him number 1 buy of the year for the huge difference he has made to the Warriors, who now sit 14th

I think he is trying, but his body looks shot, and has for 3-4 seasons now. I know certainly his last season and a half at Manly there was a big drop off in form and consistency

i'd agree either his body is shot or he's been playing injured for a long time....

Penrose Warrior

His body is f*cked.

By all reports he shouldn't have played the Storm game with a hammy, but they insisted he did.

On Friday, about 10 minutes in he struggled to get onside for a set, he looked rooted. Trainers both came over to him and he waved them away in the end.

Guy is tough, guy is magnificent when fit and his body is strong...but none of those things have happened really with us. Yes, v the Eels he was awesome but other than that, nothing really doing.

Saw an interesting comment from Hurrrell over the weekend

Said what a huge difference it has made that he can go out and play footy, not worried that if he makes an error or 2 he will be dropped straight back to reserve grade like he was with the Warriors. Thinking back you could see that in him as well, one example in particular when he was being used as an interchange forward, spilt the ball 1st run and it looked like the weight of the world was on his shoulders

Then on the other hand, we see guys who week after week stink it up, and continue to get picked

That has to create a very strange environment in the squad, where you have some guys playing scared, which you can probably see in lack of offloads, while others coast along knowing 90% will be enough to get a run the next week

I find it a bit hard to believe that the pressure still wouldn't be there at Titans.
He may have lost the whipping boy tag though.
You would think with the amount of assistant coaches we have we wouldn't have this problem as not all can be wearing rose tinted glasses how indiviual players are performing.

JJ

I find it a bit hard to believe that the pressure still wouldn't be there at Titans.
He may have lost the whipping boy tag though.
You would think with the amount of assistant coaches we have we wouldn't have this problem as not all can be wearing rose tinted glasses how indiviual players are performing.

Yeah, I think it's the whipping boy thing - at the Titans I imagine everyone is accountable, at the Warriors you were/are accountable if your surname is Hurrell, Ayshford, Vete, Lisone, Tevaga etc

Penrose Warrior

Konrad is kidding himself there. He was a prodigious talent in 20s, the club wanted him on the park every week. But when you're dicking around, doing silly shit on social media, turning up overweight and generally being unprofessional, you're a target for dropping moreso than others. Of course you are. He earned the whipping boy tag. Kata, on the other hand, was undroppable because I'm told he trains very hard, even though he had major errors in his game for the first 12 months.

Penrose Warrior

Anyway, I'm more and more convinced our future signings need to be attitude and mental strength based as much as physical gifts. Scan the clubs, not necessarily for the names that light up websites and highlight reels, but the guys who get it done each week. A Moneyball-type scenario where we assemble guys who miss a low % of tackles, play big minutes, don't miss games, low penalty/error count. Guys who all money look like team players, do the 1%ers well etc. And that involves paying guys closer to market rate (ie Australian market rate) and have them buy into our vision. Otherwise they use us as a quick money fix. Yeah it doesn't sell hope and memberships to Joe Casualfan by buying these lesser names, but who cares? We've tried the marquee signings, doesn't work. Joe C will hop on board when we start winning and being there in September.

So obviously Simon is your archetypal player in this sense. With a quick scan of the off contract players in 2018, that would be someone like Anthony Don, Nathan Ross, Justin O'Neill, Blake Green, Blake Austin, James Maloney, Michael Morgan, Peter Wallace, Jake Friend, Josh Hodgson, Leeson, Jamie Buhrer, Elijah...build them around your young guys like Lisone, Vete, Fus, Bunty, Tof etc, with your flair kept for point scoring with RTS, SJ in the spine.

I'm convinced that's how Ivan did it. Hell, he made finals with Rovelli and Witt, a couple of hard, no shit taking veteran props, guys who made all their tackles and watertight structures. He's now shitcanning players who everyone thinks are superstars, but don't have the team's best interest at heart - ie Tedesco, Woods and Moses all playing out their dirty laundry in the media. He'll build that side up around lesser names, wiith someone like Elijah as his Simon-esque rock and others around him.

Cloudsurfer

Anyway, I'm more and more convinced our future signings need to be attitude and mental strength based as much as physical gifts. Scan the clubs, not necessarily for the names that light up websites and highlight reels, but the guys who get it done each week. A Moneyball-type scenario where we assemble guys who miss a low % of tackles, play big minutes, don't miss games, low penalty/error count. Guys who all money look like team players, do the 1%ers well etc. And that involves paying guys closer to market rate (ie Australian market rate) and have them buy into our vision. Otherwise they use us as a quick money fix. Yeah it doesn't sell hope and memberships to Joe Casualfan by buying these lesser names, but who cares? We've tried the marquee signings, doesn't work. Joe C will hop on board when we start winning and being there in September.

So obviously Simon is your archetypal player in this sense. With a quick scan of the off contract players in 2018, that would be someone like Anthony Don, Nathan Ross, Justin O'Neill, Blake Green, Blake Austin, James Maloney, Michael Morgan, Peter Wallace, Jake Friend, Josh Hodgson, Leeson, Jamie Buhrer, Elijah...build them around your young guys like Lisone, Vete, Fus, Bunty, Tof etc, with your flair kept for point scoring with RTS, SJ in the spine.

I'm convinced that's how Ivan did it. Hell, he made finals with Rovelli and Witt, a couple of hard, no shit taking veteran props, guys who made all their tackles and watertight structures. He's now shitcanning players who everyone thinks are superstars, but don't have the team's best interest at heart - ie Tedesco, Woods and Moses all playing out their dirty laundry in the media. He'll build that side up around lesser names, wiith someone like Elijah as his Simon-esque rock and others around him.

I have no doubt this is what Kearney is trying to do as well. It's also why it all won't happen this year.

Cold Roses

not necessarily for the names that light up websites and highlight reels, but the guys who get it done each week
We've tried the marquee signings, doesn't work
with your flair kept for point scoring with RTS, SJ in the spine

There seems to be a mindset among a lot of Warriors fans that every player needs to be a huge offloading, line breaking, ball playing monster. This isn't the case with most clubs. Sharks Cowboys Roosters Storm. All of these successful clubs have the blueprint. Big forwards, solid defence and key points of attack within the team. Every player has their role. Some glamorous, some not.

If the guys who aren't bigger names have the ability to perform their roles well within the team, and the rest of the team are doing their jobs, then quite often they become attacking threats in their own right. (Think any number of the guys you mentioned above as well as ex warriors who have gone on to play in the finals or win premierships).

Like Cloudsurfer mentioned above, it won't happen this year because Kearney is separating the men from the boys. He may be giving some of them a few too many chances for my liking (Thompson *spits on ground in disgust), but the end result is he will be certain of who he can and can't rely on.

You can't have a backline stacked with superstars, there just aren't enough of them around, and not enough money in the salary cap. Jordan Kahu gets shot down because he isn't big enough, fast enough etc. but i'd take him here in a heartbeat. He does so many of the little things right and is exactly the sort of player we need. Put him on the wing outside Fus next year and I believe we'd see Fus start to deliver on his huge potential.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

There seems to be a mindset among a lot of Warriors fans that every player needs to be a huge offloading...This isn't the case with most clubs. Sharks Cowboys Roosters Storm. All of these successful clubs have the blueprint.
Its easy to think 'Fifita, Graham, Galen...that means the Sharks offload a lot' but in actual fact they don't offload all that much compared to the other teams.
http://www.nrl.com/Stats/TelstraPremiership/ClubStatistics/tabid/10254/Default.aspx

JJ

. Kata, on the other hand, was undroppable because I'm told he trains very hard, even though he had major errors in his game for the first 12 months.

Isn't that akin to hitting it well in the nets?

I agree Hurrell got what he deserved, but seriously some players were undroppable under McFadden the legacy coach, and now undroppable under the 26% man

Penrose Warrior

Isn't that akin to hitting it well in the nets?

I agree Hurrell got what he deserved, but seriously some players were undroppable under McFadden the legacy coach, and now undroppable under the 26% man

Mmm, kinda different. It just gives a hard trainer more rope when it comes to bad performances. When a guy is f**king around and makes errors, too easy to cite poor preparation. The harder work earns more brownie points. And hey, Kata had a huge 2016 so it was proven to be right.

The worst one is Ayshford, who is droppable because he is not a fan favourite. I don't like racial-based insinuations so I won't say why I think that is.

Reactions: JJ

Meth

Warriors concede rugby league ‘isn’t working for them’
By Dane Eldridge | 1 day ago
The New Zealand Warriors have conceded that starting a rugby league team was a “poor business decision” and that the game “probably isn’t their thing."

The confession follows last night’s meek 30-14 resignation to the Dragons at FMG Stadium in Waikato, a loss that extended the club’s streak of wasted potential to 22 years.

Playing with a virtual international team in their own conditions against an injury-depleted opposition, the Warriors lived up to expectations and caved spectacularly.

Most notably it was their star-studded spine who gifted the hardy gathering of confused rugby union fans in Waikato a night they’ll never forget, turning on a performance more anonymous than the opposing quartet of playmakers they lined up against.

In the end it was a six tries to three demolition that tidily complemented the spluttering narrative of their underwhelming season and hence their existence.

However, this bewildering implosion was unlike those before it, as it ultimately revealed the organisation does have a pulse.

The failure triggered the club into action, with a root-and-branch review conducted to determine the viability of being a professional disappointment.

Following the recommendations of the review, the Warriors will now restructure their business model and cease trading in rugby league altogether.

Many business experts have pointed out the high degree of financial risk this poses for the club, with a 260 per cent reduction in revenue forecast from no longer flogging off 25 switch jerseys per season.

But the club believes winding up rugby league operations will open up an exciting opportunity to concentrate exclusively on exploring “the best fit for their brand”, which will probably result in them becoming a specialist Nines outfit.

While acknowledging any day involving the word ‘brand’ to be one of deep sadness, the Warriors paid tribute to their decorated history of disappointment in the “conventional but highly complex 65-minute version of the game”.

The club highlighted the successful campaigns of 2002 and 2011 and made special mention of the organisation’s greatest spike in popularity when then-owner Eric Watson reportedly beat up Russell Crowe in the toilets.

The Warriors will now see out the season with an “orderly wind-down” of football operations, meaning a negligible change in product quality.

The club plans to re-launch in 2019 under a new business model concentrating largely on assets consolidation.

This will be mainly based on a shrewd strategy of abstaining from routinely sacking one coach every year.

http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/05/20/warriors-concede-rugby-league-isnt-working/

this is just such an odd article. It is legit?

Blair

I think I've put the Penrith game to bed but I have been avoiding one particular mate who's a Panthers fan. I've done well, in a small town, for nearly two weeks but got sprung in the supermarket yesterday (as you do).

He was OK I suppose but had a leering grin on his face saying it was the 'greatest game ever'. What griped me was when, upon departing, he said, "the worst part about it was knowing that the Warriors are the only side we'll be able to do that to'.

That last part stung.

JJ

I think I've put the Penrith game to bed but I have been avoiding one particular mate who's a Panthers fan. I've done well, in a small town, for nearly two weeks but got sprung in the supermarket yesterday (as you do).

He was OK I suppose but had a leering grin on his face saying it was the 'greatest game ever'. What griped me was when, upon departing, he said, "the worst part about it was knowing that the Warriors are the only side we'll be able to do that to'.

That last part stung.
Well, they just did it to Newcastle - but not thinking that will make you feel better

vvvrulz

The problem with the Moneyball theory is you still have to do it right. With idiots steering it you'll get Jono Wright, Danger Neilson and Plod Lowrie; instead of scoring 1% players you get lifelong Aussie scapegoats while the local slackers get a free pass every week.

But you're dead right, that's where Kearney should be looking.
If we go down this 'bring back the boys' path we're not going anywhere as a club for a long time.

Hey good on the Kiwis for finding some recent success, but Captain Coke summed up where that culture is headed.

Blair

I thought we got mocked last night on ABC Radio Grandstand, did anyone else hear it? If so, were you comforable with it all?

During the broadcast of both games they raised a question asking 'who ever went to the Warriors and improved as a player?'

Two of them went away and composed a team and coach, and the whole on-air broadcast team were in stitches at who they came up with, i.e. Gene Ngamu at centre.

They also made fun of their tipping, having a crack at the 'fluky ones who backed the Warriors', or that was the perception I got (as a very loyal listener).

I didn't enjoy it at all. I'd expect that from crass, commercial Triple M, but not the public broadcaster. I don't think they'd treat a Sydney team like that

Let's win on Friday night and show them we're not a complete joke.