Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

more good oil- T.Smith is being chased hard by the dogs and.

GAME FIRST

We are in danger of losing another world beater in the position we need the most help in- our halves!!

I can in fact reveal Manly and Canterbury are bidding for T. Smiths services- so keen that Des Hasler's assistant coach- G Toovey was inspecting our gun at parra stadium last sat night in premier league and apparently left before firsts began!

The dogs are sniffing and have bee so impressed by him from last year when they inquired about his contract- well they have made him an offer of some kind

The kid is confused a bit but apparently Coach Smithy does not see him as priority-- da ja vu?

Anyway he would like to stay but parra have not got a day to waist now!

Again boys from impecable source-

Feleti Mateo was looked at by the tigers but parra were quick before more clubs got serious- top young athlete and quiet guy off the field but all strength and aggreesion on it with skill---future lock but 5/8 skills!

I keep saying we should be spending mony on these kids rather than big money on imports

Twizzle said:
I keep saying we should be spending mony on these kids rather than big money on imports

And then there are others who complain we don't chase any players of quality.

Damned if they do and damned if they don't. :roll:

GAME FIRST

Please Colonel, this is a debate of opinions -so the only way of getting views accross is to speak from the heart as well as the head!

Anyway if you are saying that our retention and recruitment has been good or bad dont know what way you lean- here is a list
PJ MARSH
W TONGA
I HINDMARSH
J CAYLESS
C ROBINSON
B HODGSON
D HECKENBERG

AND TALLIS LET GO BY SMITH BECAUSE "HE HAS A FEW WEAKNESSES IN HI GAME AND IS A BENCH PLAYER "

If you think that is good work by Smithy then you are easily pleased and miis the whole point of being a head coach!

Your job is to foresee talent and nuture it - especially the best ones which are on my above list-

WELL THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED FOR WHATEVER REASON YOU WANT TO SPIN!!!!

GAME FIRST said:
Please Colonel, this is a debate of opinions -so the only way of getting views accross is to speak from the heart as well as the head!

No worries. Don't mind you debating. As I said the club is damned if they sign new players of first grade quality and damned if they don't. Thats my view.

Also can you please again quit with the caps lock. Its not needed.

maybe I'm old fashioned, but I would like to see us develop for another year and then unleash these good juniors. I would get more satisfaction out of that than being like the chooks and buying a premiership (or trying to)

we just dont seem to buy the really good players that we need

our recent best buy has probably been Morris, and two weeks ago he was in premmy league

and one of our latest releases, Tonga is now playing SOO, after only half a season

GAME FIRST

well sir Colonel, Brisbane and the Dogs are nver damned but only congratulated and growing in thier recruitment and retention!!!!!

So there is a better way to do what we have done!!

We have done poorly on these fronts so thats why we are damned Colonel!!!

True, but had Vaealiki and Lyon been playing first grade and Harris not injured at the Dogs early in the year it would have been a case of Willie who? He had a good offer from the Dogs and a better offer from the Eels.He took the former.

Clarkieel

GAME FIRST said:

Anyway if you are saying that our retention and recruitment has been good or bad dont know what way you lean- here is a list
PJ MARSH
W TONGA
I HINDMARSH
J CAYLESS
C ROBINSON
B HODGSON
D HECKENBERG

AND TALLIS LET GO BY SMITH BECAUSE "HE HAS A FEW WEAKNESSES IN HI GAME AND IS A BENCH PLAYER "

If you think that is good work by Smithy then you are easily pleased and miis the whole point of being a head coach!

Your job is to foresee talent and nuture it - especially the best ones which are on my above list-

WELL THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED FOR WHATEVER REASON YOU WANT TO SPIN!!!!

Ok Well My opinion!!
PJ MARSH - was poached before june 30 I believe
W TONGA - wanted to play first grade and wasnt going to get it before our "international" centres
I HINDMARSH - A country boy wanting to move back to the farm
J CAYLESS - Nothing on his brother
C ROBINSON - dont know a lot about him to be honest
B HODGSON - was scared of the ball ever since he played SOO chancge of club seems to have cured him
D HECKENBERG - Can't keep every player! We already had props in Cayles and Micky V plus our other off season buys.

GAME FIRST

Mate if you think that Tonga was not worth keeping at all costs when we resigned blokes like Langi, Peterson, VaELIKI and Muspratt and Muckert and MIO MOI and Kafusi AND etc and etc
I watched Tonga for a couple of years and everyone except Smithy saw something unique in his play - not enough to stop 12 clubs seeing this talent that we thought these others were more important!!!

This is one example and i can go on with Grothes signing - a winger of all things and Kativerata et etc -

IF THIS MONEY SPENT ON ALL THESE WAS FLOWED INTO TONGAS DEAL HE WOULD HAVE STAYED ESPECIALLY WHEN VAEALIKI WAS DOWN IN FORM !!

Bottom line is guys we can't lose Tim Smith, he will be the next superstar he just needs time. If he does leave beacuse Parra dont rate him then god help Brian Smith. All he meeds is one year in 1st div srely people at Parra can see his talent, are they f**ken blind!!!

Clarkieel

Vaeliki would still have been played before Tonga and yes if we had hindsight and new Lyon was going to do a runner Tonga probably would have been resigned. He was offered aa contract he just didnt take it so tell me how that is SMithys fault?
also please explain what was wrong with sogning Grothe??

GAME FIRST said:
Mate if you think that Tonga was not worth keeping at all costs when we resigned blokes like Langi, Peterson, VaELIKI and Muspratt and Muckert and MIO MOI and Kafusi AND etc and etc

Firstly, I won't ask again about the caps lock.

Secondly, I would have loved to have kept Tonga. He chose to leave. The deal he was offered would have paid him more than what the Dogs gave him. He would have been paid for first grade games he played. With Lyon leaving after 1 he would have had a chance to play 25 and walk away vvery happy with his deal.

Thirdly, Langi was signed because Tonga left.

Game First you have some valid points we signed rejects instead of keeping talent.

Game first,
I believe Tim Smith is a Parra fan does he want to leave himself or is he just going to test the market??

GAME FIRST

leasa are you in disneyland?
J CAYLESS was not wanted and is now an international
PJ MARSH left because of Smithys coaching and is state of origin class
TONGA was chased by 12 clubs- how many would chase Vaeliki? 1 or 2 if lucky!

This is the point - spotting talent before other clubs !!!!!

Eelectrica

The fact the Canterbury are chasing speaks volumes. No point in bringing players through the grades for other teams to reap the benefits. Seems like a no brainer to me, sign him up.

Tonga could have played wing or fullback for us, if Lyon and Freshie were OK

GAME FIRST

Colonel, you have no idea- we offered Tonga a base plus bonuses where all other 11 or 12 clubs were offering a big base larger than ours as well as a first grade position -we could not even tell him he would be in first grade-- no joke but fact because smithy saw others better than he is which has proven wrong- hasnt it Colonel?

Get your facts exact when debating with me or dont bother responding to my topics!

By the way i wont use caps any more for your sake as well as others as they annoy you so much!