Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Musicians and songwriters of the forum

Who among you are musicians?

Who among you are songwriters?

Though it might be a good idea to have a thread to chew the fat, share ideas, solve problems etc.

I'm both - as a hobbyist.

I run Cuebase Studio 4, which I love, although it's complicated, and I'm only a novice at it. I use the amp simulators that come with it, and rely on the inbuilt audio gear to produce.

I'm a guitarist. I used to play live, but that's many moons (and a family) ago. I sold all my gear except for my 2 strats, a cheap PA and a Digitech that I use on the rare occasions when a live gig comes up.

I also bought a Maton ECW 80 last year - first decent acoustic I ever had. I love it, and it has extended my style to incorporate elements of folk into my old rock/blues/metal habits. I find it perfect for recording.

I've also got a cheap Samik bass. When Lotto gives me a big win, it will become a Fander Jazz Geddy Lee.

I'm also into amp simulation, mainly because I'm more into songwriting these days than live work. I've used Guitar Rig, but prefer the amp sims on Studio 4 because I think they have better clarity, although not as many bells and whistles.

Anyway, that's my story. Who else is into this sh*t?

And first question - can someone recommend a good vocal mic for recording? It has to make someone who sounds like Bob Dylan sound like Robert Plant LOL!

Bass. The underrated instrument.

My local guitar dealer tells me of a junket he went on to the Fender factory in California. They were waiting for the guitar product manager to come on and announce the new guitar lines, but first the bass product manager came on. Obviously, the guitar heads were bored. The bass manager picked up on this, and said "YOU ALL SHOULD BE SELLING MORE BASSES!"

"Why?"

"Because next time you go to a nightclub, you'll see everyone dancing to a bassline!"

What have you got?

Ron Jeremy

Yes and Yes

However i haven't played for over a year now, just haven't had time, need to get my guitar fixed.

I've probably written about 200 songs, the majority with chords, solo's etc put on them.

Use to write solo's for people as well, they'd send me a tape of the chords etc, then i'd whip up a guitar solo for them pretty much within an hour of their request when not busy.

Mr. Fahrenheit

Bass. The underrated instrument.

My local guitar dealer tells me of a junket he went on to the Fender factory in California. They were waiting for the guitar product manager to come on and announce the new guitar lines, but first the bass product manager came on. Obviously, the guitar heads were bored. The bass manager picked up on this, and said "YOU ALL SHOULD BE SELLING MORE BASSES!"

"Why?"

"Because next time you go to a nightclub, you'll see everyone dancing to a bassline!"

What have you got?

This was my first electric instrument, and could only spend around $1000 including amp. So i went with a $500 worth Yamaha RBX 170, which is much better that the fender squire range IMO, which seems to be the stock beginner bass. I went with a Fender Rumble 60w amp, which should be good for a couple of years, as i'll look to upgrade on the guitar rather than both the amp + guitar.

Haha, yeah thats a good point about nightclubs etc. I prefer bass in most types of music, but really things like Primus, early Metallica, Tool shows that it infact should be rated higher than it is. Many reckon its easier to play than guitar, but mates and i had a discussion, and came at the conclusion that its probably alot easier to play than guitar, but its just as hard to master. Anyway, what bass do you have strat?

Ron Jeremy

How much of your stuff is recorded, Ron?

Geez dude not sure, might have to dive into my archives ( the rubbish and sh*t i have in boxes here lol).

I have recorded some lead online, nothing flash just me f**king around, not premediated whilst some mates were over once, i'll try and find it for you, it's pretty fast.

Ron Jeremy

As for lyrics, i'll have to try and find them, there here somewhere but i lost all passion for playing and writing 2 years ago due to my style, I like late 70's/80's rock, people prefer You am I and the Ramones lol

GC_Gladiator

I play bass and have done for about 7 years now I guess. I own a Musicman Stingray 5 and a warwick streamer lx 4, played through a Genz Benz 600 with a 210. The setup fits me perfectly with a main and backup bass. I play locally a bit with a band and where preparing to get in and do an ep within the next week or so. Traditionally played hard rock but am now doing soft acoustic alternative rock and i am finding alot more room.

I am atm looking to buy a decent acoustic just to really muck around on. Thinking of probably a Maton EM225. Should be decent enough to keep around for a while but not over the top. Any thoughts?

Simo

Bass is like the drums, they are the backbone to the music but all the flash stuff is done by the lead guitarist and singer and as such every kid wants to be like his hero who fronts the stage.

+ few bass players in mainstream music do the instrument justice (which can be said for all instruments I guess these days)

I play guitar, am crap at lyrics and singing but do for myself. I record with Cakewalk Sonar, play a cort guitar (accoustic and electric) and run a Marshall AVT 150 half stack......way to big for way I play now but was great when playing live.

I have many song ideas recorded and jotted down but since family came along am struggling to get time to finish my CD.

But Axl Rose inspires me in that I can not release anything for 10 years and still livei n the hope that im going to!!!

I recently got a TC electronics effects rack unit, unfortunately havent had time to really play it but am hoping to soon.

As for vocals, what do you record them through? I dont mean a mic, but are there effects or studio tricks that can dress mutton (my voice) as lamb??

Cool thread, I like this sort of stuff.

CliffyIsGod

Guitar. Have:
1957 Fender Strat with Lace Sensor Pickups
Reverend Slingshot Two P90's
Marshall JCM900 50watt with Celestion Vintage speakers
Big Muff
DD2
Phase 90
Fender Blender

Yay!

I used to play Drums, keyboards and a bit of bass up until about 3 years ago.

I used to prefer writing songs. Ron seemed keen to use some of my poetry for songs a few years ago. ;-)

I play bass and have done for about 7 years now I guess. I own a Musicman Stingray 5 and a warwick streamer lx 4, played through a Genz Benz 600 with a 210. The setup fits me perfectly with a main and backup bass. I play locally a bit with a band and where preparing to get in and do an ep within the next week or so. Traditionally played hard rock but am now doing soft acoustic alternative rock and i am finding alot more room.

I am atm looking to buy a decent acoustic just to really muck around on. Thinking of probably a Maton EM225. Should be decent enough to keep around for a while but not over the top. Any thoughts?
Never played a Musicman, but I have heard great stuff about the. What's it like to play?

Re the accoustic: 18 months ago I lashed out on a Maton ECW 80 - their cheapest solid body - non laminate (for $2500!!!). Love it to death. Matons have a great tone.

BUt check out Cole Clarkes. Muych less expensive - the Fat Lady range is their equivalent to the ECW 80 - and much less inexpensive. Cole and Clarke used to be luthiers for Maton. Heaps of live players use the Fat Ladies. They have a lovely, bright sound, and are easier to play IMHO. I went for the Maton for it's distinct tone. BUt very imperssed with the Cole Clarkes. They have solid - non laminate - guitars in the EM225 price range. The EM225 has a laminated top. If you can, go solid. Much better sound reproduction, as the laminate tends to inhibit vibrations.

Bass is like the drums, they are the backbone to the music but all the flash stuff is done by the lead guitarist and singer and as such every kid wants to be like his hero who fronts the stage.

+ few bass players in mainstream music do the instrument justice (which can be said for all instruments I guess these days)

I play guitar, am crap at lyrics and singing but do for myself. I record with Cakewalk Sonar, play a cort guitar (accoustic and electric) and run a Marshall AVT 150 half stack......way to big for way I play now but was great when playing live.

I have many song ideas recorded and jotted down but since family came along am struggling to get time to finish my CD.

But Axl Rose inspires me in that I can not release anything for 10 years and still livei n the hope that im going to!!!

I recently got a TC electronics effects rack unit, unfortunately havent had time to really play it but am hoping to soon.

As for vocals, what do you record them through? I dont mean a mic, but are there effects or studio tricks that can dress mutton (my voice) as lamb??

Cool thread, I like this sort of stuff.

I consider myself a good lyric writer - sadly a crap voice that doesn't reproduce well when recorded. I did some stuff for a mate who works at Channel 9. He got one of their producers to tidy it up. He put flange on my voice - and doubled it with a slight delay - and sounded heaps better.

I find I need a condenser mic to pick up the nuances in my voice better. I avoid SM58 and PG 58's like the plague. I sound like I'm singing into cardboard on them!

My gear:
Fender Strat 1978 with Symour Duncan Hot Stack in bridge position
Fender Strat Japanese 1986/7 with black headstock, and factory bridge humbucker
Maton ECW 80
Samik bass
and old sh*tty Roland keyboard
and old Scorpion PA and a Digitech amp sim.
I record clean into the computer. Record with Cuebase Studio 4, using amp sims. Does the job.

Is there anywhere to compare our stuff?

I have like cliffy a fender strat with lace sensor pickups
2 x Marshall JCM900 50W and a 100W twin speaker .
boss GT3 Multi effects....never use it.
shure mic can't remember the number ...it is the one evryone uses though.
In my band
I sing.
I write lyrics and songs.
I play lead guitar.
however...we are a bit different in that we all sing ( 4 of us) and the other guitarist and I Swap lead guitar roles.
We all write songs as well...but never together.
e.g If he sings I will do the lead stuff and vice versa.
We all have quite different styles.
I have been compared to Nick Cave..I can't see it myself...dark topics for songs maybe.
The bass player is the real singer in the band ....so he does all the tricky harmonies.
The other guitarist is a bit of a greeny and will come along with ripping rock n roll songs about sheep getting shipped to the middle east.
The drummer is the cool one in the band.
He is a black fella with all the rhythm.

What's you band called? And what's your lead style?

We have been in hiatus from playing live for ages while we write enough original stuff top play live.

We were called at one point The Chappellie's
Then... Vagrants in the park.
Night in Haiti.

now..? Dunno.
We lost our old bass player and decided to flick covers.
So we are a different band now.

Lifetime is one name getting thrown around.
It is a Rollerball song ( QLD band).

My style is lazy.
I play the same solo in every song.
I will sit down and make one up and try to always play it note for note.
Pentatonic based mostly ...pretty boring.
I do good slow song solo's. Years of listening to Dave Gilmour.

Nothing wrong with that. I got into the same rut, only just starting to learn more stuff now.

I learned by listening to Angus Young's take on blues. You know - right hand flat out hoping the left keeps up. I have added some licks from blokes like Clapton, Iommi, Schenker, Page, and some of the blues masters. I tap like EVH occasionally, except I learned it wrong. He hammers on, I pull off. My version of Eruption has every lick played in reverse....

I can't even get near blokes like Malmsteen, Morse or Satch.

GC_Gladiator

Never played a Musicman, but I have heard great stuff about the. What's it like to play?

Re the accoustic: 18 months ago I lashed out on a Maton ECW 80 - their cheapest solid body - non laminate (for $2500!!!). Love it to death. Matons have a great tone.

BUt check out Cole Clarkes. Muych less expensive - the Fat Lady range is their equivalent to the ECW 80 - and much less inexpensive. Cole and Clarke used to be luthiers for Maton. Heaps of live players use the Fat Ladies. They have a lovely, bright sound, and are easier to play IMHO. I went for the Maton for it's distinct tone. BUt very imperssed with the Cole Clarkes. They have solid - non laminate - guitars in the EM225 price range. The EM225 has a laminated top. If you can, go solid. Much better sound reproduction, as the laminate tends to inhibit vibrations.

The stingray is fantastic. Really nice low action and they have there own tone to them. Definitely not as versatile as a Jazz but the playability just makes it one of the best around in the price range. The Warwick wasn't a cheap bass and is quite nice but has a neck like a baseball bat.

I'll keep your advice re the maton in mind. The Cole Clark is definitely in the price range as well.

Got any recordings Carch- post a link?