Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My attempt at a serious thread

Bazal said:
Mate that is horrible! It must have been awful not knowing what happened, and wondering if there was anything that could have been done. I'd die if I lost a child...to lose a wife and child...I can't imagine anything worse..

That's the worst part. Not knowing about it, and not knowing how to prevent it. The paediatrician had given her a clean bill of health two weeks prior, and she never complained of chest pains or any other symptoms pertaining to the heart.

Losing my son was heart wrenching. My wife and I knew that we were going to have a son and I remember teasing her about how he was going to grow up and play halfback for the Panthers and stuff like that. One touching moment that I remember from the funeral was a good friend of mine placing a minature Panthers footy ball on top of the coffin.

I would never wish what I've been through on anyone.

Martli

Dani said:
I didn't know about the sunlight thing, but i have noticed that since i've been going for regular daily walks, just around the neighbourhood, i have been feeling a lot better.

I've never had depression, but I always feel better on a sunny day :)

As for walking, I can't stress how much doing regular exercise changed my life and boosted my self-confidence. Exercising not only makes you physically stronger, but mentally stronger as well. I would say the gains I made in mental strength were far superior than the gains (mostly losses actually :p) I made in my physique. It is also great for helping bad sleep patterns because if you go for a walk, say before dinner or something, chances are you'll be pretty buggered and wont have any choice but to have an early one. You know what else walks are great for? Thinking! I've made so many important life descions whilst on a walk (Don't walk much anymore but that's where I started out). It's a great chance to detach from the world around you in a healthy way and start making plans for your future. You're on the right track there!

Another little tip from the mart-dawg, is do a bit of soul-searching and decide what you want to do with your life. This is probably one of the hardest things to do and will probably take you ages to figure out fully, but when you set yourself a path to go on you'll gain confidene because you'll know that some day you are going to make an impact on the world. It also gives your life a sense of direction which can be calming becuase when the world is getting you down, you know that you've still got your dreams ahead. I say just get out there and start exploring the options, what things interest you? What is your passion?

Hope that helps.

les norton

I just wanted to say how amazing strong you all are. I wish I had half the strength
I never thought I would see the day when reading a thread in the FFB would make me feel anything.
You are all very brave to share you stories and I cannot tell you how sorry I am for your loss Bazal and TMP. My son is my world.

Exercise has actually been shown to improve the symptoms of mild depression more so than meds...so listen to Martli - he is onto something :)

Crusher

Dani,

in a few years you'll look back and say 'I'm glad I got over those days'. As you get older and start to mingle in society your confidence grows naturally. Believe it or not I was quite shy until my early to mid 20's.

The nature of what I do forced me to change that as I'm sure you'll experience as you grow a little older. As for the HSC, once you find a job you love you'll go 'pffft to the HSC'. Its not the be all and end all. You'll realise that too. Hey, I went to Uni and in the end it had no bearing on my career.

Don't let any bugger put you down. Try twice as hard to prove them wrong then one day your terrible teens will be a distant memory.

it certainly looks like you are growing stronger Dani

what doesn't kill us makes us stronger

most of you know what I've ben through so I'm not going to repeat it

Jono Russell

No one knows what i've been through. but thats for another time.

Some sad stories in here. Sorry to everyone.

My motto in life has allways been

"everything will be ok in the end, if it's not ok then it's not the end"

[furrycat]

Twizzle said:
it certainly looks like you are growing stronger Dani

what doesn't kill us makes us stronger

most of you know what I've ben through so I'm not going to repeat it

I don't? :(

Crusher

[furrycat] said:

Furry I wouldn't dare speak on behalf of Twiz only to say next time we have a problem or issue, think twice about how lucky some of us really are.

Jono Russell

I think about all these problems we all have but in the end we all should think our selves lucky to be in the country that we are in and live the lives that we do. Imagine how hard and so so bad life would be for 3rd world countries. they deal with death like we change our undies.

This isn't a festing thread Crush mate... please.

Personally I haven't had the obstacles others have. Yeah, I complain about my life and I get on real downers sometimes but I've found myself, particularly in the last, say, 24 months, to be a pretty outgoing and positive person, at least internally. Externally I probably appear to be an easily wound up stresshead and wanker but I guess that's the facade that goes up around people. I did hit some big lows a couple of years back but I made the decision to go from unemployed and uneducated to where I am now... working fulltime and getting on with life.

Crusher

I'm not festing Timmah. I have been quite serious in here if you read back. I'm only have one post that tries to lighten things up in what is otherwise a serious issue. I've found in life that if you you can make people have a bit of a giggle it can take your mind off soem more serious problems.

Yes we all have problems, some more serious than others but drowning in your sorrows isn't the best thing either.

When my cousin died in a car accidemnt last year the funeral was a laugh fest to celebrate his life. Thats how I remember him.

If a joke offends then I apologise

Jono Russell

I agree to a point with the CRUSH MAN.

I believe that you should enjoy a funeral to some extent. have a laugh and remember the great times.

I don't think I've been to funeral where it hasn't been like that at some point. Most recently I said goodbye to my nan (July last year), and while the service was sad of course, the spirit of everyone at the wake and the smiles and laughter was testament to her humour and jovial spirit. Years earlier my friend lost his mum to cancer and I recall that service and wake being very morbid, it's almost unbearable. I very much agree with the sentiment that funerals should be a celebration of life, not a commiseration of death... but I suppose my rambling indicates that's a different line of discussion.