Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My Nod prediction

imasharkie said:
Don't you love waking up this morning a Queenslander.

Waking up next to your naked sister?

Nope, I'll take the colour blue thanks.

Or should I say for you northerners...

I'll <pause> Take <pause> The <pause> Colour <pause> Blue.

Sllllllllllllllllllloooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwllllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyy.

ghoti

millersnose said:
lol..its special air that allows these 80 meter jkicks

Hahahaha. I was thinking the same thing.

Gee you have to be a cold bastard to give Noddy an assessment like that Frenzy. I do, however, agree that his attack with the ball in hand was bordering on painful...but I thought he could get away with that IF he had options around him, or at least a 5/8 who has a move other than an inside flick pass. We rarely shifted the ball, and when we did, it got halted at Anasta or one of the other 12 dickheads who refused to run onto the ball.

Both sides were boring tonight...Hayne constructed that type of game. Harrigan was a master referee in Origin, blew the same penalty count as Hayne, but while he gave leeway, didn't accept blatant disrespect on the part of the players. Hayne left that game looking like a fool.

Kimmorley's defence was excellent. His tenacity brilliant. His kicking game was better than Lockyer's or Thurston's. He was great...and I hate to say this since I've given the bloke so much sh*t in the past...but I was actually kinda proud of him. It was a good effort that I hope we see brought back to club level. But the fact remains, the man hasn't go an idea with the ball in hand. Gould gave him sh*t about not running to the line, but I thought him feeding the backs early was a good idea...give Cooper some space....but our centres were woeful...the problem was Noddy not changing things up again.

To me, he looked scared of throwing an intercept pass...didn't even come close to passing anywhere near a Maroon jumper.

Mass changes needed for Game 3...but Noddy to keep his spot.

sharknows

The NSW forwards last night had no idea of where to run to recieve a pass from noddy. Noddy isn't quick enough any more to make the individual brilliant breaks like Thurston. But he also didn't have the runners that Thurston always seems to have running to the half gaps, at angles or as decoy etc. I think it is difficult for any halback to shine with that dysfunctional in attack pack of NSW.
I also thought that our backs did not challenge for the ball on most of our high kicks. It seemed they were happy to be there just to tackle the qld catcher or hope for them to spill it.
Graham Murray must take some responsibility for the lack of cohesion throughout the whole team.

spider

give it to bellamy in 08 - no questions now after 2 consecutive series losses

muzz is not up to preparing at origin level

Inferno

Bellamy would be my choice.

Ideally though it should go to a coach who is not a current NRL coach.

spider

i think bellamy is sensational value as a coach and could balance both duties

not to mention the laughs he delivers when the camera shoots to him on the box for his reactions - lol

imagine if he was coach last night and the shots in the firtst half with the maroons manipulating the play the ball like they were

and at least he would have had a message out there to rectify it

cant believe hayne thought he would get an open free flowing game without blowing the whistle - it proved to be the farkin opposite

he is a twit that bloke, should have blown an early penalty for the ruck - then it would have flowed

still - murray should have addressed it while still in the first half and matched them

/rant

I agree 100% Spide, for what that's worth anyway.

Hayne must have pumped up on old tapes of Billy the Bad Boy Harrigan. Pity he doesn't hold the same respect, authority, ability or aptitude.

hammo1405

I also agree. Hayne's publicly said before that he idolises and models his refereeing on Billy Harrigan.

Well the fact is mate, unlike Bll Harrigan, you don't have the respect of the players. It took Price and co abuot two rucks to work out Hayne wasn't gonna penalise them for laying all over the shop. It took Hayne 70 minutes to work out what Price and co were doing. Back to first grade. I still haven't forgiven him for that fateful night at Parra Stadium.

As to Bellamy, he's undoubtedly a gun coach, but I'm not so sure about taking NRL coaches as Origin coaches. I reckon the best Origin coaches have been those from outside the NRL eg Gus & Fatty and look at the run Meninga's having. I can't think of any real candidates though, but if there was an option of a NSW coach not tied to an NRL club, I'd take it.

Graham Murray simply has no idea.

millersnose

yeah

all thats needed is a motivator really

raudonikis slapping them in the sheds

i think what was really needed for nsw was a stoush

millersnose said:
yeah

all thats needed is a motivator really

raudonikis slapping them in the sheds

i think what was really needed for nsw was a stoush

f*ck, I'm agreeing with you too Millers.

Old Tommy boy would have them hyped and ready to go. They'd be like a trucky with a gutfull of pills.

And I'm pretty sure one Mr. Quigley would agree.

Its one thing to have a stoush, its another thing to have the ammunition to handle a stoush.

Dead set half our blokes would of had trouble battling their way out of a CWA Bingo Hall.

State Of Origin is Dead in the water if it keeps going the sanitised way it is. It's like having a heavyweight title fight ........... no ......... its now like the heavyweight title fight between Aussie Joe Buueeegner and the Yank bloke that threw one punch and threw his shoulder out.

That to me that is indicative of State Of Origin RL today compared to what it was when it was fair dinkum.

But hey - build it and they will come. See the ratings, see the mass hysteria... see the imposters.

Arrrrh f**k it, I am not upset. It is just another fine example of how so few can f**k up so much in such a short time.

What do the Masters of the Universe charge the average Joe Blow to go to the State of O (bit of Dylanish Poetry there) these days. If it was me - I'd be asking for a refund.

The best bit of news about last nights game was that Rampagin' Roy was back in the No1 commentary team. Anyone that calls Cooper "Brown Pants" for the entire game is a genius. For those who couldn't work out why they were calling him "Brown Pants" was because he was sh!tting himself.

Declared Idiot #88

millersnose said:
lol..its special air that allows these 80 meter jkicks

Yep, but it's not in the balls millers. It's in the design of the stadium and how the winds you get at "open" grounds don't have the same effect.

Watch the Telstra games from now on mills. You'll learn something new. Everyone kicks longer at Telstra.

spider

that drop out last night had the same air/distance as covell's did the other week

except when the ball bounced last night it took a farkin great break and ran another 20m

spider said:
that drop out last night had the same air/distance as covell's did the other week

except when the ball bounced last night it took a farkin great break and ran another 20m

Still stands. Kicks go further at Telstra.

I suspect you are well aware of it as well. :lol:

Jimbo

Inferno said:
Isn't our winning record at Telstra absolutely shocking?

We're 1 from 1 so far this year. We get another shot at it next week

Four wins out there this year would do very nicely though...