Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan Brown v Wayne Bennett

Woosh

Head Moderator
It's interesting watching so many people on this forum bag out Bennett for signings using hindsight, but in reality at the time I don't recall much disappointment regarding the signings.

People seem to forget the incredible skill that Knights players have had over the years of playing well around contract time before going off the boil once they have signed. I don't recall negativity about Mullen being resigned as he was in good form around contract time. Snowden and Korbin Sims were ranked very highly by knights supporters in the KOTW weekly votes and at that time, no one that I can recall was saying for the club to get rid of them. Heaps of players fell under this category..

I'm the first to admit that with hindsight, these players should not have been re-signed, but at the time it was hard to be critical of what was going on. The price that certain players were paid is an issue I can agree with however. Tyler Randell being a great example. Thanks Hages....

Well said mate.
Mullen was a must re-sign.
Uate.. well I’m sure most fans wanted him to re-sign at the time.

It was Stone and Hagan that cause the big mess.
Any team making Trent Hodkinson your highest paid player deserves 3 straight wooden spoons.

Woosh

Head Moderator
The reality is you guys had some lean years regardless of how much your juniors have been part of your clubs heritage. Bennett came to the club and now your squad is full of promising players when in the years prior you weren't (remember George Carmont?) . If a monkey couldve done it, why did you have the lean years? Obviously something went wrong and needed changing. To think a coach that has a good history of promoting youngsters didn't have anything to do with turning that around is imo, disingenuous. I mean it was even announced in his move that his priority was to help bring the juniors through to reach first grade, because of your history with them.

“It’s all on the back of good structures that Wayne has put in place and programs like the High Performance Unit (HPU).”

https://www.newcastleknights.com.au/news/2014/06/23/behind-the-armour-future-knights/

From Danny Buderus and Paul Harragon through to current stars Adam Clydsdale and Kurt Gidley, the Knights have always blooded exciting new talent from the Hunter region's vast array of juniors.

Talk to those inside the Club and it’s a production line that continues to roll out.

Just ask Knights’ recruitment officer Peter Mulholland, a bloke who has worked with some of the best juniors in the NRL as a coach and recruiter throughout an illustrious 19-year career.

Mulholland says the Club's current crop is right up there with the best he has ever seen, including the star-studded Penrith sides from the early 2000s.

“The future is exciting for the club,” Mulholland tells Behind the Armour.

“It’s all on the back of good structures that Wayne has put in place and programs like the High Performance Unit (HPU).

“The juniors we have at the moment are right up there with the best I’ve seen.

“The Canterbury crop that they’ve got at the moment is a great group of kids.

“Penrith was also wonderful in the early 2000s. They included Luke Lewis, Luke Rooney, Steve Turner and Frank Pritchard.

“But this Newcastle group is potentially as good as them.

“So it’s a crest of a wave and we’ve just got to make sure we continue to work hard with them because some kids will fall off and some will get better.

"It’s about how you work with them and the time and effort that you put in that’s important."

While a number of juniors have made their top grade debuts in recent seasons, Mulholland says their promotions have been more reward for form than good planning.

"I suppose it is unconsciously a plan to blood these juniors in the NRL," he admits.

"Like when Adam Clydsdale went and trained full-time with the NRL the year before last and he was in last year.

"You try and identify your three or four best kids that you think are potentials to play NRL in that next season.

“It’s also about making sure they are prepared and ready for it.

“They’ve also got to carry that form back to the 20s and both Joe Tapine and Jake Mamo have showcased that.

“So it’s basically selection on form.”

Following on from the rise of 20s players Mamo and Tapine to the NRL this season, we decided to take a look at the next group of juniors in line to don the famous red and blue in first grade.

With the help of Mulholland and others from around the Club, we've compiled a list of the gun rookies to watch out for in the coming years.

Lachlan Fitzgibbon:

On the back of an impressive effort in the NYC last season, Fitzgibbon has taken his game to another level in 2014.

The local South Newcastle junior started last year in the summer squad, but he remained focused and pushed his way into the 20s team midway through the season.

Mulholland says Fitzgibbon has the ability and potential to become a top grade regular in the red and blue down the track.

"Lachlan is certainly one to keep an eye on," he says.

"He is tall, athletic, great build for a young back-rower.

"The kid still has plenty of learning ahead of him, but he has the work ethic to get there."

macavity

And from that lot only Tapine and Fitzgibbon playing NRL footy - and Tapine left for cash. That’s a really poor result for us.

What is the current recruitment officer going to say, the head coach is doing a shit job?

Spot On

And from that lot only Tapine and Fitzgibbon playing NRL footy - and Tapine left for cash. That’s a really poor result for us.

What is the current recruitment officer going to say, the head coach is doing a shit job?

But, but ... Wayne nurtured, developed and delivered a whole generation of outstanding juniors who have kicked on to become NRL regulars.

Lol.

Desert Qlder

Good to see Brown telephone Bennett to apologise. No doubt embarrassed by his crass comments.

Put it behind them and focus on the footy.

Canard

How do you explain the Broncos crazy inconsistent form this year?

Is he more worried about being balls deep then coaching again?

Noname36

Lol...Bennett said Brown will have to live with himself over this.......

Lmao just when you thought the old fella couldn’t be any more of a dickhead.

It’s even more obvious now Brown is the bigger man but he probably shouldn’t have called him, it was always going to be wasted on someone that’s never taken responsibility for anything.

Noname36

Sione, Lamb, Levi are all playing NRL most weeks.
Cogger and Yates both played NRL.
The Milf Hunter did good things with our juniors can’t deny that.

Wait the same players that you bag out incessantly in the Knights forum??? Some of them you even say have never had any talent??

But now Bennett should be credited for them?

Wait...

LOL do you actually have a real opinion on anything or do you just change your beliefs completely depending on what type of argument you’re trying to win?

You actually are a troll...and a terrible one at that.

Noname36

You have NFI as usual.
I thank Bennett for setting up the high performance unit.
We haven’t developed decent juniors in years.
Sione went to crap soon as Bennett left the town.
If Bennett was still coach, I would say Sione would be a NSW rep.
Stone and Brown has ruined his career.

Lol just give up.

Took you that long to reply because you needed to change your argument AGAIN.

Jason Simmons

Brown gives Wayne a team ready-made for a premiership in 2009 and Wayne repays him with the Knights.

Apart from the 9 players Wayne brought into that Dragons team and the 8 players of Brown’s he flicked. Sure.

17 out of 25 changed isn’t much, you are correct. Why the Dragons ever sacked Brown will remain a mystery for eternity. He had the Dragons right where they needed to be...