Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan Merritt puts his hand up for selection to the NSW Origin squad

Merritt pick works for Inglis
Date
June 19, 2013 - 6:10AM

AAP

The feelgood story of the NSW State of Origin team has also made Queensland strike weapon Greg Inglis happy - for reasons that would wipe the smile off Blues fans' faces.

While stoked South Sydney teammate Nathan Merritt had finally earned a Blues jersey after 10 years trying, Inglis claimed their selection call had played straight into his hands as he planned to get more involved for Queensland.

"I think it will work in my favour because I know his game so well," Inglis said of Merritt being called in to replace the disgraced Blake Ferguson.

"I am glad that he got picked but at the end of the day he is playing for the other side and we have to exploit that."

Advertisement
Inglis has been a revelation as South Sydney fullback but admitted he felt like a "headless chook" as a Queensland centre in their 14-6 Origin I loss to NSW earlier this month.

Inglis averages more than 168m an NRL game wearing the Rabbitohs No.1 jersey but made just 57m from 10 runs as a Maroons three-quarter in Sydney.

It had prompted the likes of ex-NSW centre Mark Gasnier to call for Inglis to be named on the wing in order to get more involved in kick returns and receive more quality ball for their must-win game two clash at Suncorp Stadium on June 26.

Inglis said he was yet to strike up a contingency plan with coach Mal Meninga - but assured Queensland fans there would be as they try to keep their hopes of an eight straight series win alive with an Origin II victory.

"That's something we will speak about in the next few days to get the hands on the ball more," he said.

"But I thought we stuck to our game plan in game one. We just didn't play the best we could have.

"You can't really get frustrated (playing in the centres for Queensland). You have to stick with the gameplan and what is best for us."

Inglis will spearhead a new-look Queensland side in game two after Meninga finally ditched the loyalty card and went for fresh blood - Manly playmaker Daly Cherry-Evans and Canberra enforcer Josh Papalii.

Their inclusion on the bench forced a pack reshuffle that ensured veteran Ashley Harrison and David Shillington were cut for game two.

Inglis was glad the hard-tackling Papalii was on his side this time.

"Every time you play him it's like 'where is he at'? - he's a big boy," Inglis said.

"You don't run at him because you know he can hit."

Nathan Merritt achieves Origin dream at 30
BY:STUART HONEYSETT From: The Australian June 19, 2013 12:00AM

NSW coach Laurie Daley welcomes South Sydney winger Nathan Merritt at the Blues' hotel in Sydney yesterday Picture: Jeff Herbert Source: The Daily Telegraph
NATHAN Merritt thought his time was up.

At 30 years of age the popular South Sydney winger has been knocking on the door of the NSW team for 10 years.

He needs only four more tries to pass 1920s winger Benny Wearing's longstanding record of 144 for the Rabbitohs.

He is regarded, and has been for some time, as one of the best finishers in the game.

And yet he hadn't been able to realise his dream of playing for the Blues.

This year Merritt was in a dogfight in the lead-up to the opening game of the State of Origin series with Canberra's Blake Ferguson, Newcastle's Akuila Uate and Manly's Jorge Taufua to join St George Illawarra's Brett Morris on the wings. In the end Ferguson was chosen because he had the size and strength to handle Maroons centre Greg Inglis. It appeared that fortune again had deserted the Rabbitohs' winger.

"I thought my time was up," Merritt admitted after finally getting the call-up for the Blues yesterday. "I thought I'd never get a chance but I'm here now. I'm honoured and it's an unbelievable feeling.

"I'm looking forward to it. It's hard to describe the emotions that are going on inside me.

"It's something that I've wanted to do for a while now and I'm finally glad I got the opportunity to play in the Blues jumper and represent my state."

Merritt officially found out he was in the team at training yesterday after getting a tap on the shoulder from Souths' football manager Mark Ellison.

The opportunity to join the squad arose after Ferguson was suspended indefinitely, having been charged with indecent assault following a drinking session with Blues teammate Josh Dugan on Sunday.

One man's pain was another man's gain but Merritt took no pleasure from it.

"I didn't know what was going on with Fergo," Merritt said.

"It's sad to see Fergo get suspended but hopefully he gets himself sorted out and surrounds himself with positive people. The circumstances I come in under . . . it's a chance, what more can I say? I'll take this chance and hopefully I can get the opportunity to play good in game two and keep it."

Merritt wasn't the only new face to join the Blues yesterday. Wests Tigers prop Aaron Woods took his place in the team after playing against Brisbane at Suncorp Stadium on Monday night. Like Merritt, his opportunity to join the squad also came about through another man's poor judgment after James Tamou was ruled ineligible for game two after being charged with high-range drink-driving.

Like Merritt, there was a time in his life when he thought playing for NSW was more a dream than a reality.

In 2010 he suffered a horrific hamstring injury and thought he'd be lucky to play again.

"I tore the tendon off the bone and they said I might not ever be able to run at the elite level again, so just to be able to play a game of first-grade after that was a dream come true," Woods said.

Merritt felt the same about being finally picked for the Blues and it would be fair to say the smile wasn't the only thing that was hard to wipe off his face yesterday.

Souths' flying winger had rushed to the hotel yesterday to join the squad for the team photo and had no time to bring anything.

It meant he had to return home to pack his bag but there was no way anyone was going to prise the NSW jumper off his back after he'd waited so long to get it -- even if it was a little too big.

"I've got nothing (with me) at the moment," Merritt said.

"I'll jog back to Redfern. I'll go back like this. I'm proud of the uniform, proud of the state and proud of the Blues."

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...igin-dream-at-30/story-fnca0von-1226665923649

Nathan Merritt finally rewarded with selection in NSW State of Origin side
DEAN RITCHIE THE DAILY TELEGRAPH JUNE 19, 2013 12:00AM 14

AFTER 12 years, 213 NRL games and 148 tries, Nathan Merritt yesterday declared: "I am living the dream.''

Merritt, the South Sydney winger, has been rushed into the NSW side attempting to create Origin history for the suspended Blake Ferguson.

He has proven to be among the most popular selections in Origin's 33-year history.

Merritt becomes the sixth oldest player to debut for NSW behind Tony Butterfield, Max Krilich, Hazem El Masri, John Ferguson and Tommy Raudonikis.

PLAYERS IN CAMP FOR ORIGIN II

He has been trying to be a Blue for 4063 days since debuting for Souths on May 12, 2002.

Souths co-owner Russell Crowe couldn't hide his joy yesterday, tweeting: "Nathan Merritt...that's all I have to say.''

Merritt was completing a Pilates class yesterday when pulled aside by Souths general manager Mark Ellison and told of his NSW call-up.

South Sydney winger Nathan Merritt (R) is welcomed by coach Laurie Daley as he arrives at the Coogee Crown Plaza to take his place in the NSW Blues squad. Picture: Jeff Herbert
"I am living the dream. I am proud of the jumper and proud of the state,'' Merritt said. "It's a great feeling. It's hard to describe the emotions going on inside me.

"It's something I have been wanting to do for a while now and finally I have the opportunity to play in the Blues jumper. It has been a long time.

"I thought my time was up and that I would never get a chance. I'm here now and I honoured, it's an unbelievable feeling. It's a reward for me. I have been hanging around for a while now.

"I definitely won't let it slip away for me. I will prepare myself, stay among the boys and give myself a good preparation. I was totally surprised and totally shocked.''

Merritt has been constantly overlooked - until yesterday. He couldn't believe it when officially told of his elevation by Blues coach Laurie Daley.

"I tried to brush off (the rejections) and not let it concern me,'' Merritt said. "It affects your football if you let it get to you.

"I learned to concentrate on what I have to do in the game ahead of me. It has all paid off now.

Nathan Merritt stretching out with the NSW Blues at a training session today. Picture: Sam Ruttyn
"It affected me earlier in my career, about five years ago. But I am more mature now, enough to understand the things that go on in the football world. I had to bide my time.''

He may be a Queenslander but Souths team-mate Chris McQueen was thrilled for Merritt.

"FINALLY!! So pumped for this guy despite being a proud Qlder,'' he tweeted.

Merritt expressed sorrow for Ferguson's demise but promised to take full advantage of his call-up.

"I didn't know what was going on with `Fergo','' he said. "It's sad to see him get suspended and hopefully he gets himself sorted out and surrounds himself with positive and good people.

"I hope he works everything out. These are the circumstances that gave me a chance. What more can I say. I will take this chance.''

Daley revealed why he opted for Merritt, saying: "Nathan has been on the cusp for a while now. He has been waiting for an opportunity and gets that in one of NSW's biggest-ever games.

"He will be ready. I have coached him and know what he can do. I have no worries about Nathan."

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...e-of-origin-side/story-fni3fbgz-1226665481749

Nathan Merritt's Origin dream realised
BY:STUART HONEYSETT From: The Australian June 22, 2013 12:00AM

Rabbitohs winger Nathan Merritt says only now is he mature enough to handle State of Origin football. Picture: Sam Ruttyn Source: The Daily Telegraph
THERE was a time when Nathan Merritt used to believe that his glaring omission from the NSW State of Origin side year after year had more to do with the colour of his skin than anything else. He knows now that's not the case.

"I remember something happened in '07 where I came out with something and it just blew up out of proportion then," the indigenous winger told The Weekend Australian.

"I didn't know what I had to do to actually make it. When you look back at it now I know what kind of players they're looking for and I didn't suit the kind of Origin winger that they wanted.

"I understand not getting picked. They probably wanted to go with a big centre or a big winger or size or someone that can score a try or something like that."

Size has always been Merritt's enemy. Growing up in the inner-city streets of Waterloo and Alexandria, the South Sydney winger had harboured a dream of playing basketball. He was no different to any other indigenous kid who grew up hooked on Michael Jordan tearing up the courts for the Chicago Bulls.

Lucky for Merritt he also had rugby league. A game was only ever as far away as the fence at Redfern Oval, which he used to jump over every afternoon with his cousins - Canberra's Reece Robinson and Penrith's Travis Robinson - to play a game in the in-goal area.

The rest of the family was just as crazy about football and even crazier when it came to supporting the Rabbitohs. "We've always been Souths supporters and it was great to be a supporter as a kid of a team and then have an opportunity when you get older to play with the club that you love."

Merritt made his debut for the Rabbitohs in 2002. Apart from a two-year stint at Cronulla from 2004-05 (he managed only 19 first grade games but was a standout player for the reserve grade Newtown Jets in '05) he has played 194 games for the club.

He drew his inspiration from St George Illawarra flyer Nathan Blacklock and while he was able to copy his knack of being around the ball at exactly the right place and time, he admits he never attempted to master the post-try celebration backflip.

Merritt topped the NRL's tryscorers list in 2006 (he became the first player to do so from a club to finish last) but he couldn't crack it for a spot in the City Origin side to face Country the following season.

It prompted him to declare his non-selection must have been due to a "Souths thing or a racial thing."

The fire was fuelled by close friend Anthony Mundine, who maintained that his own NRL representative career had been stifled due to racist elements within the game.

"Choc's (Mundine) always played a massive part in my career," Merritt said. "Just giving me guidance, keeping me lifted and keeping me positive about things."

The anger stayed with Merritt and probably only intensified every year he missed out on Blues selection. It started to subside when Michael Maguire took over the coaching reins at Redfern and it dawned on him that maybe he should look within for answers.

"Even though I'm a bit older now I think I'm at that stage where I'm mature enough and I'm at that standard now.

"Just having that mentality stamped in me from being around Madge (Maguire) and having been coached by him for the last two years. You really get a feel for hard training and mental toughness. I think Madge has been a big help in my career."

The Rabbitohs thrived under Maguire and so did Merritt. He now only needs five tries to hold the record at the club for most tries, surpassing the mark of 144 that has been held by Benny Wearing for the past 80 years.

He made the emerging NSW squad this season, and yes, even he can see the funny side of that after celebrating his 30th birthday last month. More importantly, it was during his time in camp that someone finally spoke to him from the NSWRL after 10 long years to let him know he was close.

"Loz (NSW coach Laurie Daley) told us all to be ready and be prepared for that phone call," Merritt said.

"I look back at it now and feel so happy that it actually happened."

Merritt's father, Tony, and fiancee, Faith, were at Rabbitohs training on Tuesday when he learned the good news (mother, Tracey, and children Jalen, Jade and Nakeeya round out the immediate family).

They've been so used to the disappointment that they didn't really believe him until they saw it with their own eyes on TV that night.

His chance came about after winger Blake Ferguson was exiled over an alcohol-related offence, which has left him facing an indecent assault charge.

Merritt knows the job won't be easy. At the Rabbitohs he gets to play alongside Greg Inglis and revels in helping him destroy rival defences. Now he has to try to stop Inglis wreaking the same sort of havoc on the Blues. The statistics aren't in his favour but Merritt is unfazed. He's more focused on breaking Queensland's seven-year grip on the series. Only a fool would doubt him from pulling it off.

"It's massive for me and it's hard to get the smile off my face since I've been announced that I'm here. It's a great feeling knowing you're one win away from being part of history and breaking that hoodoo.

"No matter how long it takes, you can achieve your goals and what you want to do in life."

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...n-dream-realised/story-fnca0von-1226667830631

R&WTILLIDIE

Just want to send a huge congratulations to Nathan Merritt for a sterling performance. Problem was he was playing for the wrong team

stephen-colbert-told-you-so.gif

Dave_

There you go. That is why these types of players don't get picked. Merritt's selection was aided heavily by the media but what do they know about footy? They only want a story. Well, they've got one now, "MERRITT CONFIRMS CRITICS CORRECT".

It was just confirmation of what most people in the game already knew.

inside_pass

Couldn't believe he was selected and proved me right with that performance!
Would have to be right up there as one of the worst origin debut's ever!

Misanthrope

Absolutely dire performance. Shown up for the opportunist that he is. He'll never wear another rep jersey again.

Except the Indigenous Team. They can have him.