Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

Te Kaha

The Australian Rugby Union did go out of its way to antagonise rugby league 25 years ago. John O'Neill spoke about rugby union aiming to overtake rugby league as the number two sport in the country. He raided the Queensland Rugby League of Origin players when we could ill afford to lose them. Sailor. Rogers. Tuquiri.

The GPS system favours rugby union. Even a fair few of the independent Catholic schools favour rugby union.

Ironically, rugby union's decline in Australia over the last two decades is due to the success it enjoyed during the late 90s and early 00s. Australia's success was based on strong player combinations at state level. The Brumbies were successful because their squad was made up of players who played alongside one another for years. Similar for Queensland, who were strong throughout the 80s and 90s with a settled squad. These players made their way into the Wallabies and gelled because of their time playing together for Queensland and ACT. Once the Force were introduced it led to player combinations breaking up. The Reds were decimated the most and the game never recovered. Australian rugby union didn't have a large enough player base to support a fourth team. They will continue to go backwards until they axe the Force and Rebels.

You will have no argument with me about John O'Neill. His and the ARUs hubris is what got them into this position. Had they just got down and looked after their own business they would have been in a much better position. they didn't. Like Australians on here they wanted to fight an imaginary enemy instead. Something in common with the muppets in this thread.

He should be banned

Swapped back after being made a fool of, good idea. You start a thread about something you know nothing about and when challenged you go scurrying away, and now calling for bannings... your coward moniker is well earned.

I don't advocate ban because admin tend to become trigger happy, but the fact that guy was a moderator as recent as a few weeks ago is startling.

I won't speak of him again after this post

Of course you will, you can;t help it.

It's those bloody NSWRL trolls!

No its Australians who think they know about and what's best for NZers. Because they believe something, doesn't mean anybody over here does. They don't in any way care about League in NZ, they just want to fight their imaginary war. They will happily destroy the domestic grassroots game here if they think it furthers their "war".

Matua

The NRL is in a position to raise its profile in the Pacific. Whether it takes the opportunity presented to it is another story.

About 48% of the players are of Polynesian or Melanesian descent. Our salary cap has never been higher. Players of Polynesian and Melanesian descent are now choosing their country of heritage over Australia and New Zealand. There's a real opportunity to grow the game in the Pacific by having an annual Pacific Nations tournament. It should coincide with State of Origin. We need develop officers on the ground in the Pacific to grow the game at the grassroots level. Make it everyone's dream in this region to play in the NRL.
Do you mean Pacific Island descent? Maori are Polynesian so would make up a chunk of that 48% if included and would need to be excluded from the discussion.

I do wonder how long the PI's choosing their country of heritage will last or how big an impact it has actually had. NZ Samoans mostly remained with NZ (Marty Taupau the one noticeable defector) whereas a decent number of Australian Samoans went wth Samoa - which the current SoO eligibility rules help foster. Of the Tongan team selected for the world cup only two would be certainties for NZ.

The Pacific tests running at the same time as SoO might actually reverse some of the gains made as one of the carrots for Australian PIs is that they can have their cake and eat it too (play Origin and for their PI).

Wb1234

Do you mean Pacific Island descent? Maori are Polynesian so would make up a chunk of that 48% if included and would need to be excluded from the discussion.

I do wonder how long the PI's choosing their country of heritage will last or how big an impact it has actually had. NZ Samoans mostly remained with NZ (Marty Taupau the one noticeable defector) whereas a decent number of Australian Samoans went wth Samoa - which the current SoO eligibility rules help foster. Of the Tongan team selected for the world cup only two would be certainties for NZ.

The Pacific tests running at the same time as SoO might actually reverse some of the gains made as one of the carrots for Australian PIs is that they can have their cake and eat it too (play Origin and for their PI).
No Pacific tests mid year any more

Matua

No Pacific tests mid year any more
I was responding to Get Rid's proposal of mid year tests.

What are your thoughts on no mid year tests? As someone so pro NZ league you must be disgusted that the NRL have removed this opportunity to promote the game in NZ.

I
I don't advocate ban because admin tend to become trigger happy, but the fact that guy was a moderator as recent as a few weeks ago is startling.

I won't speak of him again after this post
It is ok to have different opinions you know. And in the abscence of any hard data on player registrations across nz each will come at with their own experiences or bias. Some thingss we do know from news articles is RL has virtually zero presence in the schools system, Auckland rego numbers are on the up, we need to entice NZ touch football into the nrl fold in same way we did in Oz, the nzrl run on an oily rag with pathetic support from the arlc. Everything else is speculation.

And back to the topic, I’m sure nz2 will have tiny impact on nzru talent but warriors haven’t made any real dent in them after 28 years so I can’t see why nz2 would be different?

Wb1234

I was responding to Get Rid's proposal of mid year tests.

What are your thoughts on no mid year tests? As someone so pro NZ league you must be disgusted that the NRL have removed this opportunity to promote the game in NZ.
End of season works fine for me

players don’t have to pick between origin and internationals

I love the current rules

can play origin and for samoa and tonga

tonga are touring England this year too on top of us having an end of season int

most of the tournament should be in nz

Te Kaha

the only Irony gutterfax is you accused a poster of starting a 2nd account
when
you did exactly the same

moron much

Bahahahahahahaha You only make yourself look more stupid with every post, just quit your alt account before it gets any worse... if that is possible.

Seems it is, quoting twice.... yikes!

Gob.jpg

titoelcolombiano

All the NRL needs to implement is a 2 Million marque allowance outside the cap for players who have been out of Rugby league for at least 5 years.
Bring that in with NZ 2 and it's over.
If it is limited to players outside of RL, it might cause a bit of disgruntlement amongst the current RL players. I do love the idea of having a marquee player outside the cap, that alone would attract heaps of attention because most NRL clubs could afford to pay it.

Vibing

No its Australians who think they know about and what's best for NZers. Because they believe something, doesn't mean anybody over here does. They don't in any way care about League in NZ, they just want to fight their imaginary war. They will happily destroy the domestic grassroots game here if they think it furthers their "war".
LOL
as if you give a rats about RL in NZ gutterfax you toffball loving wanker

Matua

End of season works fine for me

players don’t have to pick between origin and internationals

I love the current rules

can play origin and for samoa and tonga

tonga are touring England this year too on top of us having an end of season int

most of the tournament should be in nz
As I expected, you're pro PI's not pro NZ, as they benefit the PIs and not NZ.