Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal

One Eyed Aussie

We need a 1 game on FTA per day...I.e FRI/Sat/Sun and maybe Monday as well but at the least the 3 prior.

+1 to this. Don't underestimate the number of people who enjoy watching sport but don't have Foxtel.
They flick through the FTA channels and will watch whatever they can. As things stand now, on Saturdays that means that they watch AFL.

nrlnrl

We need a 1 game on FTA per day...I.e FRI/Sat/Sun and maybe Monday as well but at the least the 3 prior.

That'll only happen if Fox Sports can show games live that CH9 broadcast - would be nice to watch Friday night live in HD before the year 2025. Sorry for lack of knowledge, but when will FTA be in HD on their main channels ? It's embarrassing that they're still SD.

applesauce

This issue doesn't seem to be affecting TV deals for sports overseas.

The NBA just got an increase of a 180%.

When all NRL teams are own by billionaires, the NRL is shown on 4 TV networks (including their own), the majority of games are sold out, the streaming services of their own are first class, they are located in the worlds largest media market, and most importantly their ratings almost double since their last deal was signed (reflecting the increase) and the new deal signed is a 10year contract that accounts for growth and will probably look cheap in a decades time; then and only then would I compare the NRL to the NBA.

Plus compare the NBA deal to the current expiring NFL deal, I am not saying the NRL won't increase on the current deal regardless of the streaming or economic circumstances but I am saying if they want to MAXIMISE the deal it may be best for them to open it to all parties early.

BuffaloRules

When all NRL teams are own by billionaires, the NRL is shown on 4 TV networks (including their own), the majority of games are sold out, the streaming services of their own are first class, they are located in the worlds largest media market, and most importantly their ratings almost double since their last deal was signed (reflecting the increase) and the new deal signed is a 10year contract that accounts for growth and will probably look cheap in a decades time; then and only then would I compare the NRL to the NBA.

Plus compare the NBA deal to the current expiring NFL deal, I am not saying the NRL won't increase on the current deal regardless of the streaming or economic circumstances but I am saying if they want to MAXIMISE the deal it may be best for them to open it to all parties early.

Of course it's best to open it up to all parties...

I am solely referencing your earlier point that other forms of broadcasting may devalue sports rights so wouldn't this be happening in the US first? Also the EPL TV rights were significantly upgraded as well..

Is the NBA deal for 10 years? I thought it was 7.

i don't think those countries have an a anti siphoning list so it makes things more competitive if pay TV can bid as well as FTA

taipan

The way I see it FWIW.

Richardson is currently looking into feasibility of expansion,by reviewing in depth all bids,and what they bring to the table.
With the two expansion clubs fixed in the ARLC mindset,but not yet publicised,they then go to the TV stations end this year.This is what we plan,including a 2nd Brisbane side.Remembering TV stations there are no Fox/9 F&L rights.Open slather baby.Go bid your hearts out.

Smith is talking a conservative 10% increase,and that is based on 16 teams.If they can get 25% increase for an 18 team format,all 18 teams will get a decent pie slice,and there would be sufficient left over for grassroots and infrastructure.

Delaying expansion when TV stations down the line have little idea of the lie of the land,would be dangerous.Financial certainty is what is needed for the NRL,and bringing forward Tv negotiations and deciding on expansion go hand in hand.
TV stations will be getting a big cut in their Govt licensing costs,that will help.ch10 without a strong winter sport will help.

The negativity relating to expansion,emanates from many of the current NRL clubs,some of whom would have difficulty in running a school tuckshop and a few media lackies.The NRL hasn't put the expansion fires out.

applesauce

Of course it's best to open it up to all parties...

I am solely referencing your earlier point that other forms of broadcasting may devalue sports rights so wouldn't this be happening in the US first? Also the EPL TV rights were significantly upgraded as well..

Is the NBA deal for 10 years? I thought it was 7.

Will expire 2024-25. Considering the ratings for the NBA have gone up by 180% since the last deal. The NBA deal is simply a reflection of current performance and played out over 10years. The NBA saw the writing on the wall and got the best they could for as long as they could.

One Eyed Aussie

Except they don't watch AFL in Sydney on FTA on Saturdays...

Could have fooled me. The TV guide I just looked at tells me the Swans were on 7mate in Sydney yesterday afternoon and that match was followed by another match last night.

I'm in northern NSW and I could have watched a lot of free to air AFL yesterday but no free to air rugby league.

BuffaloRules

Will expire 2024-25. Considering the ratings for the NBA have gone up by 180% since the last deal. The NBA deal is simply a reflection of current performance and played out over 10years. The NBA saw the writing on the wall and got the best they could for as long as they could.

It as a 9 year deal to be precise...

And apparently the NBA didn't even negotiate with other broadcasters beyond the existing ones?

Not sure that's a sign of a party squeezing every last dollar they can...

LESStar58

Could have fooled me. The TV guide I just looked at tells me the Swans were on 7mate in Sydney yesterday afternoon and that match was followed by another match last night.

I'm in northern NSW and I could have watched a lot of free to air AFL yesterday but no free to air rugby league.

Good point.

I'd like to see the next deal include an undertaking by an FTA network to show Storm games exclusively live on FTA in to Melbourne. If expansion happens and Perth gets in then a similar deal is struck to expose both frontier clubs to their home markets.

Still there needs to be more footy on FTA nationwide.

BuffaloRules

Look at the AFL ratings in Sydney mate... They are shocking...

I'm not knocking more FTA coverage for NRL, but it's a myth to say that because there are no NRL games in Sydney on a Saturday, that then means that people are switching onto the AFL instead...

undertaker

You watch, if we do an early deal with ch9 and the other networks are excluded, we will get screwed. There is no way ch9 would give the best possible offer without being pushed to the brink by the others making their bids.

History shows us that this is a win for only ch9 and we will be duded. Also, part of the deal should include at least one FTA game on Saturdays, or the AFL will be laughing at us again while stealing more Sydney/Qld viewers who have FA to watch.

What a joke.

THIS x 100

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...309805287?nk=118402d08a5d691f3d0a9d0cd93392e8

Nine chief executive David Gyngell told the ABC earlier this week that he anticipated he would have to pay significantly more for free-to-air rights and is prepared to do so.

Don't be fooled by this.

"Paying significantly more" DOES NOT necessarily mean paying the amount they could be required to pay if they have to bid against Ch7 and Ch10.

undertaker

Look at the AFL ratings in Sydney mate... They are shocking...

I'm not knocking more FTA coverage for NRL, but it's a myth to say that because there are no NRL games in Sydney on a Saturday, that then means that people are switching onto the AFL instead...

Ratings for yesterday's all-Sydney AFL clash on 7Mate (during 4:30-7:30pm) were 47k in Sydney, which is very poor considering the twilight game went into primetime

https://twitter.com/MediaweekAUS/status/589577418412838912

Sat TV #AFL Arvo Seven 344k (Mel 144k Ade 164k Per 37k) 7mate 62k (Syd 47k Bri 15k)

So, given the Swans get similar ratings for most matches, it's fair to say that it really is only either the diehard AFL fans or Victorian expats who make up the tv audience figures in Sydney. Same goes with the Brisbane ratings.

Will be interesting to see what ratings the Roosters/Dragons clash gets on Saturday. If it rates well, expansion does occur in 2018 and that extra game goes to Ch9 (assuming they win the FTA rights), they may be tempted to have a Saturday 4pm game leading into Nine News. There's no chance they will get an exclusive Saturday night 7:30-8pm match as the Saturday night and Monday night games are Fox Sports bread and butter (in terms of ratings). Only way Ch9 will televise Saturday night footy is if the match is simulcasted on Fox Sports (like in the AFL), which Ch9 won't agree to as simulcasting was the very reason why they didn't bid in the last AFL tv rights negotiations.

nrlnrl

Ratings for yesterday's all-Sydney AFL clash on 7Mate (during 4:30-7:30pm) were 47k in Sydney, which is very poor considering the twilight game went into primetime

https://twitter.com/MediaweekAUS/status/589577418412838912

So, given the Swans get similar ratings for most matches, it's fair to say that it really is only either the diehard AFL fans or Victorian expats who make up the tv audience figures in Sydney. Same goes with the Brisbane ratings.

Will be interesting to see what ratings the Roosters/Dragons clash gets on Saturday. If it rates well, expansion does occur in 2018 and that extra game goes to Ch9 (assuming they win the FTA rights), they may be tempted to have a Saturday 4pm game leading into Nine News. There's no chance they will get an exclusive Saturday night 7:30-8pm match as the Saturday night and Monday night games are Fox Sports bread and butter (in terms of ratings). Only way Ch9 will televise Saturday night footy is if the match is simulcasted on Fox Sports (like in the AFL), which Ch9 won't agree to as simulcasting was the very reason why they didn't bid in the last AFL tv rights negotiations.

Good point, but obviously the Anzac Day ratings will be inflated in comparison to a "normal' Saturday afternoon game.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

THIS x 100

Don't be fooled by this.

"Paying significantly more" DOES NOT necessarily mean paying the amount they could be required to pay if they have to bid against Ch7 and Ch10.

Its not suggesting that 9 will just slam a big bag of money on the table and the ARLC will scribble out "expires 2018" on the current contract and write over the top "make that 2025"....

This "NRL willing to sign within the next few months" story refers to their willingness to start the bidding very early (without F&L theres nothing stopping them). Its just that theyd happily sign with 10 or 7 two years before the contract would actually begin.

This isnt a 2005 situation again, its just the ARLC looking to lock up the next contract early...

Extra game through expansion on fta
Live simucast on Fox every game

Those are the two main things that will bring an increased deal. TV audiences have been down last couple of years so even though nrl still rates highly there is going to have to be some value add to both pay TV and fta. We are still $40mill a year behind the afl TV deal so room to grow still.