Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal

flippikat

Haven't you heard? NZ are crying out for a Ozzie flog ball team and the AFL are taking over NZ with their bs participation figures.

Hehehe, got to admit that AFL trump the NRL in terms of sheer expansionary drive, but the tension between that and their traditional clubs is far more pronounced than the NRL, and something has to give.

The only 2 heartland expansion options being talked about for the AFL are a third WA team or Tasmania. One may cannibalise existing WA club support, the other gives limited returns for investment. The other options are to go to non-heartland markets, and that's a lot of risk.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threa...scussion-thread.1078789/page-15#post-38151577

CH 9 boss Gyngell is part of the Sydney RL clique that includes James Packer,Lachlan Murdoch and NZer Russell Crowe he hates Australian Football and would have NO intention of trying to out bid 7 for the AFL rights
The AFL and NRL will get what the TV outlets think they can make money from no more no less and the ace that the AFL have is Kim Williams on the commission.

You only have to look at the TV so far this weekend to see what code has the best product and it isnt the NRL with their very poor crowds and fake sounds put in by the TV producers to make the game exciting!

insert.pause

Geez if only the NRL had someone with experience in negotiating TV deals like Kim Williams.... Hmmm hope that Graeme Samuel bloke knows his stuff :-k

Spent a bit of time with Graeme Samuel in Perth last week. He is a great operator and real asset on the commission. His networks and business knowledge are incredible.

Von Neumann

it's a wonder he didn't off himself after spending time with you

no offence - ok, haha, being tricky there. take offence - that you ask others to off themselves, perhaps means that you, yourself, see no value in your life, thus making it easier to suggest this for others....because forgive me but I dont think you are the type who is overly into radical islam or something like that. So it must be a value proposition for yourself. That, or you are exhibiting sociopathy. Thats when no matter the price one must pay, you'll run over them. I hope this serves as a timely reminder how you're acting.

Like a reflection, you see the worst in others that is within you. Do be careful with who you offer self-harm pleas to.....when they refuse to be squashed, it will make them appear way stronger than yourself, and thus - crush your already pitiful self-worth value even further.

Pfft. In isolation such a comment would be pure sarcasm, but this pattern of behaviour from you is really concerning.

Tell us: do you hold Ray Hadley's behaviour over the years in bullying in high esteem?

: Do you scoff at the NRL's anti-bully message? Maybe you think its the kids being weak, they need to harden up.

Im interested why you spend so much time trying to damage people with your keyboard.

Dude, wake the hell up. You've probably spent a year of your life in total on here (not a large number by certain standards around the world), be at least constructive, and less scathing.

You can't ignore the fellow?

I myself do like reading what he has to say, and you as well, to be sure, but sheesh. Would everyone stop hassling him?

He's a great contribution to the board, acts with dignitity, and is certainly not some of the names he's been called, surely.

In short, its ridiculous to do that to someone who contributes a lot and is not a wanker.

___

Really glad the NRL is doing this. The guys over at that bigfooty website are seeing things through their little filters. Its amusing. As their brains pick up little pieces over time they've previously discarded [about the NRL], the cognitive dissonance is hitting full force. Its making their little minds twist; dont worry, we do it too, but to be fair we are far more correct in our perspective.

The wooky is a piece of work. If its the same guy Im thinking of.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

snl-greatday.png

flippikat

There's a thread discussing this (well, kinda) in the media section... I think it's a good sign that the NRL are aware they need to confirm exactly the rights value of expansion options, and ASAP. Whatever expansion teams are chosen, they'll need some lead-in time to be ready.

no offence - ok, haha, being tricky there. take offence - that you ask others to off themselves, perhaps means that you, yourself, see no value in your life, thus making it easier to suggest this for others....because forgive me but I dont think you are the type who is overly into radical islam or something like that. So it must be a value proposition for yourself. That, or you are exhibiting sociopathy. Thats when no matter the price one must pay, you'll run over them. I hope this serves as a timely reminder how you're acting.

Like a reflection, you see the worst in others that is within you. Do be careful with who you offer self-harm pleas to.....when they refuse to be squashed, it will make them appear way stronger than yourself, and thus - crush your already pitiful self-worth value even further.

Pfft. In isolation such a comment would be pure sarcasm, but this pattern of behaviour from you is really concerning.

Tell us: do you hold Ray Hadley's behaviour over the years in bullying in high esteem?

: Do you scoff at the NRL's anti-bully message? Maybe you think its the kids being weak, they need to harden up.

Im interested why you spend so much time trying to damage people with your keyboard.

Dude, wake the hell up. You've probably spent a year of your life in total on here (not a large number by certain standards around the world), be at least constructive, and less scathing.

You can't ignore the fellow?

I myself do like reading what he has to say, and you as well, to be sure, but sheesh. Would everyone stop hassling him?

He's a great contribution to the board, acts with dignitity, and is certainly not some of the names he's been called, surely.

In short, its ridiculous to do that to someone who contributes a lot and is not a wanker.

___

Really glad the NRL is doing this. The guys over at that bigfooty website are seeing things through their little filters. Its amusing. As their brains pick up little pieces over time they've previously discarded [about the NRL], the cognitive dissonance is hitting full force. Its making their little minds twist; dont worry, we do it too, but to be fair we are far more correct in our perspective.

The wooky is a piece of work. If its the same guy Im thinking of.

http://www.troll.me/images/pondering-genius/the-internet-serious-business-thumb.jpg

applesauce

State of Origin worth up to $2m per minute if sold separately in broadcast deal
April 25, 2015
Adrian Proszenko

State of Origin could be worth up to $2 million per minute if the NRL opts to sell off the marquee interstate series separately in the next broadcast rights deal.

The governing body will start negotiations with networks this week to get in well before the current rights, and those of the AFL, expire at the end of 2017. The move will ensure the maximum number of bidders are engaged in the process in a bid to trump the rival code.

The NRL considered splitting its properties for the last deal, which netted about $1.2 billion – a figure that was similar to that of the AFL. However, sources close to negotiations believe this is likely to happen during the current discussions, meaning Origin, the Auckland Nines, international matches and the World Club Series and even the home-and-away competition itself could be sold individually to a variety of networks.

"I assume there will be no rules," a network insider said. "They wanted to do that last time, so I don't see why they wouldn't discuss that."

Global Media and Sports boss Colin Smith, who worked for the NRL on the last TV deal and has also advised the AFL and ARU in previous negotiations, believes the next league agreement could be worth up to $2 billion. By his estimation, Origin could account for up to 25 per cent of that revenue – meaning each interstate game could be worth up to $33,000 per second.

"There is no other event in Australia like State of Origin, which averages about 10.5 to 12 million viewers a year," Smith told Fairfax Media from the United States.

"You take 12 million viewers out of the audience of the NRL, that's a big deal.

"It could be [worth] in the hundreds of millions per year. If you think about a finals series, you could argue it's worth 30 to 40 per cent of value. You could then apply that [Origin] is is worth about 20-25 per cent of value.

"Channel Seven will absolutely want to buy Origin. It would be more challenging for them to buy NRL home and away because they would have to put that on Seven Mate and I don't think the NRL would agree to that, nor should they."

However, Smith warned that if Origin was sold separately, it would likely "devalue" the NRL competition proper, as free-to-air networks would pay a premium for exclusivity.

"What they could do, and what the AFL has done, is simulcast home and away," Smith explained. "In other words, for AFL Fox Sports broadcasts every game and they take Channel Seven coverage for four of those games."

The three Origin games were the top-rating programs of last year, with 4,118,000 tuning in when NSW finally returned the shield. A further 3.965 million witnessed South Sydney's drought-breaking premiership win against Canterbury. The fact that Nine's Sunday afternoon games are shown live – something not negotiated in the last contract – is another reason why the rights values will rise for the next deal. The NRL will also clarify its position on expansion by the end of the year, with Smith believing broadcasters will up the ante if there was a team in south-east Queensland.

The Ten Network, narrowly pipped by Nine last time, is likely to again be in the mix after experiencing a ratings spike during its Big Bash cricket telecasts.

"If you track Channel Ten's share price since they lost the AFL, it's been going downwards the whole time," Smith said.

"This time they have to get some AFL or NRL games. Without them, they are in trouble."

Satellite broadcaster Sky paid a mammoth £4.2 billion to retain the rights to the English Premier League, a pointer to the value placed upon marquee sporting assets. The great unknown is the worth of digital rights, with consumers increasingly expected to watch live football on devices in the future.

"That could be [digital rights holder] Telstra or it could be broader than that," Smith said.

"Down the track, there will be what I call the disrupters, it could be google or Netflix or somebody else coming into the marketplace as well."

The NRL is also exploring strategies such as playing the games in quarters to allow broadcasters more advertising windows.

Starkers

fair bit of positive chat lately. you have to wonder where it is coming from. has to be Richardson taking charge and generating interest you'd think.