Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal

Starkers

yeah look i'm not arguing mate. i think it's time new media took it's place in the equation. and i am actually confident with a second bidder in ch10 that the NRL will build on its' next tv rights deal. and with ch10 having a younger demographic it could be complimentary to ch9.

that said, when it comes to a price for tv, you have to compare apples with apples.

and just on crowds, well perhaps we need to take a lead from the brisbane lions: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/brisbane-keen-to-add-roar-appeal-with-lion-at-games-20140910-10f6ru.html

f**k me, seriously, roll out the bearded lady too!

reanimate

How about 9 starts actually advertising the product they bought the rights to? Outside of SoO and finals, you barely ever see an ad for 9's Friday and Sunday games.

Dogs Of War

Given the digitial pass was only $2 a week, I think some of that drop off can be attributed to people taking up that option. It would be good to see the numbers that use that app.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

With fans increasingly turning to social and digital media....

So, they are just refusing to take account of the NRL App.

And the funny thing is, in the long term, this App will probably be more profitable than the TV ever was.

Billythekid

I think the other forms of viewing the game have had an impact but i doubt it's the only reason. When we have had big games we've still been able to pull in big figures just like in previous years.

I think there is multiple factors. Firstly the delayed games both Friday night and Sunday arvo are suffering. Delayed sport is a relic and you will only see less and less people watching it. Even if you don't fill delayed games with ads like fox do it's still a loser in terms of ratings (probably why we're seeing more saturday arvo fox games).

There are other factors as well like all the scandals and other bullshit happening at certain clubs. You would have to think all the drug scandals and the like have impacted how many people watched games involving the sharks. Actually at the end of the season you had most of the rugby league personalities laughing about matches involving the sharks or tigers and basically telling people not to watch them. Surely that is reflected in the ratings.

Not to mention this constant focus on things 'killing the game'. It seems like they are always coming up with something new to cram down our throat that is killing the game. Shoulder chargers, concussions, the refs, wrestling, drug scandal, players in the media (i.e Boyd) etc. It seems worse than ever, they pick one issue and they push the shit out of it until it seems like that's the only thing being discussed in the sport. What's worse is our dumb shit personalities like Matty Johns and Ben Ikin just blindly jump on board not knowing any better.

The other reasons are things that have been around for a while. The NRL and ch9 need to advertise their product better. You get bombarded by ads for the AFL and yet you're lucky to see anything for the NRL. You can't expect ratings to improve if you don't advertise your product better.

Next year the NRL need to work hard on actually advertising the game and building a positive feel the game in general. We're not a broke ass organisation anymore we can afford to do these things now. Lets actually work on making our game achieve what it is capable of.

ucantseeme

They would be able to say how many times the app has been downloaded.

As for crowds, I think the Tigers are to blame as their low crowds are really really low crowds.

insert.pause

on demand > TV

All TV audiences are down from 2 years ago, NRL still holding roughly the same market share.

Nine would gain at least 200k each week by showing sunday game live, in todays social media world delayed sport is truly archaic and counterintuitive to the reason for networks buying sport.

it's bash up rugby league day again i think. seems a concerted effort across news and fairfax. rothfield and the sharkies as well as fitzy telling us that matt giteau's union deal is the death of league.

i dunno, i give up. we should be talking about semi finals and all they want to write is the other shit.

Dave Smith isn't at their beck and call like Gallop was

they'll do anything to try and make him look bad

it's time the NRL stripped some of these journos of their accreditation and banned them from any access

absolute germs

insert.pause

that fitz article is so juvenile, rah-rah fanboy trying to put down the code on the eve of the finals series, jealous much!

I would have thought it's a pretty sad indictment for rah-rahs that the only way one of their fanboys gets a column is if he trolls league. If he wrote only about rah-rahs his readership would be too small to sustain a column. Pathetic.

ek999

on demand > TV

All TV audiences are down from 2 years ago, NRL still holding roughly the same market share.

Nine would gain at least 200k each week by showing sunday game live, in todays social media world delayed sport is truly archaic and counterintuitive to the reason for networks buying sport.

Problem is, 9 have paid the big bucks to be able to broadcast a game at 4pm to lead in to the news and then the rest of the nights shows. If the game is to be broadcast live the NRL will have to shift the kickoff to 4pm not 3pm, which 9 have said they want to happen. I don't like that 9 have that power over the NRL, but that's the deal that was agreed so we have to live with it

heights

Read the comments in the SMH to the Fitzy article.

He has copped an absolute pasting. I'd say comments running 30-1 against him.

Canard

I think there is multiple factors. Firstly the delayed games both Friday night and Sunday arvo are suffering. Delayed sport is a relic and you will only see less and less people watching it. Even if you don't fill delayed games with ads like fox do it's still a loser in terms of ratings (probably why we're seeing more saturday arvo fox games).

There are other factors as well like all the scandals and other bullshit happening at certain clubs. You would have to think all the drug scandals and the like have impacted how many people watched games involving the sharks. Actually at the end of the season you had most of the rugby league personalities laughing about matches involving the sharks or tigers and basically telling people not to watch them. Surely that is reflected in the ratings.

Ch9 love being able to cater to two different markets on a Friday night, if they pay for then good on them I reckon. The next deal should allow you the option of watching the other game on Fox or an alternate freeview channel however.

If you ask for one game, then the 9 will show the Broncos EVERY friday night because that will cater to the largest market share.

As for scandals, The NFL has had some pretty shocking scandals over the years, it seems to get bigger and bigger (PS I love when some wannabe wigger posts on LU that the NFL "never" have any issues with player scandals)

juro

So ratings have been falling for 2 years now? How long has Hadley been working at Nine?

oikee

That fitz dude is a wanker.
Why would you encourage players to go overseas. We might as well shut our comps down if that is the case.
I have seen 10 minutes of French rugby. Trust me, you dont want to go their.

As for our comp, well there are 3 reasons why we have and are failing. Fix these 3 simple areas and we are on cloud nine.
1/ REFS.
Simple fix, bring in the captains challenge, take the video ref out of the contest, improve the honesty of players, job done.
2/ STADIUMS.
Stop playing in round stadiums, get the governments to fix Canberra with a enclosed Rectangle, same for Manly, and Build a mega Stadium out West. Parramatta, 50 thousand.
3/ EXPAND.
Manly wont ever grow the code in Perth, Brisbane or NZ.
Bring in new teams and make sure NZ Auckland, Perth and Brisbane have expansion teams. That will nearly double growth outside Sydney.

Do all those 3 with-in the next 3 years and the code will flourish.

oikee

I will nearly go as far to say Manly and Roosters are damaging the code in NZ. By stealing NZ juniors and then belting the warriors every visit, the club and country are dis-illusioned by the NRL and their lack of help and growth stratagies for NZ. They have left a whole country rot and fester with only one club, and then allowed all other 15 NRL teams to pluck all their best talent.
This would never happen in the AFL, not with their draft and the help they give clubs outside Melbourne.

Some clubs you cant help, Brisbane lions who are a basketcase. They will sink 20 million into the Lions to fix them while the NRL burns.
You need only look at failed nrl Sydney clubs, bumbling, stumbling, crumbling in our heartland. Only saviour keeping most afloat is top 4 finish. Not a way to run a billion dollar code.
I mean look at the basketcase teams at the bottom of the ladder? Tigers and Sharks,? what a rabble.
Now picture Manly and Penrith in the same situation when they are cellar dwellers, and it will eventually happen. Gus Gould cant prop up the comp forever.

oikee

The NRL are sitting on a goldmine.
They have introduced players walking out with juniors.
They have big fire at grounds.
They have a 10 minute window at halftime, which should be better utilised.

We only have 1 live game on free-to-air.
We have Thursday night and Monday nights to sort out.
We have so much potential.
Keep the faith Warriors.

They should start the season with Thursday nights when we all want the footy to start, and fans are keen.
Then around Origin get rid of Thursdays and wait for Origin to finish and then introduce Monday nights, unless of course we have a long weekend. Utilise the long weekend.

Tbh it has got to the point where I rarely watch a game live, even if broadcast. between video refs decisions and adverts at every opportunity I tend to record and start watching 20mins after ko time so I can fast forward the sixteen replays it takes to decide if its a try or not, then straight to an ad break whilst the kick is being taken.

Billythekid

Ch9 love being able to cater to two different markets on a Friday night, if they pay for then good on them I reckon. The next deal should allow you the option of watching the other game on Fox or an alternate freeview channel however.

If you ask for one game, then the 9 will show the Broncos EVERY friday night because that will cater to the largest market share.

Just look at the rooster v souths match. People tune in for the big matches regardless. I still don't buy that this way works out better for ch 9 or for the NRL. The second match rates like steaming garbage. I just don't see how the very modest increase you get for the first game can be worth the second one rating that badly.

I also think that having the 2 games doesn't actually help ratings all that much. It's just encouraged people to only tune in when their team plays. Friday night should be more of an event, get people to tune in for that reason.

Also as far as i know the broncos don't have the highest rating games in the regular season. I think it's like a tigers/cowboys game and storm games tend to perform pretty well. I think ch9 would probably try and get a sydney v QLD team each week (possibly storm if that's not possible) and i don't think that's such a bad thing. On the weeks where there is a blockbuster like roosters souths that should be shown.

The problem is even though ch9 pays for this it hurts our overall ratings massively and will impact our ability to bargain next time around. I dare say the increased interest in Thursday night suggests that the second Friday game may start getting phased out.

Edit: Having seperate commentary teams for the different states hurts this as well. People get turned off having to listen to biased commentary and it doesn't help when they're awful commentators like Hadley. I can't bring myself to listen to him cast.

As for scandals, The NFL has had some pretty shocking scandals over the years, it seems to get bigger and bigger (PS I love when some wannabe wigger posts on LU that the NFL "never" have any issues with player scandals)

The NFL has had way bigger scandals, kinda like the on happening right now. It's in a completely different market and situation in terms of the media. It's not so much how bad our scandals are, it's the fact that it can completely cover the media to the point where that's all you hear. Unlike the NFL we don't have complete media saturation for our game.

taipan

Read the comments in the SMH to the Fitzy article.

He has copped an absolute pasting. I'd say comments running 30-1 against him.
I served him up big time in the Herald.Never thought I would get my comment through.