Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nine axes Footy Show? Fatty gorrrn

Stallion

Ch9 think by plugging a female in as host will be enough to ‘revive’ the show. It just reeks of arrogance to think that’s all it will take to bring TFS in to current century. I’ll give it a go for the first time in years but am not holding much hope.

Interesting to know why you switched off the show? I believe it's timeslot being way too late is its issue. Maybe a Wednesday night might work at 8.30? But Thursday 10pm isn't going to work! Ideally no Thursday night football would have been the best outcome with the Footy show on at 8.30pm. The NRL should really put the Thursday game on at another weekend timeslot. Their's room on Sundays for scheduling another one or two games at least.

Life's Good

Interesting to know why you switched off the show? I believe it's timeslot being way too late is its issue. Maybe a Wednesday night might work at 8.30? But Thursday 10pm isn't going to work! Ideally no Thursday night football would have been the best outcome with the Footy show on at 8.30pm. The NRL should really put the Thursday game on at another weekend timeslot. Their's room on Sundays for scheduling another one or two games at least.
Its simple really. I enjoy a bit of bawdy humor and found that mixed with footy discussion was what I liked about TFS in the early days. As the years rolled on and the footy content diminished the show became hard to tolerate(how many hair and fart jokes can you squeeze into a show and expect a reaction). Like I said, I'll give it a go in the hope of seeing more footy content and adult type discussion.

Generalzod

I would only watch the footy show in full only if i was rostered on for a night shift at work that's because my other team mates wanted to watch it, the problem with its become very sterile and Fatty just laughs at his own jokes. Relying on Moylan to revive the show won't work she is just another SJW.

T-Boon

Get Craig McLaughlin on to co host with Erin Molan.

Seriously though I wonder if someone like Andrew Denton would take the challenge of trying to smarten the show up. No.

Life's Good

They just need a show with about 90% footy content, 10% variety/comedy. Look at the Toronto Wolfpack docos on Fox. Have a condensed version of that (10-15 minutes) each week on a core league topic - club, admin, players, coaches etc. Fans enjoy fly on the wall content, not fart & hair jokes masquerading as comedy.

Billythekid

They just need a show with about 90% footy content, 10% variety/comedy. Look at the Toronto Wolfpack docos on Fox. Have a condensed version of that (10-15 minutes) each week on a core league topic - club, admin, players, coaches etc. Fans enjoy fly on the wall content, not fart & hair jokes masquerading as comedy.

That has always been the great irony of the footy show. It slowly became more and more of a comedy and became less funny as it did. The funniest RL shows are the ones that mostly talk about league with a little bit of humour thrown in (like the Sunday footy show).

If people want to watch a comedy they'll watch a decent one made by actually funny people rather than the tripe the footy show serves up.

Life's Good

That has always been the great irony of the footy show. It slowly became more and more of a comedy and became less funny as it did. The funniest RL shows are the ones that mostly talk about league with a little bit of humour thrown in (like the Sunday footy show).

If people want to watch a comedy they'll watch a decent one made by actually funny people rather than the tripe the footy show serves up.
That is very true. It’s the contrived comedy that turned me off many years ago.

Life's Good

like the 2 stories today about 2 of the Channel 9 people not getting along & then ha-ha, of course they do...
I missed that one mate. Sounds like a Ch9 topic for their off season. I mean, why should the league off season be about, well, league.

AJB1102

I grew up on the footy show. Was a treat to get to stay up and watch it as a kid and continued to watch as I got older. I got footy talk and a laugh out of it. When it stopped providing both of those I eventually gave it the flick. Seriously can't remember the last time I watched it. Slats was co-host, painfully little turd he is.

Knightmare

While I don't care about missing the NRLFS, I'll stay up and watch the AFL equivalent if its' on- it's more polished and there's more serious footy discussion. I guess it helps when Melbourne is the film capital of Australia- and media training (especially with the players who come on as guests) makes a difference as well.

I've spoken to people before who reckon taking the AFLFS approach won't happen because "RL fans are all bogans who think dumb shit is hilarious, so they'll keep serving it up" but I strongly disagree, based upon the number of RL people who clearly want a Thursday night program that doesn't seem to wear it's D-grade comedy and amateur hour feel like a badge of honour- which is what the current show has become.

kdalymc

The footy show is like an Adam Sandler movie- gets worse and worse (utter pathetic) but we keep watching and paying $$$$

Girdler is now part of the footy show.

Getting rid of fatty and that fattier bloke brohman seems weird
Keep Moylan and Ryan?
Those 2 are the weakest part of the show .
Not that I’ve seen much of it but I have noticed her and Ryan and thought they served no purpose at all.

Brohman is actually pretty smart as well as being amusing.

Surely an actual sports journo or somebody like Cameron smith ( not the storm cheat )
co hosting would’ve been better than Moylan.

nrlnrl

Girdler is now part of the footy show.

Getting rid of fatty and that fattier bloke brohman seems weird
Keep Moylan and Ryan?
Those 2 are the weakest part of the show .
Not that I’ve seen much of it but I have noticed her and Ryan and thought they served no purpose at all.

Brohman is actually pretty smart as well as being amusing.

Surely an actual sports journo or somebody like Cameron smith ( not the storm cheat )
co hosting would’ve been better than Moylan.
Do you mean Cameron Williams?

King hit

I've liked Girdler on Triple M footy from the times I've heard it and he was quite good on the footy show back in the day.