Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

Happy MEel

Agree. Brent Stewart went through a meat grinder only to be found NG. Semi was not suspended, however lost his AU jumper over it and copped it deluxe from merkins like Erin Molan.

Suspended on full pay should be the norm IMHO for any charge that may lead to a custodial sentence.
Whilst I agree in principle, I don’t mind them setting a minimum custodial sentence threshold. For instance, supplying a schooner of beer to a 17 year old (supplying to a minor) carries a potential custodial sentence of 12 months but it’s clearly not in the same ballpark as sexual assault. Still a dumb thing to do but perhaps not worthy of a suspension from the game.

Kornstar

This case sounds f**king horrific and it is hard to think he could even perform (whether guilty or not) his normal duties as a player given the allegations against him.

I know it will be absolutely shit if he is found not guilty but i understand why the NRL would like to take this approach, especially this case........if the allegations are true he and the other guy should be hung!

Kornstar

Without a source, all i can say is i have heard 'Bad' news for De Belin and 'Good' news for Hayne.

What is alleged for the De Belin case is as sickening as the Pell crimes. If the allegations are true that woman......how do you go on.......it is a nightmare!

As for Hayne, the case from the beginning is just f**king weird, the entire situation is just weird........

Noise

How long can a case like De Belin's go for? Possibly a long time out of the game?

And going back to SKD, El Masri and Semi's cases how long were their potential jail terms for assault? Would they have been stood down?

So they were allowed to have the cap punishment over two seasons??? Oh well Cronulla can now be a powerhouse as well.

eel01s

Jesus. Why did we cop it l in one season ? Even worse, it was midway through the season meaning we had to screw our roster immediately.

Also how can 2016 not be in question?

Tigers also got hit with a wet lettuce.

Sharks self reported.... Our mob still reckon they did nothing wrong.

Might have something to do with the different punishment severity

Delboy

So a club that is busted for peptides, has players guilty of abuse on video, a coach stood down but still in contact, breaks the salary cap and the n get $250 k plus spreads the $700k cap reduction over 2 years. Another club gets done for “doing what they do at ...,.” badly , gets a $1 million fine and even thought they are cap compliant get $700k immediate reduction in the cap and are forced to release Peats, Junior and Foran. Sounds balanced NOT, wonder if Todd will ever attend an Eels game and face the fans.

True, the imbeciles deicided to fight it till the end. Even though the NRL had them cold.

Delboy

They self reported $50k, not what they found when digging deeper.

By self reporting, they acknowledged they had done something wrong, whether deliberately or not.

Our geniuses deliberately cheated and denied it and fought it until the bitter end.

Not everything is an anti-Parra conspiracy

By self reporting, they acknowledged they had done something wrong, whether deliberately or not.

Our geniuses deliberately cheated and denied it and fought it until the bitter end.

Not everything is an anti-Parra conspiracy

We (Sharp & Co) definitely discovered Spags rorts and decided to trade out into compliance. Nice plan. Failed.

Delboy

So Baz, if it’s such an even playing field under Toddy, you must believe that the Roosters assembled their roster with $200k in registered TPAs. I have severe questions on that