Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

Media Watch: The extraordinary Des Hasler cock-up that sent James Tedesco to Chooks

• January 29, 2018 5:09pm
  • by STAFF WRITERS
  • Source: FOX SPORTS
MjkxMjAxODd8Y3hvLmJ8aHR0cHM6Ly9jZG4ubmV3c2FwaS5jb20uYXUvaW1hZ2UvdjEvMzAwZTdlMzJlZDdmMzhjNDU4MTk3NDgwZTM1MjJjODZ8MjkxMjAxODc=

Sacked Canterbury Bulldogs coach Des Hasler.Source: News Corp Australia
IT’S been revealed an extraordinary Des Hasler decision lost Canterbury James Tedesco’s signature and sent him to the Roosters.
Bulldogs chairman Ray Dib made the stunning admission in an in-depth interview with Fairfax Media.

It turns out Tedesco had verbally agreed to sign with Canterbury — as had Aaron Woods — on the condition the club also recruit Mitchell Moses.

They had even agreed to take a pay cut in order to fit Moses in the side.

All three then-Wests Tigers stars — along with halfback Luke Brooks — were off contract until midway through the 2017 season and were being pursued by a number of clubs.

And all three had allegedly agreed to sign with the Bulldogs, until then-coach Hasler intervened to scupper the Moses deal.

That decision put an end to Tedesco’s interest in the Bulldogs and pushed him into the arms of the Chooks, according to Dib.

“All three were ready to sign, mate. All three. But Des didn’t want Mitchell Moses because he said he wasn’t the style of player and couldn’t play the footy he wanted to play,” Dib said.

MjkxMjAxODd8Y3hvLmJ8aHR0cHM6Ly9jZG4ubmV3c2FwaS5jb20uYXUvaW1hZ2UvdjEvOWNiNjE5N2YzYzcyMDdiNjZlYmMxMTRhNzc0NTE5MTZ8MjkxMjAxODc=

Sacked Bulldogs coach Des Hasler.Source: AAP
“Des said (Moses is) not good enough to play. All three were done. Then Des wasn’t convinced on Moses.

“I organised a personal meeting with Tedesco and Woods with Des Hasler. And they tried to convince Des Hasler that Mitchell was our man. Tedesco said, ‘I want to play for the Dogs but I need to know who the halves will be. If you sign Mitchell, I will sign tomorrow. I’m with you’.

“Des said no. I remember both those players were prepared to sacrifice part of their contacts to bring Mitchell over. But once again, it was Des’ call.”

In the interview Dib also takes aim at Hasler’s stubbornness and apparent inability to work properly with his players and staff.

Hasler was sacked as coach of the Bulldogs at the end of the season, just months after signing a new contract with the club.

He’s since launched legal action against Canterbury.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/a9ba190e149f6829e6975339e53950e3

I thought you couldn’t take pay cuts to fit players under a cap?????

Or does that only apply to Parra???

Bulldogs board battle goes legal

Josh Massoud
7Sport / 7:25pm AEDT

Lawyers have been called into the increasingly hostile battle for control of the Canterbury Bulldogs.

7th Tackle can reveal the current board, headed by chairman Ray Dib, today issued its main rivals with a legal letter from solicitors.

It demanded a public apology over accusations his board had engaged a PR firm to build a “dirt file” on the challengers, known as the ‘Reform Ticket’.

It includes former skipper Steve Price, premiership-winning coach Chris Anderson and former prop Paul Dunn.

price_anderson.jpg

Price in his playing days, and Anderson as coach of the Dogs in 1004. Image: Getty

Anderson’s wife Lynne – current CEO of the Australian Paralympic Committee - is also a member and believed to be the rivals’ choice for chair should their ticket succeed.

The claim was communicated to two Sydney newspapers via press release almost two weeks ago and received widespread publicity.

The challengers said it was based on information from “several credible and respected sources”. Dib issued an immediate denial, describing the story as “untrue”.

ray_dib.jpg

Dib. Image: Perform

He also threatened to involve defamation lawyers – and delivered on that promise earlier today when ‘Reform’ members were sent a legal letter.

It demanded a published apology, as well as compensation for reputational damage, within the next seven days. The election is being held on 11 February.

If the ‘Reform’ Ticket elects to fight, the matter could end up in the Supreme Court. The Bulldogs already have one matter before that court, with former coach Des Hasler suing the club for his contract pay-out after being sacked last September.

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/league/a/38772310/nrl-canterbury-bulldogs-board-battle-goes-legal/

Bandwagon

Lol.
It's great reading shit like this when it's not the Eels involved.

It just sounds so familiar, like you just know the outcome will be a shitfight, which would be kinda sad, 'cept it's the Dogs, and that makes it funny.

Manly with salary cap dramas and the Dogs public fighting at board level, has there been a better off season for Eels fans?

It just sounds so familiar, like you just know the outcome will be a shitfight, which would be kinda sad, 'cept it's the Dogs, and that makes it funny.

Manly with salary cap dramas and the Dogs public fighting at board level, has there been a better off season for Eels fans?

its what dreams are made of

The chooks lost Luke Keary yesterday with a broken jaw.

Tragedy.