Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Bandwagon

we are truly f**ked as far as pollies go, I am generally not politically aligned and just when I thought we may have some common sense in govt this clown undoes all his good work

I cant stand Shorten and his unionism, and the greenies are too radical for mine, if it were up to them we'd all be living in a tent

I am a greenie as far as renewabels, recycling and climate change but politically I would have no idea who I would vote for if there was an election tomorrow

if there was a greenish party that was no so radical I reckon they would clean up

Why the problem with unionism?

What exactly is wrong with organised labour?

m

Draw your own conclusions if any

https://www.epi.org/news/union-membership-declines-inequality-rises/

Here is ScoMo unflinching on a school’s right to deny gay kids and teachers. IMO it’s electoral suicide. If you take the SSM turnout and result as a yardstick, the electorate is saying leave them the f**k alone.

Why the problem with unionism?

What exactly is wrong with organised labour?

For mine if you have an issue your boss or what ever you take responsibility for yourself and deal with it

My experience with people hiding behind unions, who dont work and cant be sacked, is not good

For mine if you have an issue your boss or what ever you take responsibility for yourself and deal with it

My experience with people hiding behind unions, who dont work and cant be sacked, is not good
Agree. My experience with unions and IR hasn't been great.

Agree, but that doesn't really work for the U30's. Teenagers, uni and post uni kids get walked over, screwed with overtime and part time shifts reduce in frequency every birthday. The reason why unions exist in the first place is to protect the vulnerable. I am totally behind you when it comes to the protection of idiots (dismissal especially), but if the Libs have their way it will be a free market and that will allow companies to go rogue on our kids.

Incorrect

I agree with @Twizzle in that the sensible approach to addressing any grievances with your boss/employer is to take some responsibility and deal with openly and directly.

But that doesn't apply in situations where you've got govt's and corporations trying to railroad employees in to accepting "upgraded" contracts which see working conditions and rewards decline. That sort of slave labour by stealth philosophy needs a light shone on it that individuals aren't always able to do...

Bandwagon

That's fine for some, but for many it's not. I understand what you're saying but the problem is one of balance, and it's been shifting towards the employer for a very long time. The growing wealth and earnings gap between labour and capitol is evidence of this

For mine I think it should be difficult to sack some one, and just because you will get individuals who will take advantage of that isn't a reason to make it easier, because the alternative is that good people also lose job security.

I reckon neo-liberal capitalism has sold it's self well, and too many people buy into it's myths.

I agree with @Twizzle in that the sensible approach to addressing any grievances with your boss/employer is to take some responsibility and deal with openly and directly.

But that doesn't apply in situations where you've got govt's and corporations trying to railroad employees in to accepting "upgraded" contracts which see working conditions and rewards decline. That sort of slave labour by stealth philosophy needs a light shone on it that individuals aren't always able to do...
How effective do you think unions are in these situations?

That's fine for some, but for many it's not. I understand what you're saying but the problem is one of balance, and it's been shifting towards the employer for a very long time. The growing wealth and earnings gap between labour and capitol is evidence of this

For mine I think it should be difficult to sack some one, and just because you will get individuals who will take advantage of that isn't a reason to make it easier, because the alternative is that good people also lose job security.

I reckon neo-liberal capitalism has sold it's self well, and too many people buy into it's myths.

I get what you are saying and no doubt right about the broader view of unionism and how it works, but for mine I was just sharing my experiences.

How effective do you think unions are in these situations?

I think unionism is a necessary evil but there no one size fits all for every situation

The workplace agreements that are signed and agreed allow people to be royally screwed and nothing the unions can do about it, so I guess you just have to take Joe Hockey's advice and get a better job