Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

For mine if you have an issue your boss or what ever you take responsibility for yourself and deal with it

My experience with people hiding behind unions, who dont work and cant be sacked, is not good

I had a guy throw a lettuce at my head cause I wasn't in the union. Called me a scab and I wasnt allowed to sit in the lunch room.

Agree, but that doesn't really work for the U30's. Teenagers, uni and post uni kids get walked over, screwed with overtime and part time shifts reduce in frequency every birthday. The reason why unions exist in the first place is to protect the vulnerable. I am totally behind you when it comes to the protection of idiots (dismissal especially), but if the Libs have their way it will be a free market and that will allow companies to go rogue on our kids.

Already happens by letting in all the backpackers on 2yr working visa. Construction sites are filled with them, all your road workers and local cafes along with hospitals.
This is an effective way to keep wages down.

I remeber one job we needed to kill power for 10hrs. Cause it wpuld effect 50 workers we where happy to do it on an RDO and take the following Monday off.
Union rep jumped in. Not allowed so had to have 50 workers do f**k all for one day as we cut power.
Government job, tax payers money....

Also when some factory workers with little skills earn $30hr you can see why manufacturing struggles.

Already happens by letting in all the backpackers on 2yr working visa. Construction sites are filled with them, all your road workers and local cafes along with hospitals.
This is an effective way to keep wages down.

Agree, however I was speaking to an Italian lass working in a Leichhardt cafe and she was saying that her traveller visas is 1 year, but can be extended if she goes to a regional area fruit picking.

I merkin I know who employs backpackers (glass collecting at his pub) says that they do jobs that aussie kids are not interested in doing.

You reckon that is true ?

Agree, however I was speaking to an Italian lass working in a Leichhardt cafe and she was saying that the traveller visas are 1 year, but can be extended of you go to a regional area fruit picking.

I merkin I know who employs backpackers (glass collecting at his pub) says that they do jobs that aussie kids are not interested in doing.

The problem is most of us have become too educated. And this is now why working professionals earn less then truck drivers.
Would you want your son becoming a spray painter and breathe in all the fumes?

I am unsure on other jobs. I know one thing though the backpackers seem to know all the good paying jobs. Construction and roadworks. You dont seem them stacking boxes in factories for $23hr.

The role of a union is critical and a lot of unions do a fine job of protecting workers rights.

Unfortunately though, if you join some unions you run the risk of being managed by a bunch of oaf-ish simpletons who are either frustrated politicians, more interested in their own profile, embarrassingly bereft of negotiation skills or a combination of all three.

Worse still, if you don’t sign up then you are at risk in some instances of being bullied and ostracised by the union or f**kwit fellow employees who have foolishly drunk the coolaid.

It’s a tough decision for some people.

Agree, however I was speaking to an Italian lass working in a Leichhardt cafe and she was saying that her traveller visas is 1 year, but can be extended if she goes to a regional area fruit picking.

* ”Speaking to”

The role of a union is critical and a lot of unions do a fine job of protecting workers rights.

Unfortunately though, if you join some unions you run the risk of being managed by a bunch of oaf-ish simpletons who are either frustrated politicians, more interested in their own profile, embarrassingly bereft of negotiation skills or a combination of all three.

Worse still, if you don’t sign up then you are at risk in some instances of being bullied and ostracised by the union or f**kwit fellow employees who have foolishly drunk the coolaid.

It’s a tough decision for some people and one that I have thankfully avoided in my career.

An example of Union simpletons is when my son went to work for Dominos delivering pizzas whilst at uni. We quickly realized that the pay, conditions etc were a rort, stacked entirely in the employers favour and offered diluted rights that other kids fairly receive.

https://www.sda.org.au/download/ent...nos-Pizza-Agreement-2009-AV-Staff-Pty-Ltd.pdf

A few Dads actually took Dominos to Fair Work Australia and the bad press made Dominos recently cave.

https://www.smh.com.au/business/wor...ment-with-shoppies-union-20180326-p4z69v.html

Why a union would agree to such terms is beyond me.

Joshuatheeel

Is it a business in the city? If so what merkin wants to travel to the city for, I am assuming it’s afternoon / night shifts for a pretty basic wage. It’s not like merkins on the minimum wage can afford to live in the city or near it. And how much travel wouId be involved ?

Go to any town / city outside the Sydney CBD and those type of jobs get filled no problems.

Additionally I know of one club that employs an “disabled” worker in that role.

An example of Union simpletons is when my son went to work for Dominos delivering pizzas whilst at uni. We quickly realized that the pay, conditions etc were a rort, stacked entirely in the employers favour and offered diluted rights that other kids fairly receive.

https://www.sda.org.au/download/ent...nos-Pizza-Agreement-2009-AV-Staff-Pty-Ltd.pdf

A few Dads actually took Dominos to Fair Work Australia and the bad press made Dominos recently cave.

https://www.smh.com.au/business/wor...ment-with-shoppies-union-20180326-p4z69v.html

Why a union would agree to such terms is beyond me.

My cousins son would work 4hrs and be paid 3hrs. When confronted he was sacked.
Fair work did nothing.

Is it a business in the city? If so what merkin wants to travel to the city for, I am assuming it’s afternoon / night shifts for a pretty basic wage. It’s not like merkins on the minimum wage can afford to live in the city or near it. And how much travel wouId be involved ?

Go to any town / city outside the Sydney CBD and those type of jobs get filled no problems.

Additionally I know of one club that employs an “disabled” worker in that role.

And most around are too educated to accept the job that are bassed around here.

Bandwagon

It’s a tough decision for some people.

Unfortunately it is difficult at best to legislate for competence.

I can however understand the animosity from union members towards non union members in the same workplace, as if the union is doing as it should, those paying for that are benefiting those who refuse to pay, and the union shoots themselves in the foot if they negotiate better outcomes for their members only, as their members would quickly find themselves replaced by non members.

Bandwagon

Yeah I don't think any one should be surprised that something is the something that it is describing

Yeah , what I meant was they do share a bit in common because they both have at their heart principles of collectivism. So it does make sense.

Unfortunately it is difficult at best to legislate for competence.
True but in my experience, unions typically have a lower level of competence than many other stakeholders that an organisation has to deal with. They are also less predictable, harder to reason with and at times play by a set of rules that organisations themselves would be cruficified for if they emulated.

I can however understand the animosity from union members towards non union members in the same workplace, as if the union is doing as it should, those paying for that are benefiting those who refuse to pay, and the union shoots themselves in the foot if they negotiate better outcomes for their members only, as their members would quickly find themselves replaced by non members.
Of course, but it should never be forced upon anyone and that frustration doesn't excuse some of the terrible f**ken things that happen. Hindy having a lettuce thrown at him is f**k all compared to some of the nasty shit I am aware of. Some of them are total f**ken barbarians.

Also when some factory workers with little skills earn $30hr you can see why manufacturing struggles.

Yep. I was at a talk a couple of weeks ago where the CSIRO was the keynote guy, and the bloke who was hosting the talk whinged about the fact that none of the products developed by CSIRO get manufactured here. IT's not hard to work out why.