Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Your turn Gaz. Come on mate.
1. I support Parra because of my old man.
2. I haven’t been swimming since I was a kid.
3. I very rarely eat deserts of any kind.
4. I have become interested in fast cars in my 40s after showing zero interest beforehand.
5. I am weirdly flexible in my shoulders and freak people out when I warm up in the gym or at golf.

1. I support Parra because of my old man.
2. I haven’t been swimming since I was a kid.
3. I very rarely eat deserts of any kind.
4. I have become interested in fast cars in my 40s after showing zero interest beforehand.
5. I am weirdly flexible in my shoulders and freak people out when I warm up in the gym or at golf.

Name the cars.

If we are talking about cars to drive - anything BMW M series.

However, I find myself watching a lot of motoring videos these days and wondering what it would be like to drive a Dodge Hellcat, a Mustang, a Ford Focus RS, a V8 Range Rover Defender, a Volkswagen Golf R etc etc. Anything faster than your typical family car.

I don’t want to own them, just take them on a track or somewhere where I can give it some herbs and then hand it back afterwards.

I’m hardly an expert, just a bit more interested as I get older.

1. I was an AFL fan before I knew league existed
2. I have only ever owned Toyota cars
3. I have only lived in 4 different houses in my life
4. I swim at avenger's beach fairly regularly

OK. Seeing this is the non-footy chat thread, let's play a game. It's called unusual things that you don't know about me. Nothing too personal. Just some quirky shit. I'll start.

1. I've never been to a drive-in. I have. Dundas, as I used to live right near it. Only went there about 3 times though.

2. The first movie I ever saw in a cinema was For Your Eyes Only starring Roger Moore. First cinema movie I saw was a movie called Sounder. My parents took all our family to a cinema in, I'm sure it was Oxford st, when I was about 7-8 years old.

3. I only learnt to swim when I was about 20. I learnt to swim when I was about 6. Dad grew up in Bronte, and we used to spend our whole summers there, even though we lived at Harris Park.

4. I'm very nostalgic and will drive past where I grew up out west, get out and walk around. I used to do that, but the first house I grew up in is now a block of flats.

5. I supported Manly as a kid before switching to Parra in 1977. I've never supported anyone else. I even remember sitting on dad's shoulders at Cumberland Oval in the early 70's just so I could see over the heads of everyone else. When I wasn't watching the game, I'd be sliding down the back of the hill to the left of the grandstand on discarded ice-cream boxes.

@Suitman I remember Dundas Drive-in. I think I went there once when I got my Ps. It was a all night horror marathon. Hotel Hell, Friday 13th, He Knows Your Alone etc

T.S Quint

Loving this random facts thing.

1. I didn’t go overseas until I was 28. The first 4 times I ever did was to the USA because my brother was living there.

2. I only went to Melbourne for the first time last year, despite the fact my brother lived down there for 5 years ages ago.

3. The first movie I ever went to see in a cinema was Star Wars. It was 1984 and my dad took me to Padstow Pictures. They were playing the whole original trilogy as a movie marathon, and I sat and watched the whole thing as a 4 year old. Still my favourite movies today.

4. I’ve followed the Eels since the 1984 grand final, despite never living anywhere near Parramatta.

4. My favourite food is sausages. Preferably beef but I do love pork as well. Always happy to try out new ones that my local butcher has made.

West facing is the worst climatic perspective in Sydney or anywhere in Oz for that matter that you can get. Beach facing or not. The beach is your only disclaimer. Just.
What about the beachside in Perth? Or the homes in Santorini? The local Realestate agent told me that around here North is best fiollowed by west for waterfront properties.

When we built our corner block house we twisted the house as much as possible to north so our backyard could have a north/east perspective.

Now corner block homes are my favourite. Less neighbors and more space however council charge more for rates.

1. 2018 is the first year for 12 years that we have spent Xmas in Australia.
2. I count Sam Burgess and Mark Taylor as clients.
3. My neighbour (across the road) used to be Greg Mathews. He had a chook and used to let it out at 6am.
4. My Dad spent time in a Sydney jail because he refused to wear a kilt.
5. My wife grew up knowing Steve Ella, but she never really knew what he did.