Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Why would you refuse to wear a kilt?
Kilts are awesome!
My Dad (RIP) grew up in Chippendale. He left school when he was 14 and rode the trams selling news papers. He was conscripted to National Service and was assigned to the Scottish Regiment (?) In tbe 50's. It came a time for a parade and he and a mate refused to wear the kilt. They locked him up until he agreed to wear it. He spent the rest of his service in jail in Victoria Barracks in Paddington. His regiment never saw action in Vietnam.

Was he scottish? ... is that why they assigned him to that regiment?
Nope. My Dad's side come from Carcoar in NSW. Mum's side were Irish convicts that were shippped to Tasmania. My Dad reckons that his Dad's side were indigenous but that was never proven. I must go to Carcoar one day. I am told it is a really historic town.

Paris, London, Switzerland, New York, Bangkok, Bali. I have friends / relos everywhere. Oh Hong Kong too.
That’s so cool. Travel for mine is the ultimate. Leaving for a Royal Caribbean cruise on Saturday. First one. Any tips?

I have never been on a cruise. Other than my honeymoon which was on Blue Lagoon Cruises. Ex Nadi and tours around Fiji Islands etc. Only holds like 40 guests. That was 28 years ago but.

Loving this random facts thing.

1. I didn’t go overseas until I was 28. The first 4 times I ever did was to the USA because my brother was living there.

2. I only went to Melbourne for the first time last year, despite the fact my brother lived down there for 5 years ages ago.

3. The first movie I ever went to see in a cinema was Star Wars. It was 1984 and my dad took me to Padstow Pictures. They were playing the whole original trilogy as a movie marathon, and I sat and watched the whole thing as a 4 year old. Still my favourite movies today.

4. I’ve followed the Eels since the 1984 grand final, despite never living anywhere near Parramatta.

4. My favourite food is sausages. Preferably beef but I do love pork as well. Always happy to try out new ones that my local butcher has made.
Ćevapi?

I have never been on a cruise. Other than my honeymoon which was on Blue Lagoon Cruises. Ex Nadi and tours around Fiji Islands etc. Only holds like 40 guests. That was 28 years ago but.
Someone recently did here. I think it was my Serbian brother, Suity.

1. My brother is an Irish Twin;
2. It's my birthday today;
3. My father was a career soldier. Originally conscripted for Vietnam and stayed in;
4. The first album I owned was Bon Jovi's Slippery When Wet on cassette;
5. I'm a registered firearms owner and have 3 rifles. Looking to go on my first hunt in April.

3. My father was a career soldier. Originally conscripted for Vietnam and stayed in;
5. I'm a registered firearms owner and have 3 rifles. Looking to go on my first hunt in April.
Happy Birthday you big softie. Make sure you eat what you kill or kill them only if they are pests. That’s the rules. And dont kill anything cute.

I’m joking. Go for your life mate as long it ain’t human.

Enjoy your day :tada: :balloon:

Happy birthday HJ.

Gentlemen

Should I join Twitter? Don’t do Facebook for non obvious reasons.
Twitter is the place you get up to the second breaking news. Other than that it serves no other purpose. I dont do facebook either.

Happy Birthday you big softie. Make sure you eat what you kill or kill them only if they are pests. That’s the rules. And dont kill anything cute.

I’m joking. Go for your life mate as long it ain’t human.

They'll be the rules I hunt under. Except the cute one - I don't care about that.

Enjoy your day :tada: :balloon:

Cheers.

Happy birthday HJ.

Thanks, mate.

Usw the gym/running track.

Seriously I put on more weight on an eleven day cruise than I did in five weeks in Italy

Usw the gym/running track.

Seriously I put on more weight on an eleven day cruise than I did in five weeks in Italy

That’s why I reckon I never put on weight when we are on holidays - we are always walking. Two years ago my daughter logged us on her iPhone walking 12kms on Xmas day in Paris. It started at Notre Dame Cathedral for a service after big breakfast and ended up in a random bistro in the 16th arrondissement.

Yeah my step tracker had me doing over 350km in the five weeks in Italy. Thank God, because I would be 100kg otherwise.

The cruise we just sat around, ate and drank. Obviously went ashore but three days of strolling 5km doesn't make up for all the food lol