Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

I just renewed my building license online. It's normally not cheap at all.
Gladys, in all her wisdom, has waived all license renewal fees for tradies during this Corona-19 period.
She really is doing some good shit at the moment. A saving of over $600.

I just renewed my building license online. It's normally not cheap at all.
Gladys, in all her wisdom, has waived all license renewal fees for tradies during this Corona-19 period.
She really is doing some good shit at the moment. A saving of over $600.
She’s the best Premier we have had in my lifetime.

She's doing good. Mike Baird and Barry O'Farrell were also getting shit done.
I must say though, that she has really handled this situation well.
She appears to have a govt that for once, is working together and not full of infighting factions, like the years of f**king Labor we had at the hands under the control of Eddie O'B.
They are pushing forward infrastructure spending to keep the state economy flowing and fast tracking development. Last week, they shut the M5 East tunnel for road re-surfacing. This weekend, they have done the same for the Harbour Tunnel. These projects weren't due to be done for months.
They are fast tracking (and cutting out the f**king stupid red tape) for development projects that have been in the application process for years that are only being held up by stupid semantics.
Good on them.
Best Premier ever? I dunno mate but geez, she's doing well at the moment.

She's doing good. Mike Baird and Barry O'Farrell were also getting shit done.
I must say though, that she has really handled this situation well.
She appears to have a govt that for once, is working together and not full of infighting factions, like the years of f**king Labor we had at the hands under the control of Eddie O'B.
They are pushing forward infrastructure spending to keep the state economy flowing and fast tracking development. Last week, they shut the M5 East tunnel for road re-surfacing. This weekend, they have done the same for the Harbour Tunnel. These projects weren't due to be done for months.
They are fast tracking (and cutting out the f**king stupid red tape) for development projects that have been in the application process for years that are only being held up by stupid semantics.
Good on them.
Best Premier ever? I dunno mate but geez, she's doing well at the moment.
I liked Beard. It looks like he is being groomed for a Federal gig. Future PM maybe ?

Merkins, I need you to share your wealth of knowledge on low voltage garden lighting. Do I buy a kit, assemble bits and bods from various brands. Dusk/dawn light sensors, timers, wifi smart systems. I reckon it it will run about 40m from the outdoor GPO.

Also, how the f**k do you go under a 1.2m path ?

Merkins, I need you to share your wealth of knowledge on low voltage garden lighting. Do I buy a kit, assemble bits and bods from various brands. Dusk/dawn light sensors, timers, wifi smart systems. I reckon it it will run about 40m from the outdoor GPO.

you can get self contained garden lights with PE sensors and small solar cells so no wiring needed

Easy. Get a decent crowbar (borrow from a mate) and create a hole/path by forcing it through. You may have to do a bit of digging to get it the correct angle access to get it through. It's actually not that hard, but it depends on the width of the path.

Option easy - Solar.
Pro - Do it yourself, no cost to run
Cons - No control on them being on/off. They will turn on every evening and unable to control.

Low voltage
I dare say a better system and far more options.. You could also have options to control. A timer, PE cell, light switch. I'd go a PE cell with a light switch to over ride.
Cons - 40mtrs is quite a distance. Your transformers will be located at the 240v supply. Being that the output will be 12V the voltage drop will be quite large. You'd need to run some decent gauge cable otherwise your lights will be DIM. In other words the cable it comes with that looks like normal fig 8 won't do the job.

1.2mtrs pathway = you should be able to dig under and slide a conduit underneath. Id dig from both sides. Thats 600mm each. Push a 25mm conduit through. Make sure tape ends up first so don't fill with dirt. And a tip would be bending the front of conduit slightly so as push it you can guide it upwards

Don't pretend you don't know.

Where you wondering why Gronk wants garden lights? I mean is it purely cosmetic? Cause if so he would be wasting energy and increasing carbon emmisions for no beneficial reasons.
Being led and low voltage it would be extremely low levels so I will let him off.

Where you wondering why Gronk wants garden lights? I mean is it purely cosmetic? Cause if so he would be wasting energy and increasing carbon emmisions for no beneficial reasons.
Being led and low voltage it would be extremely low levels so I will let him off.
I wanna know why he wants lighting all the way from the General Post Office