Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Noise

I go to indo/Bali at least once a year for the surf. I don't go there to party. The people are great. The weather is great, the surf is awesome and it's affordable. It's the bogan Aussies on the piss that give the place a bad wrap and a lot of them seem to be from Perth .

Actually I reckon it's not all that cheap. Prices are mostly charged at US dollars in most areas. You can find cheaper if you stay in the less gentrified areas, but if you want to stay in Seminyak (Double Bay, Bali) then you will pay through the nose.

My friends own a villa and we were lucky to get it at mates rates. At $US1200 per day high season it's very pricey and out of most peoples reach. Were we stayed in Jimbaran and Ubud were not cheap either and I would not say that we splurged.

back5b.jpg
I have been told by a lot of people that Bali is comparatively cheaper than places on the Great Barrier Reef. Have never jumped on Expedia to do that comparison.

I would happily pay more to go the Great Barrier Reef but if Bali is actually more expensive than I have been lead to believe then that is even more of a reason to choose somewhere else first.

Noise

Bali is def cheaper than the Great Barrier Reef though it has certainly increased in prices in the last 15 years

I have been told by a lot of people that Bali is comparatively cheaper than places on the Great Barrier Reef. Have never jumped on Expedia to do that comparison.

I would happily pay more to go the Great Barrier Reef but if Bali is actually more expensive than I have been lead to believe then that is even more of a reason to choose somewhere else first.

Bali is an asian beach destination and the GBR offers nothing in comparison. Not saying that GBR is bad - it's amazing but they they are chalk and cheese. Yes you can lie around the pool at both destinations but that's about it. Bali offers cultural diversity that holidaymakers seek out.

Nth QLD is awe inpsiring but the stinger season f**ks it totally. Water water everywhere and not a place to swim near the coastline. Then you have the crocs Cairns upwards.

I've been to Cairns, Port Douglas and Hamilton Island so far.

If bogan Aussies have stuffed Bali, then I suggest Lombok, which is Bali 30 years ago.

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=...3r_QAhXGn5QKHQwwA2wQ_AUICSgC&biw=1242&bih=580

How about neither and a trip to NZ to drink awesome beer and play golf on some of the best courses in the world.

You know it makes sense.

So where's the figure about support by Muslims in Australia for Sharia law to be adopted here? Ah, thought so...

And where's the research on what percentage of our national population that percentage would actually be? Ah, thought so...

The discussion was not around the westernised Muslims that live in the inner city here in Australia. It was about the Islam in general.

This is especially relevant when it's people from the countries listed in the research that SJWs like yourself want to welcome with open arms.

And is that percentage of the Australian population higher or lower than the percentage that support bigotry and voted for One Nation or other like-minded parties in the recent election? Ah, though so...

Aaaaaaaaaaand...there it is. Everyone who voted for One Nation did so because they are racist.

Thanks, Hillary. This goes right back to my post about how the leftoid frothers don't have a clue what just happened in the US and how that continued ignorance is the downfall of the left. It's beautiful.

Aaaaaaaaaaand...there it is. Everyone who voted for One Nation did so because they are racist.
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnndddddddd.....NO IT ISN'T.

Where exactly was it suggested that "everyone who voted for One Nation did so because they are racist" other than in HJ land where beards are plentiful, it rains Toohey's Old, durries grow on trees and anyone who shows even the slightest bit of compassion is clearly a SJW.

People still use bumbags? That should be an arrestable offence too...

Bumbags are still cool, I've got a collection, a very nice handmade model from Nepal, and you know what i have attacked to the side?
One of my old rock climbing chalk pouches, great to take shopping for the change and dog bags, if anybody has one they should try it, you could just wear it on a belt if you don't have a bumbag.

Incorrect

How about neither and a trip to NZ to drink awesome beer and play golf on some of the best courses in the world.

You know it makes sense.

It's not quite NZ, but I plan to drink beer and play golf at Barnbougle in March... Group of 8 of us heading down for 3 nights...

Have you played either of the courses down there Gaz???

Thanks, Hillary. This goes right back to my post about how the leftoid frothers don't have a clue what just happened in the US and how that continued ignorance is the downfall of the left. It's beautiful.

Yes well the $64 question is will the disenfranchised blue collar worker be better off in 10 years after Brexit, Trump and Pauline.

I will leave you with two quotes from Animal Farm:-

"Napoleon appeals to a desperate contingency; the animals who are desperate for another way. A better way. Another, better life."

and finally

“Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question, now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

Actually, HJ land sounds pretty good.

f**kin' aye, it does! Welcome to Paradise, brother!

Yes well the $64 question is will the disenfranchised blue collar worker be better off in 10 years after Brexit, Trump and Pauline.

I will leave you with two quotes from Animal Farm:-

"Napoleon appeals to a desperate contingency; the animals who are desperate for another way. A better way. Another, better life."

and finally

“Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question, now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

I don't disagree with the general idea that this revival of "Traditional America" could end up as a massive pile of shit.

But that's not the point. The point is that it's not about racism. It could end in financial ruin, absolutely, but that's irrelevant to the topic at hand.

hybrideel

I went to Bali back in 99 with a group of friends and loved the place. I was a young bogan who just wanted to get on the piss though. We did to a few tours though. Now i'm an old bogan i wouldn't go back i don't think. Plenty of other places to see

It's not quite NZ, but I plan to drink beer and play golf at Barnbougle in March... Group of 8 of us heading down for 3 nights...

Have you played either of the courses down there Gaz???
Yep. Both are fantastic but I give the slight edge to Lost Farm.

The setup with the accomodation, restaurant and bar at Lost Farm is great as well. Equally, staying at Bridport is a pretty good option.

Enjoy mate. You'll have a great time.