Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Snoochies

Cost of living.......how is everyone doing? I get paid monthly and now after a week it's as if I have nothing left and live off rice and beans til next pay day. Ok maybe not that bad but its certainly kicking my arse.

I have a theory that the rising cost of living inflationary sprialing environment that we are currently experiencing is fuelled by selfish small and large scale corporate greed. Yes, post pandemic hangovers in supply chains and energy prices due to the Ukraine invasion have put pressure on profits which triggers price rises, but my theory is that merkins are putting prices up because they can and suffer little blow back.

Coles, Woolies et al will record record profits.

The cost of construction materials have doubled in some areas, yet this is not a true reflection on the pressures on manufacturing and merkins put the prices up because they can.

Santos etc who extract and supply natural gas are literally printing cash and selling gas to the highest bidder.

Don’t get me wrong, not all industries are price gouging and often builders etc who are at the end of the supply chain find themselves struggling to make their traditional margins and are expected to absorb these costs.

I’m sure that it is far more complex than my amateur navel gazing cynicism, but as a small business owner myself I look at the rising prices around me and can’t help but think that they are far inexcess of the actual cost of doing business and that merkins are just being merkins cos everyone else is.

Bandwagon

I have a theory that the rising cost of living inflationary sprialing environment that we are currently experiencing is fuelled by selfish small and large scale corporate greed. Yes, post pandemic hangovers in supply chains and energy prices due to the Ukraine invasion have put pressure on profits which triggers price rises, but my theory is that merkins are putting prices up because they can and suffer little blow back.

Coles, Woolies et al will record record profits.

The cost of construction materials have doubled in some areas, yet this is not a true reflection on the pressures on manufacturing and merkins put the prices up because they can.

Santos etc who extract and supply natural gas are literally printing cash and selling gas to the highest bidder.

Don’t get me wrong, not all industries are price gouging and often builders etc who are at the end of the supply chain find themselves struggling to make their traditional margins and are expected to absorb these costs.

I’m sure that it is far more complex than my amateur navel gazing cynicism, but as a small business owner myself I look at the rising prices around me and can’t help but think that they are far inexcess of the actual cost of doing business and that merkins are just being merkins cos everyone else is.

You sell services not goods. Likely one of your highest input costs is labour, that hasn't moved much as yet.

Goods though are another issue, supply is shit, demand is high. And yes merkins are making more money.

But I'd argue it's inflation driving profits, not profit driving inflation.

If current conditions remain, wages will start becoming a driver, and will begin to eat into profit because merkins will only cop so much inflation before they start cutting back on goods and forever price rises will not be sustainable.

The work van got stolen last night from right outside the bosses house, it’s bright yellow and green with the companies name and logo on the front and sides 🥸

You’d think it was kids but apparently the cops reckon it’s pros and it will probably already have a new paint job and number plates.

The work van got stolen last night from right outside the bosses house, it’s bright yellow and green with the companies name and logo on the front and sides 🥸

You’d think it was kids but apparently the comps reckon it’s pros and it will probably have a new paint job and number plants.

what colour have you sprayed it now ?

Cloeel

You sell services not goods. Likely one of your highest input costs is labour, that hasn't moved much as yet.

Goods though are another issue, supply is shit, demand is high. And yes merkins are making more money.

But I'd argue it's inflation driving profits, not profit driving inflation.

If current conditions remain, wages will start becoming a driver, and will begin to eat into profit because merkins will only cop so much inflation before they start cutting back on goods and forever price rises will not be sustainable.

Wages are already going up along with a skills shortage in the construction Industry. We are paying 10-15% more now for a qualified electrician full time.

Anyone owning a construction company who was landing contracts with bigger margins thinking it was all sunshines and rainbow - wait till you start trying to recruit workers and meet their salary/wage demands.

It is a jungle out there currently.

You’d think it was kids but apparently the cops reckon it’s pros and it will probably already have a new paint job and number plates.
1668479280947.jpeg