Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Have you seen the merkins who resides in California and Silicon Valley?? I’d say it’s a pretty good one. Merkins decided to leave instead of working harder lol. I reckon that says more about them then Musk.
Sure there are some people who fit that description, not all.

Make no mistake though - Musk is a shit merkin. If he was your boss I'd give it a week before you'd chin his smug f**ken frog face and leave a grogan in the top drawer of his desk.

I'm sure there's plenty of anecdotal examples of lazy merkins you can point to, like in pretty much any large organisation that existed ever, but hey, we're talking tens of thousands of merkins here, and I very much doubt that kind of behaviour is the rule.

There's also plenty of evidence out there that says this is pretty typical of the way Musk treats his employees in his other businesses, so there's that.

And yeah I run a small business, it'll likely remain small on account of I'm just not inclined to be a shit merkin to people that work for me, or people I do business with.
So you would or wouldn’t have these lazy self entitled merkins working for you?? You sort of avoided that question. And if it’s a yes I’d wonder how long you would last.

Musk has been pretty successful in business so I’d say the way he’s treated his employees has been pretty fair. I mean is it too much to ask to have your employees do a 9/5 and work hard??? But I was brought up to work hard and earn everything I have. Nothing was handed to me but it seems like this younger self entitled generation don’t want to work hard and think their bosses are picking on them just for expecting them to work hard. A family friend runs a successful business and he only hires people over 40’s because he just doesn’t want the hassle. I don’t blame him.

So you would or wouldn’t have these lazy self entitled merkins working for you?? You sort of avoided that question. And if it’s a yes I’d wonder how long you would last.

Musk has been pretty successful in business so I’d say the way he’s treated his employees has been pretty fair. I mean is it too much to ask to have your employees do a 9/5 and work hard??? But I was brought up to work hard and earn everything I have. Nothing was handed to me but it seems like this younger self entitled generation don’t want to work hard and think their bosses are picking on them just for expecting them to work hard. A family friend runs a successful business and he only hires people over 40’s because he just doesn’t want the hassle. I don’t blame him.
I've always respected your positive outlook, "go get them" attitude and lack of whining when things don't go your way.

Sure there are some people who fit that description, not all.

Make no mistake though - Musk is a shit merkin. If he was your boss I'd give it a week before you'd chin his smug f**ken frog face and leave a grogan in the top drawer of his desk.
Leaving a Grogan in the bosses desk is a right of passage ffs!!

At the end of the day he would be my boss and what he says goes. If all he asked of me is an 8 hour day and to work hard it would be far easier than what I do now These f**kers don’t live in the real work a few months or unemployment might wake a few of these idiots up.

I would visit about 200 businesses through work and chatting to managers and bosses throughout a lot of these work places and some of the stories I hear are laughable. It’s mainly to do with the under 25 crowd and them being absolutely clueless and having no idea what real hard work is.

I've always respected your positive outlook, "go get them" attitude and lack of whining when things don't go your way.
You merkin!! Football is a different beast, in my working life it’s just about getting on with the job. I’m proud of my working roots, I come from tough stock my great grandparents and grandparents dairy farmers. When things were tough my pop would leave to go fencing for months on end for some extra money and my Grandmother would run it with 5 little kids to look after. I couldn’t imagine many of this generation milking a cow let alone do the things she did. Tough times created tough people now children are mollycoddled given a prize for breathing and allowed to do as they please. No wonder there are vapid merkins everywhere.

Bandwagon

I didn't avoid shit, the answer was implicit within my post, of course I f**king wouldn't. I just don't accept your anecdotal evidence as being particularly representitive.

But I was brought up to work hard and earn everything I have. Nothing was handed to me but it seems like this younger self entitled generation don’t want to work hard and think their bosses are picking on them just for expecting them to work hard. A family friend runs a successful business and he only hires people over 40’s because he just doesn’t want the hassle. I don’t blame him.

Oh them young folks hey, wouldn't happen in my day, we lived in a box by the side of the road and had to sweep up bitumen pebbles to make soup, and I'd carry my mates horse to school in the snow on account of I couldn't afford a horse of my own.

Leaving a Grogan in the bosses desk is a right of passage ffs!!

At the end of the day he would be my boss and what he says goes. If all he asked of me is an 8 hour day and to work hard it would be far easier than what I do now These f**kers don’t live in the real work a few months or unemployment might wake a few of these idiots up.

I would visit about 200 businesses through work and chatting to managers and bosses throughout a lot of these work places and some of the stories I hear are laughable. It’s mainly to do with the under 25 crowd and them being absolutely clueless and having no idea what real hard work is.
I don’t believe that he is just asking his staff to work 8 hours a day. He has said as much himself.

I agree with you about some younger people being soft cocks but not all of them are in my experience.

I also don’t think it’s a sign of weakness to tell a completely unreasonable boss with no concept of work life balance to get f**ked by getting another job where you are respected and looked after.

Oh them young folks hey, wouldn't happen in my day, we lived in a box by the side of the road and had to sweep up bitumen pebbles to make soup, and I'd carry my mates horse to school in the snow on account of I couldn't afford a horse of my own.
A box? I would have killed for a box. In my day all we had was a hole in the ground…

Incorrect

I don’t believe that he is just asking his staff to work 8 hours a day. He has said as much himself.

I agree with you about some younger people being soft cocks but not all of them are in my experience.

I also don’t think it’s a sign of weakness to tell a completely unreasonable boss with no concept of work life balance to get f**ked by getting another job where you are respected and looked after.
I've got a mate who relocated to Melbourne to go and work for a FinTech startup a few years ago. Before long he realised the boss/owner was a complete lunatic. Sounds a bit like Musk and his Twitter employee edict. My mate was working 16 hours a day, weekends, all that sort of stuff. It was just expected.... Like legit, 8 hours a day would have been considered dogging it and the boss would interrogate staff why they were going home at 7pm for example.... My mate left after 2 years, we laugh about it now but it was hell while he was there. One of the other guys that worked there for a few months ended up in therapy. Some of the stories he told me were hilarious and terrifying at the same time. Anyone who reads the Fin Review regularly has no doubt read articles about the owner I'm referring to. I'll leave it at that...

Some people thrive in these kinds of environments, but many end up on the scrap heap. I'm sure plenty of tech grads dream of landing a job in a place like Twitter but the reality is likely quite confronting when you get in to it. My own feeling is that there's more to life than that but each to their own....

I didn't avoid shit, the answer was implicit within my post, of course I f**king wouldn't. I just don't accept your anecdotal evidence as being particularly representitive.

So you wouldn’t want them working for you either lol, we finally got there. But you expect Musk too???

I’m only 44, I can’t believe what people are like just a few years younger than me get away with. As I said we are living in Clown world 🤡

So you wouldn’t want them working for you either lol, we finally got there. But you expect Musk too???

I’m only 44, I can’t believe what people are like just a few years younger than me get away with. As I said we are living in Clown world 🤡
Have you ever worked a corporate office job or are you more hands on?

I’m more hands on, but I visit all different types of work places. Offices of all types of business and companies. Pubs, hotels, shopping centres so I get around. And as I said some of the stories are scary to be Frank.
I’m around the same age as you. In my experience there are just as many people our age or older who complain and don’t put the work in.

I’m useless at hands on stuff but work with lots of people who oversee projects. Got an enormous amount of respect for people who do hard manual labour in this part of the world. I break out in a sweat going for lunch.

Bandwagon

Yeah, he's demanding a shit ton more than an eight hour day doing eight hours work, but you know that's all good.

Cause reasons.