Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

King-Gutho94

Have you seen the merkins who resides in California and Silicon Valley?? I’d say it’s a pretty good one. Merkins decided to leave instead of working harder lol. I reckon that says more about them then Musk.
They are all homeless & deadshits in California.

I was in LA back in June the homeless is incredible there.

Worse then any of the 12 cities in visited in the US on my holiday.

I’m around the same age as you. In my experience there are just as many people our age or older who complain and don’t put the work in.

I’m useless at hands on stuff but work with lots of people who oversee projects. Got an enormous amount of respect for people who do hard manual labour in this part of the world. I break out in a sweat going for lunch.
Don’t get me wrong there are useless lazy merkins in all walks of life and all ages, you should see some the
Useless merkins in government jobs I do.

But it just seems to me the 25 and under age group just don’t get it. They expect everything handed to them on a silver platter and are amazed when their bosses expect them to put in and work hard. It’s like they don’t live in the real world. You have to wonder what they are taught at school, Uni or even home.

I've got a mate who relocated to Melbourne to go and work for a FinTech startup a few years ago. Before long he realised the boss/owner was a complete lunatic. Sounds a bit like Musk and his Twitter employee edict. My mate was working 16 hours a day, weekends, all that sort of stuff. It was just expected.... Like legit, 8 hours a day would have been considered dogging it and the boss would interrogate staff why they were going home at 7pm for example.... My mate left after 2 years, we laugh about it now but it was hell while he was there. One of the other guys that worked there for a few months ended up in therapy. Some of the stories he told me were hilarious and terrifying at the same time. Anyone who reads the Fin Review regularly has no doubt read articles about the owner I'm referring to. I'll leave it at that...

Some people thrive in these kinds of environments, but many end up on the scrap heap. I'm sure plenty of tech grads dream of landing a job in a place like Twitter but the reality is likely quite confronting when you get in to it. My own feeling is that there's more to life than that but each to their own....
Most big law firms are like that. New graduates are burnt out and paranoid to leave before the partners.

Suicide rate of young lawyers is alarming. ☹️

Cloeel

Most big law firms are like that. New graduates are burnt out and paranoid to leave before the partners.

Suicide rate of young lawyers is alarming. ☹️

My brother (26yo) is a Lawyer at a Law firm in Sydneys CBD.

He averages Monday to Friday 9am - 730/8pm
as well as 80% of the year doing Saturdays and Sundays 11am-430pm

But he's an animal - absolutely loves it.

In order to be the best at what you do; you need to be doing what the best have done (for decades) and that is putting in the hours. If you can't handle it - then don't do it. Just don't expect to be the best.

**not being insensitive to peoples suicide either. I am just saying it takes years of grinding and self development to be the best. Its not for everyone.

In order to be the best at what you do; you need to be doing what the best have done (for decades) and that is putting in the hours. If you can't handle it - then don't do it. Just don't expect to be the best.

**not being insensitive to peoples suicide either. I am just saying it takes years of grinding and self development to be the best. Its not for everyone.
I used to be like that (hours). I learnt to say NO and I soon realised that clients were fine with it.

Working long hours as a partner and charging $700/h brings rewards. Expecting that graduates on $90k to do the same makes you a merkin.

Incorrect

I worked at one of the big law firms a few years back in an IT role. It was during the Financial services royal commission. These merkins were working around the clock 7 days a week. I was getting escalation calls at all hours of the night/early morning, weekends. Even though I had a team of engineers on call, the partners would just call me directly. Eventually I just got jack of it and went elsewhere.

As you say, your brother loves it, but that sort of lifestyle/workstyle ain't for me... Work to live, don't live to work I say....

Maybe, being a billionaire I suppose one could choose to have ones birthday every day of the year, and if by dad you mean the market overvaluing Tesla to the point of the ridiculous, well yeah, kinda.
So if it was overvalued any drop in price isn't really his responsibility, is it?
I'd say neither of these things are established fact, I mean I could just as easily argue that what he's good at is selling an idea to investors and keeping it going, but guru is an interesting choice of words.
ffs merkin, guru was your choice of word.
Lucky hey, and that'd be on top of the billions they've given Musk companies over the years.
I wonder how much they'll give him to push their agenda on Twitter.
Yet despite dropping 60% odd in value over the year, it's still trading well over value, with P/E ratios in the 40's, that's indicative of it being hugely speculative, which kinda explains it performing well above the market on the way up, and well below on the way down.
As the CEO he can only ensure it is profitable. What speculators do is out of his hands. But as a smart investor it would explain why he sold a bunch of overvalued stock recently. And merkins still want to pretend he's got no idea.

Lol stanning for Elon, I couldn’t give two shits about him or Twitter. I’ve never used it and I have no intention too. But have you seen some of the former employees??? They wouldn’t know what a hard days work was if it bit them in the arse.

Don’t you run a small business??? How long would you last if you had some of these lazy self entitled merkins working for you?? One of them was offered a job from the head of Reddit, the Reddit CEO said we work during a 9/5 workday his reply??? “ Thanks but I don’t really rock up to work place till 11ish LMFAO!!

If this is a reflection of the idiots he sacked or were asked to work harder and decided to leave I hardly think the company is going to suffer one little bit. A friend showed me some clips of these idiots posting videos while at work it wasn’t work it was more like a form of adult day care.
You mean this guy?

Personally I think this guy did it better:

When things were tough my pop would leave to go fencing for months on end
australia-fencing-4_670357c.jpg

Also, when you're paid well your employer should be entitled to expect a bit more than forty hours a week.

9am and 11am starts? What a lazy merkin.