Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

sif sharks aren't bad enough @Noise

Wildlife officers euthanase crocodile after reports of large reptile stalking surfers, fisherman in Mackay​

The Queensland solution always seems to be to form a posse and kill something.

Thousands of kms of coastline to fish from and old mate is shot because he wants to chill near Wally’s fishing spot, where Wally caught that undersized flathead in 1979.

don't have a problem with that, better than me getting eaten
Grab the bucket, jump in the ute and head down to the spit.

Theres 13, 500 kilometres of pristine coastline in Queensland but Wally the fisher won’t give up his rock.

Like Bodie won’t give up his corner.

Source: The Wire. HBO.

Grab the bucket, jump in the ute and head down to the spit.

Theres 13, 500 kilometres of pristine coastline in Queensland but Wally the fisher won’t give up his rock.

Like Bodie won’t give up his corner.

Source: The Wire. HBO.

If its a shark, you can get out of the water, but crocs will chase old people and kids up the beach,
crocs are territorial, so no option other than to euthanise him unfortunately

The Queensland solution always seems to be to form a posse and kill something.

Thousands of kms of coastline to fish from and old mate is shot because he wants to chill near Wally’s fishing spot, where Wally caught that undersized flathead in 1979.
We don’t have a Penrith up here that we can move them all to.

If its a shark, you can get out of the water, but crocs will chase old people and kids up the beach,
crocs are territorial, so no option other than to euthanise him unfortunately

Come on..

I think we should have tried to capture and re-home him up the coast.

He could find a wife up there, hang out with new friends too.

13,500 kms of the most beautiful pristine coastline on planet earth…less Crocs range. A km at best? Ok, 13,499 kms.

It’s time we learnt to co-exist with animal friends,

My kids would much rather see the croc in its native habitat than watch Wally downing beers failing to catch his flathead.

Crocs not airborne, swooping down on unsuspecting sunbathers.

If we keep on with this policy, we will have no wildlife left and I bet no one consulted with the local indigenous people.

I might go online and write a complaint to the Minister.

If they killed the croc in NSW, we’d sue them.

Jokes and observations aside, maybe we didn’t try hard enough for croc. I’m a bit sad about it.

Come on..

I think we should have tried to capture and re-home him up the coast.

He could find a wife up there, hang out with new friends too.

13,500 kms of the most beautiful pristine coastline on planet earth…less Crocs range. A km at best? Ok, 13,499 kms.

It’s time we learnt to co-exist with animal friends,

My kids would much rather see the croc in its native habitat than watch Wally downing beers failing to catch his flathead.

Crocs not airborne, swooping down on unsuspecting sunbathers.

If we keep on with this policy, we will have no wildlife left and I bet no one consulted with the local indigenous people.

I might go online and write a complaint to the Minister.

If they killed the croc in NSW, we’d sue them.

Jokes and observations aside, maybe we didn’t try hard enough for croc. I’m a bit sad about it.
Not sure if you are trolling but I’d say that the protocols that the Queensland Department of Environment and Science have around management of crocs is world class. You would benefit from reading them.

Further, crocs are celebrated and revered up here despite the threats they pose to humans without management interventions. Killing them is typically a last resort.

Also, there is a considerable economy around them and recognition of the value that they offer from a tourism perspective. No-one wants to turn that golden egg into an omelette.

If I chose to be outraged about injustices in the world this wouldn’t even be in my top 1000 list of issues.

Not sure if you are trolling but I’d say that the protocols that the Queensland Department of Environment and Science have around management of crocs is world class. You would benefit from reading them.

Further, crocs are celebrated and revered up here despite the threats they pose to humans without management interventions. Killing them is typically a last resort.

Also, there is a considerable economy around them and recognition of the value that they offer from a tourism perspective. No-one wants to turn that golden egg into an omelette.

If I chose to be outraged about injustices in the world this wouldn’t even be in my top 1000 list of issues.
Gary I’m from the city, we really love wildlife because all we see is the destruction of nature everywhere.

On the information available to me, I drew the conclusion that shooting the croc dead because it was living in it’s own environment was not the option that I would have taken.

You’ve got to the best crocodile people in the world up there and I think he could have been saved.

But he was executed for being a crocodile.

That’s quite inhumane and backwards to me.

Humankind stomping on nature. Cavemen thinking.

And did we get the local indigenous peoples position? I hope so.

Gary I’m from the city, we really love wildlife because all we see is the destruction of nature everywhere.

On the information available to me, I drew the conclusion that shooting the croc dead because it was living in it’s own environment was not the option that I would have taken.

You’ve got to the best crocodile people in the world up there and I think he could have been saved.

But he was executed for being a crocodile.

That’s quite inhumane and backwards to me.

Humankind stomping on nature. Cavemen thinking.

And did we get the local indigenous peoples position? I hope so.
There is absolutely nothing incorrect or inhumane about croc management imo. There are protocols that you don’t seem to understand.

I say this as someone that has lived in major cities south of croc areas and someone that has seen what happens first hand whilst living in croc town.

I never would have picked Canberra.
Canberra is rife with Kangaroos. There is a methodically planned culling exercise that happens there to remove dominant alpha males that threaten the population. Several of them are killed most weeks.

Much more inhumane than anything I’ve seen in Croc town where they look for alternatives before killing.

Eelogical

Canberra is rife with Kangaroos. There is a methodically planned culling exercise that happens there to remove dominant alpha males that threaten the population. Several of them are killed most weeks.

Much more inhumane than anything I’ve seen in Croc town where they look for alternatives before killing.
What about the wombats?

There is absolutely nothing incorrect or inhumane about croc management imo. There are protocols that you don’t seem to understand.

I say this as someone that has lived in major cities south of croc areas and someone that has seen what happens first hand whilst living in croc town.
I appreciate that you are presenting an argument as a witness of fact and therefore are a better authority than me.

And i quite obviously don’t have the qualifications or experience to put myself forward as more knowledgeable than you.

Im offering my take on it:

But the account provided is that there’s this croc and he’s just being himself and he gets killed for it.

If he’d understood the consequences of bothering humans and then he made a conscious decision to ignore that and keep creeping about and scaring people, fine, you can attribute some kInd of malicious intent to him.

But because he poses an inconvenience to human leisure activity ( not even required for our own survival) they kill him.

I’m sure crocodiles can be captured and re-located, safely and kindly.

If the best your croc management people can do is conclude that it’s all to hard and resort to shooting a defenceless animal, to me thats a abomination.

Wildlife Officers who kill innocent native animals.

Pretty lame.

The kangaroo issue is different.