Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Watergate. The shit hit fan on that mess. Has some resemblance to the Russian email hacking TBH.

Watergate was a major political scandal that occurred in the United States in the 1970s, following a break-in at the Democratic National Committee (DNC) headquarters at the Watergate office complex in Washington, D.C. in 1972 and President Richard Nixon's Republican administration's attempted cover-up of its involvement. When the conspiracy was discovered and investigated by the U.S. Congress, the Nixon administration's resistance to its probes led to a constitutional crisis.

State election records show only 30 per cent of the 112 detained in Oregon’s capital had actually cast their ballot, according to local TV network KGW.

At least 79 reportedly did not vote, or were not even registered as voters in the state.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/w...te-portland-oregon-us-elections-a7420781.html

Cheeky statistics. They did not have record of 79 merkins voting however concede that some (many?) were not registered in that state to vote. Which means that they do not know if they voted in their own state ?

Anyway I don't think you can use the above stats as a representative sample ( @Poupou Escobar would know) of the millions who have been marching over the past few weeks.

BTW I am on record in saying that those that did not vote should STFU, so don't come at me again @Kornstar .

I reckon Trump will take them simply based on history of the two countries and he'd be digging our turn back the boats thing. He's just pissed that Obama pulled a swifty in Nov 2016. He'll stew on it and then agree.

BTW he loves the idea of others paying their way, so don't be surprised if we have to subsidise the refugees USA set up costs. Even if we have to do that it will be heaps cheaper than the $billions we are shelling out for Manus & Naru.

Incorrect

Cheeky statistics. They did not have record of 79 merkins voting however concede that some (many?) were not registered in that state to vote. Which means that they do not know if they voted in their own state ?

Anyway I don't think you can use the above stats as a representative sample ( @Poupou Escobar would know) of the millions who have been marching over the past few weeks.

BTW I am on record in saying that those that did not vote should STFU, so don't come at me again @Kornstar .

Yeah, a bunch of apathetic public-nuisance hooligans who couldn't be bothered getting off their ass to vote are suddenly going jump up and go interstate/inter-county to join in on the "Uprising"!!

I'd say it's very likely they are just a bunch of bandwagon-jumping, intellectually deficient delinquents looking for an excuse to scuffle with officialdom.

On the one hand you marvel at how many people are Protesting.... But also say those who didn't vote should STFU.... you have no idea how many protesting actually voted. If it turned out those protest numbers were reduced by 50-75% if those who didn't actually vote stayed away, would you still marvel? Or would you relax your stance on those who didn't vote staying away to help the crowds look good on TV??

The merkin has been in power for a fortnight FFS. f**k I'd hate to play cricket against you gronk...

I reckon Trump will take them simply based on history of the two countries and he'd be digging our turn back the boats thing. He's just pissed that Obama pulled a swifty in Nov 2016. He'll stew on it and then agree.

BTW he loves the idea of others paying their way, so don't be surprised if we have to subsidise the refugees USA set up costs. Even if we have to do that it will be heaps cheaper than the $billions we are shelling out for Manus & Naru.
Sending them to America is no deterrent though, unlike redirecting them to elsewhere in the third world.

Joshuatheeel

We are:

Pine gap

Cheeky rent-a-crowd protestors travelling interstate to cause a kerfuffle