Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Chipmunk

I have to go back to UK next year for a wedding in September seeing as Oktoberfest in Munich starts a couple of weeks after that it probably a bucket list to tick off. Being 30 next year its probably the last chance i will get to do it especially as Europe for me is more preferable in June/July when its summer but having plenty of mates from our group of friends there it should be a fun few days.

But also looking at Poland and doing Auschwitz tour that will be a tough one. My brother did it in 2019 and he doesn't normally get emotional but he said he couldn't stop crying doing that. I want to do it out of respect as well for those victims.
I have been to Oktoberfest 6 times...4 times for the entire 3 weeks (I was working for a tour company). It's awesome and a must do. It's been over a decade since I have been, but a mate of mine was there last week, It sounded like not much has changed.

What sort of accommodation would you want to do?

I haven't actually been to Auschwitz, but Munich also has Dachau, which I've been to with tour groups a few times. It was the original concentration camp. I'd imagine you'd get a very similar experience at Dachau as you would Auschwitz. Most people who have done both tend to say they are very similar. It's not far out outside of Munich.

I also went to Koh Samui in 2008. I'm going back there for the first time since in January.

I have been to Oktoberfest 6 times...4 times for the entire 3 weeks (I was working for a tour company). It's awesome and a must do. It's been over a decade since I have been, but a mate of mine was there last week, It sounded like not much has changed.

I haven't actually been to Auschwitz, but Munich also has Dachau, which I've been to with tour groups a few times. It was the original concentration camp. I'd imagine you'd get a very similar experience at Dachau as you would Auschwitz. Most people who have done both tend to say they are very similar. It's not far out outside of Munich.

I've been to both.
Both were very emotional experiences for different reasons.
Dachau was distressing. Auschwitz was just brutal.

Are you saying Dachau is like Auschwitz only more convenient?

Chipmunk

Well they're both museums on the exact same topic.

If your trip to Europe is time limited, and you want to see Auschwitz and go to Oktoberfest, I suspect you can have a similar enough experience at Dachau (which is in the same city as Oktoberfest) that you wouldn't also need to go to Poland, if your main purpose was to go there was just to see Auschwitz.

Well they're both museums on the exact same topic.

If your trip to Europe is time limited, and you want to see Auschwitz and go to Oktoberfest, I suspect you can have a similar enough experience at Dachau (which is in the same city as Oktoberfest) that you wouldn't also need to go to Poland, if your main purpose was to go there was just to see Auschwitz.
Which one has more tits?

Yes. Covid f**ked my plans to visit said Auschwitz lite. We were flying into Munich and out of Milan. We were going to drive down via that Disneyland castle, Cortina, Venice etc.

Dachau was a compromise cos my daughter wanted to go to Auschwitz but have you seen where it is ?

Anyway, now I find out covid was all fake news. FFS.

King-Gutho94

I also went to Koh Samui in 2008. I'm going back there for the first time since in January.
Not sure what accommodation yet there looks like it will be 6 or 7 of us going so we may have to look for an airbnb somewhere if we stick together.

I haven't been to Krakow yet so that's sort of plan which would include Auschwitz.

I will have a think about Dachau though.

King-Gutho94

Days like today remind why we are the best city in the world.

Absolutely perfect weather conditions.

Headed over to Manly this arvo to a catch up with a mate caught the ferry across from Circular Quay.

I don't think you realise until you travel how good a harbour and city we have.

This week, I visited Penrith, St Mary’s, St Clair, Horsley Park, Parramatta, Sydney City, Newtown and Lane Cove.

I had to do a run from Newtown to St Mary’s during the last 20 minutes of thd grand final and I missed the Olympic Park traffic, but it was a close call.

I think that covers the main trips.

I was approached twice by Yes campaigners but I did not want to engage.

They seemed a bit wokey and third wave feminist to me, which I didn’t like.

Because I work in an office, I prefer to be a slob on the weekend. They met slob me.

I made a gentle “away” hand gesture.

For campaigners they were bunched ( or brunched) together, when I think they should have been spread out.

Then I heard about that horrible cash politician and her “don’t know vote no. “ the ultimate in dead of mind. She looks like an entitled bitch to me and can get f**ked.

“No campaigners” would probably get bashed up where I live.

Then mugged for good measure.

I’m too irritable these days. Too judgmental and generally sick of people!

Update from the Cairns Post. Geez there are some bogans up here.

View attachment 80360
I propose a democratically elected “Council of Bogans” to be allocated 2 enshrined seats in the Queensland Upper House.

Of the six elected, a special “ suitability examination” is held, thereupon, those with the worst marks shall receive the velvet flannelette and historic 1970s rubber thongs and shall take their place amongst the thought leaders of Queensland and her state territories and dominions.

I propose a democratically elected “Council of Bogans” to be allocated 2 enshrined seats in the Queensland Upper House.

Of the six elected, a special “ suitability examination” is held, thereupon, those with the worst marks shall receive the velvet flannelette and historic 1970s rubber thongs and shall take their place amongst the thought leaders of Queensland and her state territories and dominions.
Motion denied.

Read again Gaz re: Queensland “Upper House”

Although I’m sure there’s a market in Sydney for Qlder Bogan Shooting Tours.

Given your hatred of Bogans, you can organise the safaris.

The intrepid wokey group can camp in your backyard.

Fire off lentil lattes at FarQ suvs.

Hang the captured by their beards and play Michela Cash on rotation.

“ Don’t Know, Vote No”

Thanks to that horror, Im going to the rounds of the office and use my seniority to pressure people into voting yes tomorrow.

I wonder if that’s illegal?

Read again Gaz re: Queensland “Upper House”

Although I’m sure there’s a market in Sydney for Qlder Bogan Shooting Tours.

Given your hatred of Bogans, you can organise the safaris.

The intrepid wokey group can camp in your backyard.

Fire off lentil lattes at FarQ suvs.

Hang the captured by their beards and play Michela Cash on rotation.

“ Don’t Know, Vote No”

Thanks to that horror, Im going to the rounds of the office and use my seniority to pressure people into voting yes tomorrow.

I wonder if that’s illegal?
Motion denied.

Isnt there already a fair contingent of bongans in the federal upper house? ... not just queenslanders (i'm looking at you Lambie), but theyd have a few.

Im gonna assume the queensland state upper house probably has its share of bogans.

So i think we are likely already part way there.

Isnt there already a fair contingent of bongans in the federal upper house? ... not just queenslanders (i'm looking at you Lambie), but theyd have a few.

Im gonna assume the queensland state upper house probably has its share of bogans.

So i think we are likely already part way there.

What exactly is a bongan?