Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Well the alternative is for Paul Murray to run a forum in an RSL stacked full of Tony Abbott supporters.

Gee merkins go after the ABC in particular since NewsLtd have been campaigning against them. The accusation of bias is pushed by Murdoch journos bc the ABC offer free content in opposition to his paywall.

Id love to see actual evidence of bias. @7.30 report go after everyone. Those who are game to be interviewed by Leigh Sales anyway. 4 corners the same. They go after everyone. They slap down the Greens tonight.

I've seen them at play when they report on issues that are either about or close to my line of work. They are definitely biased on some issues. However, I wouldn't describe everyone at the ABC as biased. They have some reputable reporters.

Similarly, I wouldn't describe everyone at Sky as biased despite the fact that Paul Murray and Andrew Bolt clearly are.

I've seen them at play when they report on issues that are either about or close to my line of work. They are definitely biased on some issues. However, I wouldn't describe everyone at the ABC as biased. They have some reputable reporters.

Similarly, I wouldn't describe everyone at Sky as biased despite the fact that Paul Murray and Andrew Bolt clearly are.

There are absolutely straight shooters at Sky. The daytime guys like Kieran Gilbert & Co just report the news and offer zero hysteria.

I hate when it happens but it happened. I like visiting these forums, don't do any social media other than this (I lie there is another forum, non footy related where I big note about my pissy watch collection.)

Apologies for losing my cool in relation to what Gary said. I'm confident he didn't mean it that way but it just got me at a shit time. It ends up f**king up the flow of the forum which was not my intention.

I hate when it happens but it happened. I like visiting these forums, don't do any social media other than this (I lie there is another forum, non footy related where I big note about my pissy watch collection.)

Apologies for losing my cool in relation to what Gary said. I'm confident he didn't mean it that way but it just got me at a shit time. It ends up f**king up the flow of the forum which was not my intention.

thumbsup.gif

All good mate. I shouldn't have said it (even as a joke).

Apologies.

I am still at a loss how you can hate someone because of the colour of their skin.......hate people cause they are f**kwits, not cause they look different.

I dunno man, I have a deep hatred for those f**kwits who turn themselves orange....and I'm yet to be proven wrong.

I think Barnaby is a lunatic but this is getting deadset ridiculous. The guy is an NZ citizen because of a ridiculous law that made anyone born to a Kiwi father at the time an automatic citizen even if they were born outside NZ....he never "activated" his citizenship, he's just an automatic citizen.

The bloke should have checked but this is hardly a question of allegiance or any of that nonsense.

I think Barnaby is a lunatic but this is getting deadset ridiculous. The guy is an NZ citizen because of a ridiculous law that made anyone born to a Kiwi father at the time an automatic citizen even if they were born outside NZ....he never "activated" his citizenship, he's just an automatic citizen.

The bloke should have checked but this is hardly a question of allegiance or any of that nonsense.

As funny as this is, it just reinforces the fact that the law here is stupid.
Same for that Greens senator who came here from Canada when she was 12 months old.
Absolutely stupid that they can't serve in our parliament.

100% but as much as I think that we live in a multicultural society and that times have changed - you can only allow these pollies to play in the sandpit if they are solely citizens of Australia. To change that fact will require a change in the constitution by referendum.

How about another $120 million postal vote?

LOL not good enough.

How about we hold a referendum and binding plebiscite ASAP on:-

1. Republic (seeing that they said this AM that Liz plans to abdicate)
2. Dual Citizens are OK to be our parliamentary representatives
3. Indigenous recognition in the Constitution, and
3. Same sex marriage (plebiscite).

As funny as this is, it just reinforces the fact that the law here is stupid.
Same for that Greens senator who came here from Canada when she was 12 months old.
Absolutely stupid that they can't serve in our parliament.

Agreed but as Gronk said it's part of the constitution so for now it is what it is.

I think the idea that citizenship of another country somehow means you have mixed allegiances is patently ridiculous. I've contemplated becoming an Irish citizen many times purely for convenience sake...as someone who loves to travel it's a lot easier in the EU on an Irish passport. Trivial reason, I know, and that's entirely the point.