Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

His agenda is "I don't want my taxes going to free healthcare."

The facts are that poor people tend not to seek medical advice when it is going to cost them money that they don't have. When this occurs people die in the US.

New study finds 45,000 deaths annually linked to lack of health coverage
https://news.harvard.edu/gazette/st...s-annually-linked-to-lack-of-health-coverage/

If my Dad (pensioner with no other income) did not have free health care he would have died a decade ago. He would have refused my charity and just stayed at home unwell. Instead, free healthcare was available to him. Which meant that he could do to the Drs when he felt unwell. Call an ambulance (via a red button which hung around his neck) when he felt particularly unwell or even go into respite for a week to re-charge his batteries.

To suggest that My Dad would have lived a healthier lifestyle if he had to pay for a consultation shows how out of touch some merkins are.

I have health insurance (hospital) and pay four times over for any time i do anything ... and i still avoid going to doctors too

What about bludger bogan* family I hear you say ? Yes, they need to get out of the generational welfare cycle, get jobs and be self reliant. Force them to do this - I have no issue with that.

Whilst they are in transition however, you cannot deny them health care.

hqdefault.jpg

* random photo taken from google images. Soz if they are your kin and in fact hard working merkins.

I have health insurance (hospital) and pay four times over for any time i do anything ... and i still avoid going to doctors too

My neighbour is a surgeon. I said to him -> oi they say that my Medibank Private premiums keep going up because of "rising health costs". With static wage growth and low inflation, what costs keep rising ? He said that Drs / Anaesthetists etc keep raising their fees as do pharmaceutical companies as do prosthesis manufacturers as do what he called theatre costs. <- Which is what I suspected all along.

Why does not the Gov target these merkins instead of the health insurers copping stick all the time ? These greedy f**kers have made the whole "gap" thing a joke

Yeah i know f**k all really about the usa health system ... so i wont comment any more

As for australia, im over f**kwits who expect the govt to give them everything ... sort your own shit out .... there are always legit needy, but way too many wanting everything beyond the necessities these days

Joshuatheeel

My neighbour is a surgeon. I said to him -> oi they say that my Medibank Private premiums keep going up because of "rising health costs". With static wage growth and low inflation, what costs keep rising ? He said that Drs / Anaesthetists etc keep raising their fees as do pharmaceutical companies as do prosthesis manufacturers as do what he called theatre costs. <- Which is what I suspected all along.

Why does not the Gov target these merkins instead of the health insurers copping stick all the time ? These greedy f**kers have made the whole "gap" thing a joke

I read somewhere that one of the biggest health costs is that surgeons / specialists / anaesthetists are "sub contracted" to hospitals and are obviously paid per operation/visit. The government could massively reduce costs by simply putting these medical practitioners on salary / wages rather trying to target the Medicare rebate with standard Doctors.

Joshuatheeel

Yeah i know f**k all really about the usa health system ... so i wont comment any more

As for australia, im over f**kwits who expect the govt to give them everything ... sort your own shit out .... there are always legit needy, but way too many wanting everything beyond the necessities these days

Does that also include home owners with a million plus valued house but still expecting pensions ? Or investors with 2, 3 or more properties obtaining tax advantages for an unproductive asset? Or private schools obtaining substantial government hand outs? The list goes on and on!! The system is almost broken as every part of our society now expects hand outs!!

Does that also include home owners with a million plus valued house but still expending pensions ? Or investors with 2, 3 or more properties obtaining tax advantages for an unproductive asset? Or private schools obtaining substantial government hand outs? The list goes on and on!! The system is almost broken as every part of our society now expects hand outs!!

images

maybe it makes me a rightoid f**kstick or something, but there is some element of truth in what he says ... you can't help anyone (with anything) who won't help themself

having said that, I know very little about the usa medical system other than "it's shit"
I can also see his point without getting outraged.

I must be a rightoid f**kstick as well.

Personally I think he's a f**kwit with a shitty point. It's mind boggling to me that there are so many Americans (and not saying this bloke is one) who think they have a God given right to as many guns as they like, but Healthcare is a privilege that you need money to afford

They are seriously weird people sometimes

Personally I think he's a f**kwit with a shitty point. It's mind boggling to me that there are so many Americans (and not saying this bloke is one) who think they have a God given right to as many guns as they like, but Healthcare is a privilege that you need money to afford

They are seriously weird people sometimes
They aren't demanding the government pay for their guns though.